We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmyard Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Farmyard Inn to your Saves list
The Farmyard Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park DE45 1UW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Youlgreave B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Welcome Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having completed a circular walk along the Limestone Trail we (12 male walkers) called in for a refreshing pint. Enjoyed the drink and the atmosphere so asked if they could accommodate us for dinner that evening (Sat), with some rearranging of tables and negotiation of time we were given the 'snug' for 8.30 pm. Excellent food with a varied selection of menu choices (not just your normal pub grub) followed and we were well looked after by Abbi who was managing the Inn whilst the landlady was on holiday and her staff.

Room Tip: Worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    33
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have been before on many occassions, usually for carvery and normally its been excellent.
Pub tends to be 'warm and welcoming' with a log fire on the go. Our latest visit begs the question 'has pub changed hands' as carvery was very dissappointing. Generally quite tasteless and luke warm with yorkshires that were clearly overcooked. No Log fire on the go either (yes I know its close to summer, but todays quite cool with plenty of rain coming down). Beer and wine were ok. I do hope if we return, that todays visit is an isolated 'one off' and that if the owners read this review, they react to get meals and pub back to its usual 'charming, warm with good food' self.

on the goAdmitedly iLatest visit was very dissappointinglok,,lpr

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The moment you enter its obvious that something is afoot. An aubern shadow flickers and she is upon you. Pleasantries are dispensed, pies consumed of rabbit and all is well. It has been said that there are issues around breakfasts but we found them most accomplished, even egregious. I for one will be back very soon to experience the rapid speed at which back handed compliments are effortlessly and eautifully dished out in equal measure to bon homie. Bravo farmyard. Negatives are that the surrounding area slopes slightly and leads to slight undermeasure on drinks due to the prevailing angle described. This thankfully only affects less experienced bar staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wootton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Came here on a Wednesday after seeing it advertised in the village that Wednesday night was Pie Night! Impressed ++ Lovely pies, great pub, lovely atmosphere - totally reccomend. If you like home cooked food rather than the microwave/reheated food you now get in alot of pubs then this is the one for you :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

nick from sussex's review is spot on.i would add that sue imbues the pub and breakfast with her great personality.she genuinely wants to assist you in having a good stay and thats quite rare in the hotel world.she is trying hard to upgrade the inn and i would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed over the weekend of heavy snow and it was beautiful. The room was nice and warm with everything you need for a weekend stay. We had dinner - it was a little slow but the pub was packed for the quiz evening and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Sue the landlady is lovely and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from a couple of days in beautiful Derbyshire. We were a party of three ladies who went for the lovely walks and to visit Chatsworth. Can I just say we could not fault the Farmyard Inn the accomodation was excellent the evening meal was really good. All home cooked food and very resonable with a fantastic real fire which just added to the atmosphere of the country pub. The landlady Sue was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The cooked breakfast was amazing and really set us up for the day. We will definately be returning and will be letting all our friends and family know about this little gem.!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmyard Inn

Address: Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park DE45 1UW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Youlgreave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Youlgreave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Farmyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmyard Hotel Youlgreave

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.