We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want from a B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Gallery Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything you could want from a B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed overnight visiting family locally and can't fault it. The owner is very friendly, the rooms large, great breakfast, good value for money. I have stayed at other B&B's/Hotels in the area some costing more and whilst on paper they are similar offerings, they really aren't. The selection/quality of drinks, nibbles in the room and locally sourced breakfast choice is fair higher than others in my experience. It did beat my expectations and would happily stay there for a longer period of time. I will be recommending The Gallery to friends and family. It is now my go to place when visiting my family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Gallery and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. It's good to know you will be recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
120
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

A lovely bed and breakfast ran by a lovely couple! Lots of special touches that add to your visit, homemade cookies in the room, bath robes and slippers in the room! Good sized room and en-suite. The breakfast was amazing! Everything beautiful and plenty of it. One minute walk from centre of Thirsk. Fabulous visit thank you!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My father & I are traveling together and we stayed for here at the Gallery B & B for three nights and enjoyed every minute. We arrived in the evening and the owner helped with our bags, etc. Our room was upstairs and very quiet. We had two beds and plenty of space as well as a TV and DVD player, etc. There were lovely homemade cookies in the room (apricot/chocolate chip) and we ate them each nigth and magically more cookies appeared the next day! There were also candies by the bed and bisquits as well with the ability to make hot drinks, etc. We had a very nice bathroom and shower. The place was very clean and comfortable. We liked the place also because it was directly across from the James Herriot museum and just near the lovely Thirsk church. It was also near the central square of the town and the food shops, post office, etc. Everything was one or two minute walk away. It was a very nice place! The breakfast options were WONDERFUL and the owner is a very good cook. We don't eat pork and she went out to a local farm to buy homemade lamb sausages just for us! It was very nice and she also had vegetarian options for the sausages! Everything she cookied for breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed perfectly located for The World of James Herriot and the Market Place with shops, cafes etc. I was pleased to find some lamb & mint sausages at a local farm shop and really glad you enjoyed them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a lovely B&B conveniently situated in Thirsk. Kathryn is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Our Room was lovely and large, as was our en-suite (which is unusual in such an old house), clean and tidy. The whole cottage had a lovely homely feel to it. We had everything that we needed in our room, tea, coffee (fresh milk too!!)
cookies, etc. The breakfasts are brilliant, not too overwhelming, although we did resist having a complete full Yorkshire, but extremely satisfying and they really do set you up for the rest of the day. We ate in the Golden Fleece and the Red Lion which were both great meals (Katherine has a discount card for the Golden Fleece). We also went to the Ritz Cinema in
Thirsk, as we arrived on a Sunday evening and not much was open, and it was
a delight. The people there were the friendliest ever and it is very reasonably priced too!!
The Gallery is opposite the James Herriot Museum, which is a MUST see. After
that, take a trip over to the Dales and do the James Herriot Trail, we tried
to do it in an afternoon, but if you want to stop, you will run out of time.
We got as far as Hawes and the cheese factory, which is just under half
way!! We went to Ripon Cathedral which is beautiful as well, but a word of
caution, Ripon appears not to be open on Mondays, so most of the galleries
etc. will be closed. But some really nice tea shops and the Cathedral are
still open. Fountains Abbey is another MUST, you can spend all day there if
the weather is good. Plenty to see and plenty of space for the kids to run
around too. We had a wonderful time in Yorkshire meeting all the friendly
and helpful people and we will be coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you! You certainly did a lot while you were with us. There's still plenty more to see so we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Booked this B&B for the weekend for my aunt coming down from Glasgow to visit, she loved the place and can't wait to come back again :) Room was lovely & spotless and the hosts couldn't do enough for her. Absolute bargain for the price :))

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you - we look forward to seeing your aunt again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Gallery. The room was big and very clean. Nice bathroom and very thick ropes. Everything you needed was there, bodylotion, tissues etc. The breakfast was fantastic and very much! You could start with yoghurt, fresh fruit and cerials. Then a croissant and toast with jam. Then the real English food, sausage, egg, beans, mushrooms. Also a more healthy breakfast was possible. The Gallery is located in the centre of thirsk. Kathryn, the host, was very friendly and let us feel welcome.
When i have to mention one negative thing it would be that the breakfast was from 7 till 9. For us it was too early in the weekend and could be served later! Room 1 is located at the road, so you hear some noise from traffic. But not too bad.

Room Tip: we had room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your first visit to Yorkshire. We are quite flexible with breakfast times but we can't let you sleep too long as we want to make sure you have plenty of time to see all that North Yorkshire has to offer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We are struggling to recall ever having stayed in a B&B in which the hosts display such evident enthusiasm and skills as Kathryn and Steve have to anticipate, identify and satisfy the needs of their guests. We look forward with pleasure to creating an opportunity to stay at the Gallery again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank You We do indeed aim to satisfy the needs of our guests - we love our guests to leave happy and are pleased you did this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.