We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lifeboat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lifeboat Inn to your Saves list
The Lifeboat Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ship Lane, Thornham PE26 3LT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Thornham B&B and Inns
Leics
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here in June 2012 and shocked to see that the same issues encountered remain a regular feature. Are there still rooms being let out in a half decorated state? Are staffing levels still inadequate? Have any of the waiting and reception staff been trained? Has the conservatory been decorated? Do they still massively over book the restaurant and ignore the resident guests?

The meat was excellent.... but this is supposed to be primarily a fish restaurant!

The location is good.

The Marco Pierre influence is where precisely?

What is going on ?

Room Tip: Check the room is decorated and as seen on the website or just go elsewhere. There are plenty of oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    146
    85
    56
    30
See reviews for
70
270
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kings Lynn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We woke to snow and had a really brisk walk to the beach, which is hardly far away. The food and staff were excellent and friendly. No complaints at all. The menu was varied as was the breakfast menu. The roaring fires were a welcome sight from the cold winter outside.

Room Tip: The room was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay, our room hadn't been refurbis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This used to be one of my favourite places to eat in North Norfolk but under the current owners both the quality of the food and the service have slipped badly. I stopped there for fish and chips, something they used to do very well but for this area a somewhat aged frozen fish fillet really is not competitive. They appear to have crammed more tables and the service was at best glacial even through the restaurant was quieter than I remember it being. In many ways this place now has the style of a chain restaurant, everything dumbed down to a budget and staff who are interested in completing their shift rather than giving good service. The food is not expensive for the area and I would be happy to pay a bit more for better quality food and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited today for a family lunch, the first time in a few years and since Marco Pierre White's Wheelers Group have taken over. We arrived early as we know it gets busy, the welcome was wonderful and very friendly. Lunch served from 12 so we ordered some drinks and had a good old read of the excellent menu. Great choices throughout...calamari was sublime light and not even vaguely rubbery cooked to perfection, the smoked BBQ ribs were divine.....traditional fish pie for my wife and I was out of this world, hand made burgers , ciabatta roll hand cut triple cooked chips fantastic, and the puddings were simply delicious, English cheese and biscuits also superb...all in all a very worthwhile trip from our home in Cambridgeshire...we will visit again very very soon for sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I am fast becoming a regular at the Thornham Lifeboat, largely because its menu is so appetising that I want to try everything. This time I had potted ham hock with home made piccalilli followed by fish pie and a child's portion of Eton Mess. Everything was wonderfully cooked and one of my friends - particularly fussy - said it was 'superb'. The whole experience was slightly tainted by the attitude of one of the waiting staff. Everyone else fab, but it is a shame that one surly waitress can just turn a meal very slightly sour.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was the final day of our holiday, a wet and miserable Wednesday, but the day was saved when we called in at The Lifeboat at mid-day for what was supposed to be only a quick restorative drink.
We then spent almost three hours in this delightful pub and were most impressed with the quality of service and the food. True, we only had sandwiches and cheese & biscuits, but it was everything that one could wish for and the surroundings were lovely - the dining room is magnificent and how anyone could describe that conservatory as "shabby" is a complete mystery to me.
Congratulations to The Lifeboat and all who serve in her!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fabulous Night, we joined Helen, Josh and Team at their Christmas Carols evening with a superb meal and singalong thrown in! Definately would reccomend this place, great team, wonderful food - cray fish and prawns delicious by the way and all served up in an amazing location, open fire crackling away and very festive atmosphere! Loved the Mulled Wine machine on the bar - the sort of thing I would want in my own kitchen!! Well Done - we will become frequent visitors!

Room Tip: Cray Fish and Avocado Starter amazing, if this is on the menu - well worth ordering!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lifeboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lifeboat Inn

Address: Ship Lane, Thornham PE26 3LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lifeboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn's original character has been carefully preserved throughout. The Inn contains several unique areas such as our very popular rossetted restaurant, the friendly and welcoming lounge with a lovely open fireplace, the bright and warming conservatory and our traditional, history soaked bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Lifeboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lifeboat Hotel Thornham
The Lifeboat Inn Thornham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lifeboat Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.