We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, enjoyable stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St James House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St James House
Save
You added St James House to your Saves list
35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, enjoyable stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have stayed here several times and Barry the host is a star.
The rooms are spacious, filled with beautiful antique furniture and ornaments and a lovely full English breakfast in the morning. Parking outside is a bonus too. Perfectly located just a 2 minute walk to the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review, you are a great, fun crowd and we always look forward to you coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
39
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
鎌倉
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed two nights for a break. The owner, Barry, is the best person if you want to know about Thirsk and surrounding area. He is a friendly person, and he and his cat were very welcoming and made my short stay very comfortable as if I were at friend's home. Room was clean, laege and Breakfast nice and ample. It was really a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and visiting local places of interest. Look forward to you visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a last minute booking and we were just grateful to find accommodation over the bank holiday weekend. We were very presently surprised, particularly since it was very cheap. Bedrooms were very clean and had all we required. Our host, Barry, was so kind and went out of his way to make sure we had all we wanted. We also had some great talks with him. The 'girls' who helped him were also very pleasant and helpful. Definitely go back if we are in the area again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryThirsk, Owner at St James House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always do our very best to provide a warm welcome and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our antique filled room had a lovely view of a garden area and was very quiet. We were able to park onsite (a plus) and walk throughout the city. Barry serves a stunning full English breakfast and delights in sharing stories about the area. Had it not been for him, we might have missed many of the sights of the glorious Yorkshire Dales. He loaned us his map and pointed us out the door, and we were off to see God's country. We are still smiling about our stay in Thirsk with Barry!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

A older style B&B in a Georgian House featuring many antiques. We were made very welcome by the friendly owner and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and a hearty breakfast helped to make the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was in Thirsk visiting my Mum in Hospital. Barry and his staff were very friendly. My room was perfect, beautiful bedding on a very comfortable bed and the breakfast was lovely. Barry was very friendly and informative about things in the area and regarding the many antiques around the house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

St. James house is a charming b&b , full
Of character. The owner , Barry, is really friendly and welcoming.
The room was specious and very clean.
The b&b is oy few minutes walk from
The market square making it perfect for stay in Thirsk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St James House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St James House

Address: 35-37 St James Green, Thirsk YO7 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James House is a large imposing Georgian Grade 2 listed building situated on St. James Green, which is a conservation area and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.We have excellent free parking outside of the property.We are conveniently situated within a few minutes walk of visitor attractions, shops, restaurants etc. The North Yorkshire Moors National Park is only 10 minutes drive away to the East and the Yorkshire Dales National Park 25 minutes drive to the west.York is only 25 minutes drive to the south.We are open all the year round.Our friendly staff look forward to you visiting us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.