We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gallery B&B Thirsk, Yorkshire, UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thirsk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gallery Bed & Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Offer
Ranked #2 of 25 Thirsk B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“The Gallery B&B Thirsk, Yorkshire, UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and i just returned to America from a 4 day stay at The Gallery B&B and we were extremely pleased with our stay! Our hostess, Kathryn, went out of her way to make sure our stay was the best experience possible. The location is centered between the Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors. If you are a James Herriot fan, it is directly across the street from the "World of James Herriot" museum. The rooms were very comfortable, the breakfast selections were outstanding, and the entire experience is unforgetable! I promise you that if you stay here, you will be totally satisfied. This was my second stay here and we intend to return one day soon.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you Mike & Mary for this lovely review. It was lovely having you stay here again Mike and lovely to meet Mary. We very much look forward to a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
103
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Gallery B&B is a great place to stay to explore the Yorkshire moors and surrounding towns. It has a central location and is in easy walking distance to restuarants, pubs and shops and is right opposite the James Herriot musuem. The room was very comfortable and large and Kathryn is very welcoming and helpful. It was no problem for us to bring our 6 month old baby with. Breakfast is great with lots of choice and local products. We would definitely stay again at this B&B if we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you! We are indeed perfectly located here in Thirsk to explore the North York Moors as well as the Yorkshire Dales and so much to see and do! Hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This B&B is a real gem, it has everything going for it, good location and excellent attention to detail. We wanted for nothing, the room was spotless and had everything we needed for a pleasent stay. The beakfast was really nice and we liked the fact you can choose what you want each day. There are lots of extra's that we didn't expect such as shanpoo and shower gell and best of all homemade cookies! We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your weekend in Thirsk, there is so much to see and do here in North Yorkshire! You must come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had. The bedroom was lovely and bed was very comfortable, we were near to all the local attractions. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.
We have stayed in Thirsk 3 times we will definatly be coming back to The Gallery thank you for looking after us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A wonderful little B&B run by Kathryn. Excellent breakfast, lovely room and The Gallery is very well placed to hit the dales or the east coast.Would not hesitate to stay here again if back in this region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure having you both stay and we hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

One of the best B&B's we've stayed in. Excellent breakfast, comfy bed and spotlessly clean. The room had some extra special touches, such as, chocolates and home made biscuits, also shampoo, body wash and body lotion in bathroom, which was nice too. We would highly recommend this accomadation and would definitely stay again.

Rob & Clare, Barnsley

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the extra special touches and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with The Gallery during our stay. It is just over the road from the James Herriot museum and within a couple of minutes walk to local pubs and restaurants. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. The hosts were friendly and welcoming to us and our 2 year old. There were also homely touches such as cookies in the room and chocolates together with tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Comfy large bed too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathrynCollington, Owner at The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you! it was a pleasure to meet you and especially your son. We are indeed perfectly located for The World of James Herriot and the market place with plenty of shops, pubs & restaurants. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gallery Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Kirkgate, Thirsk YO7 1PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thirsk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Thirsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Bed & Breakfast 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Bed and Breakfast has a 4 star silver award and a breakfast award. It is ideally located for exploring Herriot Country, being between the Dales and the North York Moors. It is a Grade II listed cottage set in the heart of the ancient market town of Thirsk and opposite The World of James Herriot. It is a 2 minute walk to the cobbled market place with its many cafes, pubs, restaurants and independent shops. Kathryn & Steve offer beautiful accommodation and a warm welcome. All rooms are en-suite and have free wifi. Breakfast is all locally sourced or home made and all diets can be catered for. You can watch 'All Creatures Great & Small' on DVD or browse through our books of the Dales and the Moors. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Gallery Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list