We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Red Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Market Place, Wirksworth DE4 4ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Preston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wirksworth is a pleasant small town and the Red Lion is centrally situated. Our room was a good size, immaculately clean with a good supply of towels and toiletries. The only disappointment was the ensuite which was very small with a minute wash hand basin. Breakfast, in a very nice room with a blazing log fire, was excellent. The hosts and staff were friendly and welcoming. Altogether a pleasant place to stay, perhaps just a little over priced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

old coaching inn plenty of atmosphere good chef from south africa good value for money foodwise realales staff very smart and friendly especially emily with her bubbly personality. good all round inn with accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 for 3 nights with my husband and two year old son in one of their family rooms. The room was large and spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were really comfortable and had nice good quality bedding / pillows. They had heavy blackout curtains so we all had a good night’s sleep. The bathroom only had a shower / no bath but was a power shower so no complaints. We were provided with tea and fresh coffee facilities and also bottles of water each day which was a nice touch.
It is really a pub with rooms which is all we were looking for. The breakfasts were amazing – really good quality and in a lovely little private bar area. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. The cleaner even tucked in my son’s teddy and folded his PJs.
The bar food was excellent quality and we are fussy/used to eating in nice restaurants. There was a great selection and a specials board each night. It was gastro pub fare and priced well. Good value.
We used it as a base to explore the Peak district and there was ample car parking. There are a few shops including a deli nearby where you can stock up for a picnic.
Great stay and would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable room for a few nights with great food and service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion on 10 August 2013 in order to attend a nearby wedding. Our room was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet; the lunch we ordered was prompt and tasty; and we were impressed with the high quality and range of breakfast choices - all for a very low price.

But the best part of our stay was the friendliness of all the staff and the owners. We are extremely grateful to the landlady for driving us to the wedding when the taxi we had booked let us down and we couldn't find another at short notice - an incredibly kind offer. All in all, a superb experience at the Red Lion!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion on 5th/6th August 2013 and found it to be a very welcoming hotel and really enjoyed our two night stay. Our room was spacious and clean, the kingsize bed was really comfy and a brilliant night's sleep. Food was excellent. My husband had the steak pie and it was delicious. The owners and the staff were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

......we recently stayed at the one in Wirksworth,Derbyshire.We received a warm welcome and were shown to our clean,spacious room;the bonus for me was the CAFETIERE!! Why don't more establishments provide ground coffee instead of instant? We dined in the bar and I enjoyed my steak pie and "proper" chips,washed down by a couple of pints of cask ale.The next morning I spent a couple of hours down the road at the railway station on the footplate of a steam train...very exciting and also recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion on 18th/19th July and found it to be a very welcoming hotel. All the staff were attentive and prepared to spend time and chat and nothing was to much for them to do for us. Our room at the top with the King Size bed and a view over part of the town and lovely further views of the hills, was very comfortable. Air con or a fan would have added to the comfort due to the lovely weather we have been experiencing, but we coped. The ensuite was a bit on the small side, but the shower was good and that was important. We ate in the hotel the first night and the food was good. There was some noise from pubs emptying and cars going back and forth, but it didn't bother us. We would return to this hotel if we were back in the area, it was a nice change from a Premier Inn, certainly a lot more relaxing.

Room Tip: Room with the King Size bed, which we believe is one of the bigger rooms. Can't comment on any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: The Market Place, Wirksworth DE4 4ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wirksworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.