We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farmyard Inn

The Farmyard Inn
Main Street, Youlgreave, Peak District National Park DE45 1UW, England
01629 636221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Youlgreave
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reading
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Ate here twice:
1) A Sunday lunch with choice of beef, pork or lamb in the carvery plus various vegetables, potatoes and Yorkshire puddings in the carvery upstairs - thus guaranteeing that the meat was freshly cut and not as it often is in pubs - reheated. Good value and excellent-quality meat.
2) Evening meal for six of us. I had the game pie which was very tasty and the others were very happy with their dishes, too. Highly recommended if you like good food. Wide choice of interesting soups, imaginative dishes and even special pie nights!.
Very welcoming and chatty landlady, Susan, and friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful meal in a warm and cosy pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The pub has an open fire (wonderful after a day of walking in February), a friendly atmosphere, and excellent food. I really can't fault The Farmyard Inn.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best in town but not the best in the Peaks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Farmyard Inn is staffed with quite a few personalities and is a cut about either of the other two pubs in the village. Having walked all day the tummy was empty and the throat felt as though it had been cut so I was very ready for a scoff. Broccoli and Stilton soup, hot enough with a warm baguette (butter served in plastic mini packs), but almost no taste of the Stilton. Salmon fishcakes, clearly home made, but more tatty than fish. Good effort but no cigar. The Derby Homity pie was on the average side, hot but poorly constructed pastry and not the greatest flavours. The lamb tagine was full of flavour but lacked any finesse at all. My instinct is that this chef can cook and the pub is well worth a visit but perhaps the crush of Saturday night in downtown Youlgreave led to a less than perfect offer. That said prices are keen, the food very edible and the staff make up for the rest...oh and the wine list is ok with the local ale very acceptable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A MUST visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Walking into a 'local' as an outsider can sometimes be quite daunting but we had nothing to fear here. We were made so welcome, the staff are very friendly we had an amazing meal and we left with full belly's and big smiles! Will definitely be returning!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we were feeling hungry so as we were passing we decided to call in.
i explained i was on a gluten free diet, no problem the staff told me who were very kind and the welcome was very warm.
food was very good and service was excellent
our dog was also made welcome.
thank you to you all at the farmyard inn. we will be seeing you soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmyard Inn also viewed

Youlgreave, Peak District National Park
Crowdecote, Peak District National Park
 
Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Farmyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farmyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.