We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining at the Hoste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hoste to your Saves list
The Hoste
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham Market
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dining at the Hoste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

During the 20yrs we have lived in this area of North Norfolk we have dined at the Hoste on numerous occasions, Paul Whitome ran it smoothly , food was generally great and apart from the odd foray into zoo themed bedrooms and a horrible coat of outside yellow paint it was a much loved icon in Burnham Market until Paul's sad early death a few yrs ago, since then - local stories have been legion and ferocious in their condemnation of changes made .
We went for dinner - its close to friends new house - table booked for 4 , dining room not very full - Friday evening before Christmas ? they asked us to come before 7.30 or after it, why when not busy ? our arrival produced a table booked for 2 , quickly changed to 4, but staff at the desk bit chaotic.
Things then went uphill , charming waiting staff, lovely food ,good wine selection well served , mains bit pricey , they would probably have a full dining room if mains were reduced from £20-£22 to £17-£18 but that's the only quibbly bit . Puddings great as well. Well thought out balanced menu.
As for the decor it looked a lot the same and a bit bland , the Hoste is an old building , the bar is wonderful and was always a bit rustic , people have mentioned wet dogs in other reviews , well so what ? its that sort of place . The Hoste needs to co-ordinate its feel and redecorate without using modern factory produced bling , train up its staff a little better and have confidence . We will return hopefully soon

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    162
    93
    45
    29
See reviews for
78
339
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Celebration birthday weekend for both my husband and I. Lovely room in the Vines. A peaceful retreat as promised. Food in the restaurant was excellent and all staff very efficient, polite and helpful. Made a special effort for our birthday celebrations including champagne on the house. Treatments in the Spa were excellent. Picturesque village with some nice shops and the overall area offers a lot also. Will definitely go back...

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for my husbands work christmas party. Our room was lovely, luxurious, very clean, very light. Bed was so comfortable. The food was fantastic and was hot! The staff were brilliant....very friendly reception staff and the waiter that served us was very efficient. The village is very pretty with some lovely shops. Holkham beach is a ten minute drive away with sand dunes and miles of sand to sink your feet into. Definately going back!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Spa remains the only decent aspect to this hotel.

A family treat ended up being quite the forgettable experience and one we will not risk having again I am afraid. We are repeat customers who have now officially been lost.

Two guests that were supposed to be escorted from the Spa to the hotel to have a 2 course lunch with wine, that was already paid for being part of the package, were instead offered sandwiches only and were charged £57 for two crab sandwiches and two fruit juices. Of course they did not pay but the entire experience was a shambles.

The hotel manager is out of his depth and took almost 10 days to settle a miserly compensation package.

Advice to all - if you are not happy do not accept complimentary tea for two - quite the insult actually.

Plenty of much better hotels, better rooms, better food and much better service to be had on the North Norfolk Coast. Spend 20 minutes looking elsewhere if you want to spend your money wisely.

It is true what everyone is saying in Norfolk - the Hoste has changed beyond recognition I am afraid.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hoste used to be a must visit venue for our stays in Burnham Market, In fact in was our favorite eatery in North Norfolk with wonderful service and atmosphere . But not now . It has certainly slipped over the last couple of years with both the current owners and the staff not that bothered . Two glasses of cool mulled wine for £10 about says it all . It still retains that quaint feeling when you walk in , but you don't feel as welcome anymore. We would love it to return to how it used to be.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have marked the Hoste as average this year Probably slightly better though .Over the past 2/3 years the hotel has been going downhill and has lost it's speciality/exclusive feel.
The food, rooms and staff were excellent but there appeared to be no leadership.
The bar and lounge are splendid.
We were a group of 9 - 4 couples and one single - and ,as in the past, asked for all extras to be split (4x2/9 and 1/9) but this proved beyond the system apart from one evening when the wine was split correctly but no other extras!!!.The reception staff were very helpful in trying to rectify this but to no avail.
In conclusion, our stay was enjoyable but we will not return as a group

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Hoste a number of times and sadly i do not know if we will be going back. We booked for the Jazz evening which included a 3 course dinner. Unfortunately we were not informed before we booked that we would have our starter before the Jazz band played (they were fab) and not get our main course till 9.30 once the band had finished. The host was very "schoolteacherish" about sitting and listening and NOT speaking .... i found this patronising.
By theme the main arrived (which was OK) i for one was past wanting to eat.
Breakfast was disappointing with empty serving dishes...... people standing around waiting for the cooked breakfasts to be replenished. Are they getting too busy? For me it had lost its quirkiness and become a fairly standard hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Address: The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoste 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Burnham Market, The Hoste boasts a beauty spa and an award-winning restaurant. Featuring free Wi-Fi and free private parking, this boutique four star hotel is just 2 miles from Norfolk’s sandy beaches.Offering a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities, the uniquely designed accommodation lies across 6 individual properties. The bathrooms feature luxurious Molton Brown toiletries. Many boast a free-standing bath, pretty terrace, or views over the village green.The Hoste’s sophisticated restaurant serves a modern British menu. For a more informal dining experience, guests can eat in the conservatory, lounge, garden, or bar. Dishes are prepared using locally sourced, seasonal produce. Meals can be complemented with a drink from the extensive wine cellar.Located in the courtyard wing of the 17th century property, The Hoste Beauty Spa offers a range of specialist treatments and a hot tub. Burnham Market is surrounded by acclaimed nature reserves, picturesque villages, and historic market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.