We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but service is a bit patchy at times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orange Tree

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Orange Tree to your Saves list
The Orange Tree
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Thornham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food but service is a bit patchy at times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through the village and saw this and decided to give it a try. We asked for a a table and the guy said he would check with the restaurant area if there was a table available. There was but since we were in a room that was all but empty don't understand why it took 5 minutes to say yes. The food was good but the steak was a bit gristly. The fish was lovely as was the sweet. The service was patchy as it was difficult to get their attention. Once we had they were friendly and professional. I would go back as the place overall was good but more attention to detail would make this worth a long journey to visit. We could only order from the bar menu but the full menu looks good so maybe next time we can try that. Worth a visit for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    76
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
47
161
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We ate here a couple of weeks ago. Usually use the Lifeboat down the road but it troubled them to serve us coffee earlier in the day so we voted with our feet so to speak. Couldnt really fault the place, the menu or the food but the waitress could have smiled!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIng's Lynn
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was a special family meal at the Orange Tree and it was a wonderful evening from start to finish. As a vegetarian I have had some good meal but here, wow, it was the best I have had anywhere. The presentation is worth a picture and the taste lives up to the sensory pleasure. Trust me the Orange Tree won't disappoint you. So much so I have booked to my wife and I to go back this weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We chose the Orange Tree based on the reviews on Trip Advisor in relation to how dog friendly it is. I must say that our dog had a lovely stay and we were impressed with being able to eat with her in the bar area dinner and at breakfast. I found Patrick most friendly and welcoming as indeed was the other man who greeted us when we were sitting outside. There are 6 rooms to the side of the pub accessed through the car park, there is no enclosed garden which would have been nice as our dog is quite young. There is no view to speak of and you may get more for your money elsewhere?
The room is on the small side but decorated nicely and the bathroom looks nice. However the tap in the sink was a bit fierce which meant we got soaked everytime we turned it on. The shower looked nice but was fairly weedy and the water did run all over the floor a bit of a design fault perhaps!

The coffee machine was a bit tricky to work out but was worth it when we did very nice coffee and nice selection of tea etc and homemade biscuits were a nice touch.

The food in the restaurant was disappointing from our point of view. If you like eating your food from a bread board or slice of slate with little bits here and there then this may be the place for you. We loved Thornham and appreciated the nice service by the male staff but the meal was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my husbands birthday last week. We have been here on various occasions and it is always superb! When we got there our rooms weren't ready but we didn't care we were off to the beach anyway, that said the management gave us a complimentary drink with our meal. Nice touch.
The rooms good and clean.
My dogs are always well catered for with their own menu to choose from.
The food was the best I've tasted in a long while, wine list good and breakfast was a good size too.
The staff were excellent and attentive especially Patrick.
I've stayed in other boutique hotels in the area but there's something about this place that keeps me going back!
That good that we said an extra night.
Would definitely recommend The Orange Tree, especially if you have dogs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We decided to try the Orange Tree which was Ok, not great but not bad, not brilliant but perhaps the Lifeboat might have been better, who knows. The room was basic, shower only. A George Clooney coffee machine provided but we couldn't work out how to use it so didn't bother. You walk through the car park to get into the bar restaurant. Nice choice of beers. Friendly staff. Food was not has expected, my chicken was dried out. All in all not a bad stopover.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same, basic and small, approached through the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went for dinner- asked for a bottle of house red which they did not seem to do, so the waitress recommended something- it was alot more than the cheapest bottle on the menu. It states on the menu that dishes can be adapted for gluten free diners, but when asked apparently that is only possible when you book in advance? The food was nice- mum had the award winning chicken pie, I had the fish ( expensive for what it was), dad had a burger which was presented beautifully and the other diner had a curry ( which was nice..). The service was rubbish, young students who did not even take our coats, they remained on our chairs throughout. On leaving noone bothered to acknowledge us either. Recently voted Good Beer Guide pubfood of the year.. really? I would not rush to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orange Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orange Tree

Address: High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orange Tree 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Orange Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orange Tree Hotel Thornham
The Orange Tree Thornham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orange Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.