We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose and Crown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Snettisham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rose and Crown
Save
You added The Rose and Crown to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Church Rd, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Norfolk UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was a member of a golfing party who stayed one night . We didn't eat there so it was just B &B . The staff were terrific . Everone staying here seemed to come down to breakfast at the same time but the staff rose to the challenge .
I liked the colour scheme in my bedroom .
All in all -most pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    62
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
44
127
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rose and Crown for one night at the advice from a question we put out on the TA forum and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is situated in a lovey quiet village, and has great old bars and a lovely walled beer garden.
The Rose and Crown is a local watering hole and serves a good range of ales and lagers on tap.
Our double room was up the narrow, steep stair case, it was light bright and airy with lovely décor which gave it a real country feel. The room had a large window so plenty of fresh country air and a very comfortable queen size bed. Tea and coffee facilities available in the room as well as free Wifi with a good reception.
The bathroom was lovely, painted green, large and clean and the shower had good water pressure with good quality toiletries included.
Breakfast was a choice of cereal, fruit and a cooked to order full breakfast all very tasty, as well as freshly made latte coffee's all in a very attractive setting with views of the garden.
We ate dinner in the restaurant which we booked well in advance which I would advise as very busy.
The Menu was large and varied and the meal was of very high standard, the Cajun fish and salt potatoes was delicious as was the pork chops and the dining room was very attractive and cosy.
All the staff from reception to cleaners were very friendly and helpful which made our stay very pleasant.
We really enjoyed our whole Rose and Crown experience and would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear LindaDownUnder

Thank you for your recent and wonderfully detailed review of The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to write about their visit to The Rose & Crown

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. As owners we work very hard, as do our excellent staff, to ensure that each customer's visit is a pleasurable one - good service and great food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, and agreeable surroundings. It is hugely rewarding to all of us to get postive feed back like yours. I hope we will be able to welcome you to The Rose & Crown again soon.

Thank you again and best wishes

Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This pub may be a victim of its own success, so overcrowded that the old world pub ambiance was lost. We have been there weekly and more for a few years. We always pay cash and after a very noisy overcrowded meal experience, crushed in a corner, I woke to an email accusing me of not having paid. I did get an apology with a copy of receipt but it takes away somewhat from the excellent food and the usually nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Rose and Crown is a rare find - a real local pub with a great atmosphere, serving delicious food and providing comfortable accommodation.
We met a friend for drinks in one of the bars and could have had dinner there too; instead we opted to eat in the very pleasant restaurant.
The menu had a good selection of dishes with lots of seasonal and local ingredients.
Our pan fried hake with a mussel risotto was excellent.
Service was attentive, efficient and friendly.
Our room was light and airy and the bed was very comfortable. Molton Brown products in the bathroom were appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette G, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Sils

Thank you for your recent review of The Rose & Crown. We are always grateful to customers who take the time to write about their visit and to give us such valuable feedback.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. As owners we work very hard, as do our excellent staff, to ensure that each customer's visit is a pleasurable one - good service and great food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, and agreeable surroundings.

It is hugely rewarding to all of us to get postive feed back like yours. I hope we will be able to welcome you to The Rose & Crown again soon.

Thank you again and best wishes

Jeannette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our second stay at the Rose and Crown having thoroughly enjoyed our previous visit three years ago. Our room was comfortable, bright and clean, but sadly the bathroom, although clean, was in need of complete refurbishment, looking very dated (with a shower curtain!) and the water temperature fluctuating noticeably in the shower. Breakfast was fine with reasonable
choices. Evening meals were very good, a varied menu, well cooked and served by friendly, efficient staff. However, like another reviewer, we found the portions to be rather too large, despite having healthy appetites and noticed that several diners did not clear their plates with food going to waste. We stayed four nights, one of which was a Friday and had to pay an extra £20 for that night. While I understand that many hotels charge extra for weekend stays we think it a bit much to have to pay the extra after staying several nights during the week. Although we believe the Rose and Crown is a pleasant place to stay in a good position for the coast, walking and birdwatching, I do not think we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

In some ways I felt this hotel deserved its good reviews but not without exception. The food, especially the fish, was good but the portion size was huge and many of the meat and vegetable dishes were over spiced. The bread at dinner was excellent but at breakfast only very thick "doorsteps" were on offer.

We were in The Beach Hut which was on the ground floor at the back with a wet room. It was adequate - a very comfortable bed and good provisions but there was no dressing table and the lack of a shower curtain or screen meant that the anyone else in the bathroom, while the shower was in use, had an involuntary shower themselves!

Most of the staff were excellent, especially the lady who checked us in. The member of staff on duty at breakfast should be encouraged not to be so disgruntled when less than a full breakfast was ordered.

It was an interesting stay. I am glad we did not have to climb difficult stairs (thank you to Tripadvisor comments) and we did not suffer from noise from the bar as did some of our group. Although the car parking facilities were really excellent, I am not sure I would stay there again if I returned to North Norfolk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This inn is well placed for walks in north Norfolk and comes with a strong reputation. It lives up to this offering clean comfortable rooms with an excellent choice of breAkfast served by helpful and friendly staff. The kitchen goes the extra mile in offering a superb range of locally sourced ingredients freshly prepared to order. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Old Church Rd, Snettisham PE31 7LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Snettisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Snettisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose and Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Rose & Crown...a traditional Norfolk pub East of England Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Norfolk Dining Pub of the Year 2012 - The Good Pub Guide Read the reviews...Everything you'd expect . . . from a 14th Century North Norfolk village inn - twisting passages and hidden corners, low ceilings and old beams, pamment floors and log fires, excellent beers and a relaxed, informal atmosphere. . . . and more . . . great food, delicious wines, 16 stylish bedrooms offering outstanding bed & breakfast accommodation, sunny walled garden, children's play fort and friendly staff. . . . all in all . . . one of the best places from which to explore glorious North Norfolk . . to walk, eat, shop, read, bird watch, golf, sail and most importantly, to relax. We have a younger sister, the Bank House Hotel in King's Lynn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
Rose And Crown Snettisham
Rose And Crown Hotel Snettisham
The Rose And Crown Snettisham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.