We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round, couldn't fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saracen's Head

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saracen's Head
Wall Road, Wolterton NR11 7LX, England
01263 768909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wolterton
Price range: $50 - $57
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent all round, couldn't fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went for lunch and both had warm beetroot and goats cheese on a lovely salad served with a side dish of new parsley potatoes. All was all beautifully presented. When we requested bread I was pleased to note that a side plate was provided - unlike many establishments these days who seem to think it is ok to rest your bread on the table! A water jug was placed on the table. Service was quick, friendly and professional.
I look forward to returning and will recommend the Saracen's Head to my B&B guests.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    3
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best place to eat for miles around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had enjoyed our previous visit, and we just popped in even though we were very pressed for time. They are very friendly, and we were served extremely quickly. We really enjoyed our food, all freshly prepared, with some of the freshest vegetables I have ever tasted.

I don't think it's overly pricey, considering the quality of the cooking. We were charged £38 for two starters and two main courses, no wine as we were driving, but a jug of iced water included.

I don't think it's hard to find, actually. On the A140, just South of Alby Crafts, head West on High Noon Road (really!) and follow signs for Woolterton Park.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unusual pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Slighlty eccentric pub but lovely food. We first ate here 7 years ago and stumbled on it again by accident. Its not that easy to find but worth the effort.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Used to be wonderful but new owners have let it down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Used to be my favourite restaurant for miles around but new owners have really taken food down market although kept prices where they were
Gone from full to empty, won't be returning

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

after having walked in the area we decided to pop in for a drink. Thankfully they accept dogs without and we settled in the courtyard for a drink and to make the decision to stay for an evening meal.

As the sun set we moved in doors to have the meal which we both enjoyed and afterwards shared a dessert. We thoroughly enjoyed this 'little gem' and as we could have the dogs with us it was a bonus - thank you. Well worth moving off the beaten track to visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saracen's Head also viewed

 
Erpingham, Norfolk
Thorpe Market, Norfolk
 

Been to Saracen's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saracen's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.