We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning accommodation...but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoste

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hoste to your Saves list
The Hoste
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham Market
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation...but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First off, I feel I must split my review into two as we had a very different experience with regards to the accommodation and the overall service. We were lucky enough to stay in the Railway Carriage - which is truly outstanding. Luxurious fittings, unique feel and to top it all the dog was allowed to stay with us! The Railway Carriage has been restored to a very high spec, the space has been well used and the overall feeling is one of sheer opulence. Good sized brass bed, seating area and large flat screen TV, fresh cafetiere coffee, mint hot chocolate and Molton Brown bathroom products. The bathroom is equally impressive with a large old fashioned brass sink but very modern walk-in shower lit by LED's. The carriage is actually on an old railway track next to the railway masters cottage and a small garden has been created with a seating area - great for those brings pets! All this made for a great two night stay and although some people have complained I really loved the fact that it was separate from the main building - this did mean a short walk across for breakfast but quite lovely meandering through the stunning village. The Hoste Arms itself is obviously a 'destination' hotel - very trendy, beautifully furnished and what looks to be a stunning spa. The reception staff (Jude) were outstanding throughout the stay - good humoured and a real credit to the venue. The restaurant staff seem under par and for the price paid I would have expected a whole lot more with regards to service...the food itself is truly sublime but the service throughout the stay (breakfast/dinner) left me wondering at the odds of what was on offer and what was being delivered. The gold star for this place comes from the fact that they happily accept dogs - really good to find somewhere where your pampered pooch can sit under the table whilst you tuck into deliciously prepared, fresh, local food...they even bring dog bowls! I'll definitely be returning as they have the main house, railways cottage and a separate building which all call out to be explored but would probably look to dine out at other local establishments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    188
    105
    54
    31
See reviews for
96
396
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in Room 25, which had the best shower I have had in years. Bed was ok, nice sheets and pillows but mattress was right on the edge of being uncomfortable. Lots of space in the room, and enjoyed the Spa a geat deal. Staff were all brilliant, very friendly and keen to help.
Food was a bt of a let down, in all honesty. I overheard the barman saying the had 300 covers the night we ate there, and i strongly got the impression that the restaurant was too stretched to keep the quality high. My oysters were badly shucked, half had broken shell in them, and the pork belly main was very close to being returned to the kitchen, for being over done. Sticky toffee pudding dessert was also too dry and over cooked. The restaurant itself was very nice, atmosphere and buzz were all good, and the garden looked lovely. Breakfast the next morning was solid, though my wife had eggs benedict which came served with only one egg on one half of a muffin - where was the other half, and second egg? Shocking....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here mid-week for two nights in early August with my wife as a break from work and London. Burnham Market is a tiny, pretty, perfectly formed village on the Norfolk coast and certainly felt a million miles away from London. The hotel was lovely and clean, with lots of very affable and helpful staff, albeit sometime slow when ordering drinks from the bar (they did comp me though each time it happened). The 'age-appropriate' comment simply relates to the feeling that at 35, I was probably half the age of the average guest, which gave the place a certain feel. But overall, was an enjoyable stay. Only other issue was that on arrival, we went straight to the spa to book a treatment or two, and there were no appointments available during the course of our stay. So if you're going, book ahead!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently stayed at The Hoste and had high hopes after reading reviews on here and also hearing good things from family and friends. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed and felt it was really over-priced considering the experience we had. Upon getting to our room, we found the air-con wasn't working. In the middle of our recent heatwave, this was not good news and nothing had been mentioned at check in, although they were obviously aware as a fan had been placed in the room. To give credit where its due, when we mentioned this at reception we were immediately upgraded and our new room and air-con working fine. Over the next few days however, we experienced beer that was 'off', mixed up breakfast orders, meat being served to a vegetarian etc. All a little disappointing. We had booked treatments in the spa and were looking forward to relaxing, but again found the experience a bit of a letdown. The spa itself feels a little crowded and busy, almost like they don't really have enough space. But the main issue was the gossiping therapists, who spent most of the time I was having a manicure, chatting about how they couldn't be bothered doing their remaining treatments that day and how their clients were a bit of a nuisance. The vegetarian options on the menu were also very limited and the halloumi dish I ate was just not very nice and quite insubstantial. We went elsewhere for dinner on our second night.To be fair to The Hoste, the room décor was lovely and the staff did their best to resolve issues, but when you are paying this much, it is a shame that so many apologies were needed.

