We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaturant review. Great breakfast.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Chequers Inn to your Saves list
The Chequers Inn
High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England (Formerly Old Coach House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Thornham B&B and Inns
Kings Lynn
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Restaturant review. Great breakfast.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My partner and I visited the Old Coach House one Sunday morning. We had been recommended the breakfast there and we decided to go.
The weather was glorious and we chose to sit outside in the sunshine.
Excellent choices for breakfast and reasonable prices as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    61
    33
    23
    15
See reviews for
34
92
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Old Coach House for two nights over the May bank holiday, and found it really comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings, The home made Nacho's were so good, my wife had them both nights. The only problem was the wine we ordered took ages to get, i think they must have gone ot the vineyard to get it. But other than that the service was pretty prompt and it was quite busy both evenings.

Breakfast in the restaurant is less hectic, with cooked to orde and very nice.

We were given a room at the frront, facing te road, and were not distrurbed by traffic or people susing the tables out the front. .Only faulkt we could really say is there appears to be no real reception for TV signals along the coast, so don't stay there if there is an important episode of a soap youy want to watch !.- but you can't really blame them for that (given the cost of sky for commercial places) Other than that its a very clean comfortable place ot stay along this coast.

We're probably going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff here were very helpful & the menu traditional & well executed. The children were very happy with their choices, particularly their desert. The beer is kept well & the Guinness was excellent. We went back another night & drank a bottle of the Chablais which was also excellent. Our favourite place to eat in Thornham & they have some competition.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Old Coach House on Sunday 26th May for one night. We asked for a family room and were given room number 7 which is at the back of the Inn facing the car park. The bathroom and main bedroom where bigger than I expected and the children had a small room of their own with bunk beds which they loved. The bar is small and quirky, we sat out front to have a drink and relax when we first arrived, lots of big tables to choice from. We then had dinner in the restaurant in the evening, the food was very nice but there was a bit of a wait for it. Although I think this was only due to the fact it was extremely busy and I think they could have done with more staff to be honest. We ate breakfast in the restaurant again this morning before we left and it was very tasty and a lot less busy which was nice. There is plenty of parking and a small play area for the children, which was great and kept the kids entertained for a bit. I was slightly worried by other comments I had read on Trip advisor but if you are looking for a lovely, quaint, quirky place to stay then this is the place. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. All in all it was a hit with our family. :)

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family, room 7 is spacious with a room of their own for 2 children and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a nice location along what has become the 'Champagne Coast' thanks to the over inflated prices that are frequently being charged in this part of the country, but at least it hasn't landed here.
Good food, good choices and reasonably priced evening meals. We dined with friends and had a good selection of dishes, I would recommend the whitebait starter, lovely and the home made pies are also good value and filling. Overall good and will be back - I'm told that the pizzas are very good and they also do a take away service. Nice venue if the weather is good to sit out in the gardens or out the front and have a drink.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a very relaxing weekend at the old Coach House, Thornham. We went to the beautiful Norfolk Coast to meet and walk with a large group of Vizsla owners and the Old Coach House seemed like a good location to stop-over - and we were right.

The room had all that we needed - good TV - sitting arrangements in the room (not always so) - a big bed - en suite - dog friendly accommodation that is separate from the main building and so we had our own front door - very necessary when dogs need a quick visit outside.

Some excellent dog walks around the back of Green Lane to the rear of the village. Easy access to all the great beaches nearby. The dogs loved it.

The restaurant was first class. Nice eating environment in a garden style room - with attractive roof lantern allowing floods of sunshine. Breakfast was excellent and well presented. Evening meals were excellent - the Fillet steak was very good and cooked to our liking - we have sent many an overcooked rare steak back at other restaurants.

The bar is just what we needed. Could do with a stronger ale on tap but otherwise the beers and the service was fine.

All the staff were amazingly friendly but a Special mention of manager(?) Henry. A very welcoming host and a good ambassador for what we thought was a very enjoyable stay.

Great value for money and highly recommended - especially if you are dog walking. We will most certainly be going back....

Thanks to the Old Coach House for making our weekend so memorable.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed Friday night and Saturday night 11-12/05/13..
The staff are very welcoming the food is second to none and the bedroom we had was ideal with TV,on suite,Tea making facilities and a Queen bed and maid service on both days...
Location is ideal being situated between Wells and Hunstanton...
Very very quiet and relaxing and would highly recommend the Old Coach House to everyone..
Thankyou again to all the staff for a fantastic stay..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England (Formerly Old Coach House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Coach House Hotel Thornham
Old Coach Hotel
The Chequers Inn Thornham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.