We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Gallery Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Thirsk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was welcomed warmly and given a lovely room at he front of the Cottage. Everything you need for your stay is there and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic using all local ingredients.
The only negative was the noise from the road outside the room at he front and would request a rear room the next time I stay.

Will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The rooms at the front do face the road but there is little traffic on this road over night. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
120
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found the warmest of welcomes at The Gallery. Nothing was too much trouble and Kathryn's attention to detail was second to none. The little touches like shower gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower; a box of cotton buds, cotton balls and pads, hand and body lotion,and handwash as well as soap in the bathroom; tissues, sweeties and cookies, fresh milk for tea and coffee, all replenished daily in the bedroom; and her breakfasts were wonderful with plenty of variety all beautifully cooked and presented. A proper home from home

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found it 'home from home'. This is our home and we are proud of it and love to share it with our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A lovely B&B in a perfect location for the James Herriot Museum and Thirsk Town Centre.
Our room was clean, spacious, with quirky beams to add character, but fresh and modern with co-ordindated bed linen. Catherine has added some lovely touches to the rooms with Cadbury Eclairs by the bed, homemade biscuits in a jar and a daily chocolate. On top of that, plenty of tea and coffee to be had after a long day out. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice, fresh fruit, plain yoghurt and cereals plus a beautifully presented Yorkshire Breakfast. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for this review. We are indeed perfectly located for all that Thirsk has to offer! We're pleased you enjoyed the 'James Herriot' experience including your day out in the Dales - Herriot Country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaBC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent two nights here in August this year, thought it was one of the nicest B & B's we've stayed in. Our room was lovely, furnished in the best of taste and with beautiful linens including fluffy towels. Kathryn couldn't have been more helpful and she cooked a great breakfast with lots of choices. If we're in the area again, we would definitely stay here - in fact, we would go back to Thirsk just to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. We very much hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I found The Gallery purely by asking when I arrived in Thirsk for a B&B whilst parking in The Market Square.I was so fortunate to be told of The Gallery by a local person.What a treat I found.The room was excellent and the breakfast you could not fault.All the little extras were there that you would usually pay extra for in many a more expensive location.I would recommend The Gallery to anyone who is looking for the best place to stay in Thirsk (posssibly in Yorkshire)and the best value for money.Many thanks to Kathryn for such a stay that was unfortunately for only a single night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you found us and enjoyed your brief stay. We hope to see you again when you are travelling in this area?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From my very first contact with Kathryn I knew we would enjoy our stay at The Gallery. Our stay was for 3 nights while exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Great detail was given to the rooms appearance with little treats every day. Breakfast was delicious with the same personal touch given by Kathryn. We can say we were made very welcome with all our needs catered for. Thank you again Kathryn & Steve for a wonderful stay. Very highly recommend!

Room Tip: Any room would be great to stay in, perfect place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you, having planned your visit so far ahead I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Gallery and exploring the Dales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Kathryn and Steve are very good hosts, we had room 3 which was comfortable with a lovely shower room attached , we only stayed for one night as we had a friends retirement party in Thirsk, The Gallery is spotless and was right in the centre of Thirsk in walking distance of our party we had a lovely meal for supper at Little 3 not very far away and a lovely breakfast with a very good choice of menu , the B@B provides lots of information on the surrounding area which we found very helpful, if we visit Thirsk again we would definitely return. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Room 3 option twin beds or double mattress and push together , nice shower room and at the back so q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you, we're so glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We are perfectly placed for most things happeneing in Thirsk and glad you enjoyed your meal at The Little 3, we like there too. We hope to see you again so you can see more of Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.