Room Tip: Unless you go for a junior suite, rooms can be quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Hoste a few times over the past few years. We decided to book a room as it was my Husband's Birthday. They have very recently added new rooms and a new dining and garden area . We chose to stay in one of the new vine rooms - we were so disappointed when we got there. It looked like a soulless Premier Inn with none of the character of the other rooms. We asked to move rooms,which they were very nice about. We booked an evening meal and I mentioned that it was my Husbands Birthday, the waitress said they would put 'Happy Birthday' on his dessert and a candle. They totally forgot. The next morning the cleaner tried to come in our room 50 minutes before check out and asked when we were leaving. All in all, it is very expensive with terrible service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited The Hoste in Burnham Market for the first time last week: Two adults and two teenagers. The hotel was fabulous - both rooms were beautifully appointed with lots of little luxuries: Molton Brown toiletries, a cafetiere and fresh coffee, super comfortable beds and pillows and many lovely features. We ate lunch and dinner and breakfast at the hotel and enjoyed all of the meals enormously. The staff could not have been more helpful and we received excellent service. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually appointed so check The Hoste website as it shows photos of all rooms. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our so-called “Divine” bedroom, with its view of the dining-room roof, was apparently quite new. It was large, but in all other respects a very ordinary, dull hotel bedroom. Heavy maroon-flowered curtains and a strip of the same material behind the bed did nothing to enhance it. There were no pictures and none of the welcoming touches, such as flowers or fruit, that you might expect to find in a room costing £230 a night (not including dinner). In fact there would have been nowhere to put them, as there was no table. There was only one small easy-chair. There was NO TELEPHONE, and absolutely NO INFORMATION about the hotel facilities, not even emergency fire instructions. We were told that they had “run out”, and that they were in the process of reprinting their “Welcome Pack”. The “designer” bathroom looked good, but the bath was exceedingly uncomfortable and difficult to get out of. We were kept awake till midnight by the clatter from the kitchen below.

On our first night we dined in a small dining-room, but on the second we were sent to the Garden Restaurant - huge and extremely noisy, with continual toing and froing of staff past our table. Conversation was impossible - the only thing to do was to eat up and escape. There was nowhere quiet to sit for pre-dinner drinks or after-dinner coffee, the seating areas being virtually corridors and crowded with non-residents.

All that I can say in the Hoste’s favour is that the food was good, the beds comfortable, and our bedroom clean. All in all, however, our two-day visit was a great disappointment and by no means the special treat we had hoped for. August 2013.

Room Tip: Avoid "Divine" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoste

Address: The Green, Burnham Market PE31 8HD, England (Formerly Hoste Arms)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burnham Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnham Market
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoste 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Burnham Market, The Hoste boasts a beauty spa and an award-winning restaurant. Featuring free Wi-Fi and free private parking, this boutique four star hotel is just 2 miles from Norfolk’s sandy beaches.Offering a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities, the uniquely designed accommodation lies across 6 individual properties. The bathrooms feature luxurious Molton Brown toiletries. Many boast a free-standing bath, pretty terrace, or views over the village green.The Hoste’s sophisticated restaurant serves a modern British menu. For a more informal dining experience, guests can eat in the conservatory, lounge, garden, or bar. Dishes are prepared using locally sourced, seasonal produce. Meals can be complemented with a drink from the extensive wine cellar.Located in the courtyard wing of the 17th century property, The Hoste Beauty Spa offers a range of specialist treatments and a hot tub. Burnham Market is surrounded by acclaimed nature reserves, picturesque villages, and historic market towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoste Arms Hotel Burnham Market
The Hoste Burnham Market, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.