We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmyard Inn

Save Saved
You added The Farmyard Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Farmyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park DE45 1UW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Youlgreave B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Service with a Smile :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Recently stayed in Youlgrave ( Youlgreave) at a local cottage, and our nearest pub was the Farmyard,. the warm welcome on arrival is a credit to all the staff who work here. Following daily walks around the area it was great to relax in front of an Open fire, Monday night had a good catch up with the locals, Tuesday's menu had lots to offer, Hunters Chicken, which was very nice. Wednesday was pie night, the Game pie was worthy of 10/10, and Thursday's curry night was full of flavour. Free Wi-fi if access via iCloud if you need to catchup online The atmosphere the landlady and her helpful bar staff create is special and is well worth a visit to this picturesque part of stunning Derbyshire, can't wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were given a warm welcome by staff from the minute we walked in the door. The pub was busy when we arrived, but a table had been reserved for us (without asking) at the fireside. We had a beautiful evening meal, and it was a very cosy and relaxed atmosphere.

The pub was packed with locals, either drinking at the bar or dining with family, which is always a sign of a good, well-run establishment. The villagers were as welcoming and chatty as the staff. A nice touch was the barmaid going off-shift during the evening and going around the tables saying goodnight to everyone. We felt like house guests, rather than an inconvenience.

We stayed in "The Pigsty", which was a delightful, thoughtfully-equipped room - and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and served at a time convenient to us.

Sue, the landlady, is lovely. Eager to please, and with a proper Mancunian sense of humour. Our first visit to the Farmyard Inn at Youlgr(e)ave, and very definitely not our last. See you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyvern
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Thoroughly recommended as a welcoming pub for adults,children and dogs. Excellent homemade food, varied choice and reasonably price.Shame it's a Greene King pub so ale selection isn't great but it is well kept. Atmospheric and well run. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just stayed at the farmyard on Friday evening the host Sue and the chef could not have been more welcoming , We stayed in the pigsty room it was lovely and clean and warm , Sue is a complete character really lovely lady .
We had a meal in the pub that evening she reserved a table by the lovely roaring log fire the place has areal nice buzz about it with lots of locals in the bar ,
We had a really lovely meal most exellent I would highly ecomend this place to either ejust eat or to stay
Thankyou Sue for a lovely stay xx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staying at the Farmyard Inn was an experience I wish everyone could share. First of all, Youlgreave is the quaintest, most picturesque town ever and the Farmyard Inn reflects the same. Our room was called the Sheep Pen and was just lovely. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and Susan and her staff were super friendly and eager to please. The only place to get Wifi was in the pub and she let us sit in there even when it was closed so we could connect for a while. The food here was outstanding and the locals pack the place. Yes, dogs are welcome and when you see a lovely dog resting in front of an old blazing fireplace it is like being in a movie. Breakfasts were terrific. We really can't wait to go back and stay in this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at The Farmyard Inn, as a break during the half-term. Our room was warm and clean, providing us with tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries. There was a great choice of breakfast options and this was served at a time convenient to us. We arrived at the inn at lunchtime and had a lovely, fresh, homemade meal. Staff were friendly and attentive, and the food was lovely! We will definitely visit again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate twice at The Farmyard during our recent stay in Youlgreave (we didn't stay at the Inn though). I had the Lamb Shank (both times as it was so good the first time) and my girlfriend had the Moroccan Fish Stew and would have had it again if they hadn't just sold the last portion on our second visit. The cask ale was good and although the pub was busy we didn't have to wait long for our meals. I would recommend a visit here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmyard Inn

Address: Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park DE45 1UW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Youlgreave
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Youlgreave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmyard Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Farmyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmyard Hotel Youlgreave

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.