We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame Norfolk interior designers lost imagination!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hoste to your Saves list
The Hoste
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham Market
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Shame Norfolk interior designers lost imagination!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Hoste is a very nice hotel and serves excellent food. However rooms are overpriced. The new conservatory update is a real disappointment. The previous morroccan feel has gone and is replaced by a boring events room. The courtyard garden has also gone and is now a square!
Please bring back some character to this area - hopefully this will happen soon!

Room Tip: Upper floor in main house, definitely not ground floor in new extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    188
    105
    54
    32
See reviews for
96
396
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bridgford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have just returned home from a two day wedding anniversary break at the Hoste. The room we had was beautifully decorated and equipped as well as being warm and comfortable. We dined in the restaurant both evenings and enjoyed outstanding food. The biggest asset the Hoste has is its staff. Everyone we met made us welcome and did their best to make our stay as comfortable as possible. the finishing touch was the 'Happy Anniversary' piped round the edge of our desert plates on the second evening! We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We keep returning to The Hoste a couple of times a year. We prefer to stay over in The Vine but the whole place is lovely. Food excellent, staff helpful and pleasant. We had the midweek break on dinner bed and breakfast basis and thought this well worth it. Can definitely recommend. We will be back in the Spring!

Room Tip: Divine Room 55
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Much has already been said on this site about The Hoste, but this was our first visit. The hotel in itself is superb, but what impressed me most was the hotel's biggest asset, its staff.
Many were quite young, especially the breakfast staff, but they were the most pleasant, helpful and efficient staff that I have met.
The hotel in itself is just the most relaxing place to be, and when we left our batteries were really recharged!
All I can say, is this is just a tremendous hotel, in the most perfect part of the country.
We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We last went to the Hoste Arms in March 2012 and thought we knew what to expect. How wrong we were! We booked a DB&B December 2013 stay as a pre Christmas treat and we were not disappointed. The new owners have improved what was already a wonderful place to stay. The improved reception is warm and welcoming. The small double room beautifully decorated and the dressing gowns and soft fluffy towels an added bonus. We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was one of the best meals we have had for a long time...thank you Marco for taking such good care of us :-) we can't wait for our return visit in Jan 2014.

Room Tip: Room 3 - lovely small double overlooking the car park
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just back from yet another fantastic visit to the Hoste.

Staying on the DB&B winter stay is brilliant value!

Once again hard to fault the Hoste on any aspect of our stay... room, food, drinks, spa and staff all exceptional!!

Mentioned when booking it was my wifes birthday and was upon entering our room we were greeted by a bd card and tray of treats with a bd message! Lovely touch!

Day after check out and we've booked to go back again in February and we can't wait!

Highly recommend a lovely chilled out stay at the Hoste!

Our thanks to all the lovely staff over at the Hoste!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queniborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love Norfolk so with our friends booked 2 Devine rooms for Friday and Saturday night stay. Due to the distance we had to travel it was close to 9.00pm before we arrived on the Friday. Check in was quick and we were shown to our rooms. Food was still available so off we went jolly fine food and service. Super nights sleep followed by breakfast. Saturday's evening Dinner was superb well trained eager to please staff. Sunday departure although busy at Reception was quick. Overall a First Class hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Address: The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoste 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Burnham Market, The Hoste boasts a beauty spa and an award-winning restaurant. Featuring free Wi-Fi and free private parking, this boutique four star hotel is just 2 miles from Norfolk’s sandy beaches.Offering a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities, the uniquely designed accommodation lies across 6 individual properties. The bathrooms feature luxurious Molton Brown toiletries. Many boast a free-standing bath, pretty terrace, or views over the village green.The Hoste’s sophisticated restaurant serves a modern British menu. For a more informal dining experience, guests can eat in the conservatory, lounge, garden, or bar. Dishes are prepared using locally sourced, seasonal produce. Meals can be complemented with a drink from the extensive wine cellar.Located in the courtyard wing of the 17th century property, The Hoste Beauty Spa offers a range of specialist treatments and a hot tub. Burnham Market is surrounded by acclaimed nature reserves, picturesque villages, and historic market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.