We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Chequers Inn to your Saves list
The Chequers Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England (Formerly Old Coach House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Thornham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in July and had a really good weekend.
The property has been renamed 'The Chequers' and now advertises itself as a Marco Pierre White pub and restaurant. Maybe because of the high expectations associated with this brand, people have been disappointed with the furnishings and quality of food. It is certainly not luxury, but then the price we paid was not luxury either; at £65 a night ( including breakfast) we felt this was quite reasonable.
We stayed in Room 1 on the ground floor which was spacious and quite pleasant. Those people who enjoy taking photos of bathroom tiles which need re-grouting or patches of mildew in the corner of the shower unit, will have plenty to keep them busy here. But..the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the maid service impeccable.
We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and the service was quick, the staff friendly and the prices reasonable. The pizzas were fine, although nothing really special.
The breakfasts were very good; the eggs cooked to perfection. The staff were always helpful and efficient. It was disappointing that there was no wi-fi connection, despite being advertised..but we could live without that for a couple of days!
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and had the impression that 'The Chequers' is undergoing a steady improvement programme - it sounds as if some rooms are better than others. Thornham is an attractive, peaceful village and a great base to explore the North Norfolk coast.
Next time, we will probably try somewhere different, and improvements do need to be made here, but overall we would recommend this as an attractive pub with character and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    70
    37
    28
    17
See reviews for
38
105
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we booked this night away through booking.com and got what we thought was a reasonable price for bed and breakfast, having read the Old Coach house site it all sounded pretty good .....we arrived in Thornham and drove up and down the road several times that our tom tom had taken us too, we ended up asking a local resident where on earth it was, Oh he said you mean the Chequers? he said it had changed its name again a few months ago, i booked this in April but never had anyone mentioned it had now changed its name, we finally arrived and wandered in to an empty pub with a few old tables in, a young girl appeared and we asked if we in the right place, she casually said yes, the name was changed a few months ago you cant check in until 3pm as it was only 1 o clock at the time we said we would return later, she never said she would check if the room was ready or even have a look, so off we went into Hunstanton, we returned later in the day to find a few more cars in the carpark, went inside and was told we were in room 2 outside, round the corner and up the stairs, off we went with 2 keys attached to a metal tag with "The Lifeboat Inn" written on it? Another name? We eventually got the door open, one key was bent and the other one didnt seem to do alot, basic room with clean looking white bedding, with tea and coffee facilities on a chest of drawers, the bathroom was clean but very dated with chipped paintwork round the shower and a piece of paper blue tacked to the wall telling you to only use the shower on medium because of the problems with water pressure, toilet wasnt the best in the world either you had to pull the chain 2 or 3 times before it worked, bed was quite firm but the pillows were very very soft, time for our evening meal, we tried to lock the lock the door of our room with no luck so took our valueables with us and left it, we went downstairs quite happy as there were a few people around drinking in the bar area, after asking for the menu we decided not to eat in the restaurant as the only food available was italian, sadly thats about the only food we do not eat, no where on the booking.com site did it say they only do italian food, they also said it has free wifi, you cant even get a signal on your mobile phone in the area let alone any wifi, we did ask about it and the girl just said oh yeah alot of people say that we dont have a good signal round here, booking.com have got it wrong, we asked why they hadnt informed them that things had changed i.e. the name of the place, only italian food, and no mobile signal or wifi, but she didnt seem concerned and just said the place is being renovated.... it didnt say that either, else we wouldnt have booked it,we sat on some bar stools and settled down with our drinks looking at the pictures etc dotted around the bar area, i looked up at the beams only to find massive cobwebs hanging and spiders sauntering around, having a big fear of spiders we left quickly and ate out in hunstanton, had a decent nights sleep after going on a spider hunt in our room, got showered and dressed and went down for breakfast at 8, nice lady showed us to a table, very old and unpainted iron work legs with rusty school canteen like chairs, we ended up sat on a wooden window seat with no cushions, breakfast was hot and tasty, and served quickly, we checked out shortly afterwards, sadly wouldnt return, but im sure when they have done all the renovations and updated their information on what exactly to expect on booking sites they will have lots of visitors,

