We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B&B, lovely owners and great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Offer
Ranked #2 of 25 Thirsk B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint B&B, lovely owners and great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were so lucky to come across this B&B during our two night stay in Thirsk for a friend's wedding. We arrived late on the Friday night and Kathryn made sure that all our needs and requirements were met until we checked out on the Sunday.
The rooms were filled with little treats and are spotlessly clean. The breakfast choice was just superb and I couldn't have asked for anything more than what we got for the time we were there.
If anyone was to ask where to stay I would recommend this place straight away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you, we're glad you enjoyed your time in Thirsk and especially your stay at The Gallery. I'm only sorry I can't arrange better weather but glad the rain didn't spoil the wedding day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
103
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My son, Ken, and I stayed at the Gallery last Tuesday and Wednesday and from the moment we arrived (more than an hour early for check-in) we were treated like family. Kathryn greeted us at the door, actually apologized for not having our room ready early and assured us that if we waited just a minute it was nearly done. We needed to go back to the car for our luggage and, by the time we returned, the room was done. It was a lovely room in a lovely house. Kathryn could not do enough to help us find our way around the Thirsk/Dales area. Two things stand out: the breakfast, which was by far the best we ate during our two weeks roaming the British Isles; and the incredible hospitality. We needed to leave no later than 7:15 a.m. in order to catch our train to the next destination. Breakfast begins at 8. Ken and I, noticing a small refrigerator in the breakfast room, asked Kathryn if she could leave some milk and some cereal and we would happily serve ourselves prior to leaving. Not a chance. She insisted on getting up early to give us the full DeliciouslyYorkshire breakfast. There are no words to describe the quality of the food, the service, and the accommodations; save perhaps these: If you plan on staying in Thirsk, run--don't walk--to make reservations at The Gallery.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a twin that can be turned into a triple. Great value if you've a third traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review! How could I have denied you our Yorkshire breakfast when you had enjoyed it so much on your first morning!! Although we say we start breakfast at 7.30 we are always happy to accommodate guests who need to be off earlier (within reason!). We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here, it was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope to see you back one day?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Gallery. Kathryn was an excellent and attentive host. Great breakfast and great room overlooking the James Herriot Museum. We will be back to stay when next in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure having you to stay. Who needs a view of the sea or moors when you can gaze across the street to the vet's practice where Alf Wight (aka James Herriot) spent nearly all his working life!! Seriously, we love our location and feel very privileged to live so near The World of James Herriot, in this lovely town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Kathryn's breakfasts are superb. Fresh fruit salad, good quality yoghurt and choice of cereal followed by a cooked breakfast. There is a wide choice of ingredients for the cooked breakfast, including about 6 different sorts of sausage. Everything is of the best quality - and beautifully cooked and presented. The poached eggs are perfect.
The room is good: very comfortable bed and surprisingly quiet given the location right in the centre of the town. Plenty of space.
The extras are good too: good choice of DVDs, scrabble, trivial pursuit, and 2 newspapers.
This was our second trip - and it was as good as last time. Our favourite Thirsk B&B.

Room Tip: We only ever had the room over the breakfast room which suits us fine, though one of the others may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us once again and enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Really lovely little B&B. Great room - spotlessly clean and really well equipped. Lovely home made cookies on arrival. Lots of little extras which when added to comfortable room and great tasting breakfast (cooked to order) clearly warrant the ratings this little place has acquired over the years. Liked it that much have already booked for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you, so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's always a compliment when guests book in for a return stay - we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

great little b&b well worth the 4 stars freindly clean and an ideal location for touring the surounding area rooms are of an excellant standard very comfortable beds realy good onsuite
wife over the moon with the little extras that you wouldnt find in any hotels and the good hearty breakfast that sets you up for the day was wonderfull i recomend the wild boar sausages although you do have a choice of about four or five differant flavours highly recomended do not miss out on some good yorkshire hospitality with that little bit of a personal touch received by all guests

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for this great review. We love providing those little extras that make a stay just that extra special! The wild boar susages are always popular - it's nice to try something different when you are away from home! We hope to see you back here another year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Second time we have stayed at the gallery...It is everything We hoped for...comfortable room...excellent breakfast and very friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Easy driving distances to the coast, moors, dales and York.we would highly recommend the gallery.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you, it was lovely to have you back here again this year and so glad you had such a good time. We will see you next year hopefully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Gallery Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list