Room Tip: room 2 had a bit of traffic noise and people talking in the bar until late, carpark is all stones so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thornham hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Booked for two nights. Endured one then booked out. The room felt grubby. The furniture was scruffy. The carpet was dirty around the edges. The bathroom had black mould on the blind where it had not been cleaned. An attempt had been made to remove the mould from the shower cubicle but this was not thorough and it looked dirty, dated and scruffy. There was no liner in the toilet bin - not very hygienic. The bed was large and comfortable with decent white bed linen but the pillows were clearly old and discoloured so didn't feel clean. Choice for breakfast was reasonable but not particularly good and the breakfast room was rather gloomy. The lady who served us was very friendly and helpful. The Manager was amicable and understanding when we expressed our disappointment. He offered alternative rooms for the second night but we decided not to stay. The rooms need thoroughly renovating to bring them to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a groupon deal which included an evening meal. For the money we paid it was ok but I would have been very upset if I had paid full price and stayed here. Firstly they were doing renovations which we not warned in advance about. This meant there was a lot of noise during the day, no restaurant and no wifi. They had relabelled the place as chequers but again not warned us about this so it took us a while to find it. The bathroom in room 3 was frankly unacceptable. Thick smelly mildew coating the shower and mould all over the ceiling.This could have been sorted easily with a good clean. The shower pressure was very poor. Everything just looked fairly shabby. The evening meal was ok but the fish and chips were very oily and the melting chocolate pudding did not melt in anyway, being solid and stodgy. The breakfast however was very good. For meals the orange tree just down the road was infinitely preferable. The management of this place at the moment is just not good enough and is not a credit to marco Pierre white

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visited on 20th June for an 8pm table. The place was not excessively busy but we were told on arrival that food would be 20-30 minutes. Ok, its 8pm, what else do you do? You wait.

Menus were brought to us, and about 10 mins later we were asked if we'd like drinks. We ordered a bottle of wine and thought we would order food at the same time. The waitress didn't write anything down..5 mins later she asked if we could repeat the order..no wine yet!

After 20 mins still no drinks so I asked a waiter if he could chase up our order. He promised he would. 10 minutes passed and still no wine..so I asked again. He said he would get it right away. 5 mins later he returned asking what we had ordered!!! Eventually - 40 mins after ordering a bottle of wine it arrived. He couldn't open it so I did it myself...and no cooler for a white wine.
All around us was chaos, tables getting the wrong food orders, food being sent back, only part orders arriving, people waiting and waiting and waiting...

At 9:15 our starters arrived...food was ok but nothing special. Average standard Italian - dull.

We then waited until 9:50 - yes 9:50!!!- for main courses - almost 2 hours after arrival. Again the food was ok - nothing that a cheap and cheerful Italian Restaurant wouldn't knock up for a few pounds.

We decided to avoid desserts fearing they would clash with Breakfast the following morning. I asked for the Bill which amazingly arrived in 15 seconds...I paid cash and had no intention of paying a service charge. The waiter returned and asked if I wanted my change!!! UNBELIEVABLE.

I have lived in North Norfolk for many years, eat out at least twice a week along the coast and can say with 100% certainty this is the worst restaurant on the North Norfolk Coast in 2014 for service. I strongly recommend if you turn up here and they say that you will wait for food go to Wells and get Fish and Chips!!

Eat anywhere else is really the bottom line - this is the worst service in North Norfolk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It was my Mother in Laws birthday last week so I thought it would be a good idea to revisit the Chequers for a celebration meal. I last visited at the end of April and was particularly taken with the lovely plate of crisp and fiery whitebait I had on that occasion. Naturally I was looking forward to repeating the experience on Saturday last. The dish I was served bore no resemblance to the original. the portion was meagre, the fish was flaccid and not in the least bit spicy. I only managed to eat half of it sending the remainder back to the kitchen with some constructive feedback. Not a word of explanation or apology was forthcoming. When it came to the main course, despite our waitress repeating our orders back to us accurately, the birthday girl received entirely the wrong meal. She had to sit and watch us eat whilst waiting for the correct dish to arrive. One can only assume the "reserve" team were on duty in the kitchen that night. Such a shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What can i say....My wife and i had a wonderful stay at The old coach hoase. It has wonderful facilities and the food is spendid. Tjhe hotel is set in a very beautiful village with wonderful scenic walks, and the people in the village are all very welcoming. Our stay was made so much better by the wonderful staff especially a lovely lady called Finola who was very friendly and made our stay fantastic....we would like to say a big thank you to Finola and hope she excells in all she does.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England (Formerly Old Coach House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chequers Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Coach House Hotel Thornham
Old Coach Hotel
The Chequers Inn Thornham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.