We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Lockup to your Saves list
The Old Lockup
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Bures, suffolk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quiet and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we have just spent 3 nights in this delightful and well kept B&B in this small town in the peak district, a box of delicious truffles completed the welcome, Breakfast was one of the best and a wide choice available all prepared by our host, we took our 2 dogs with us and were pleasantly surprised by the standards as so often dog owners are treated as second class guests, in an excellent area for dog walking and at only a minimal extra charge. All round this is one of the better B&Bs we have stayed in

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
125
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Can't say enough good things about this place. Friendly, helpful host who told us all the best places to check out. Rustic, beautifully done up rooms in a building with a ton of history. Great food - the lamb shank is to die for. And an adorable 5-month old cat that will keep you company all afternoon if you let it. Full marks!

Room Tip: They're all lovely - photos on the official website if you want to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had three rooms at the charming and definitely quirky Old Lock-Up for a weekend break. Super warm welcome and friendly service - nothing is too much trouble for Tim. There are so many interesting things at the Old Lock Up you could spend half your holiday exploring indoors! Great menu selection for breakfast.

For dinner locally the French restaurant is a must (sorry, can't remember the name) - Tim will be happy to point you in the right direction. Chatsworth House is worth seeing - we saw some amazing contemporary art exhibits in the gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just spent two nights in this lovely quirky B&B in the small market town of Wirksworth. We stayed in the Magistrate's Room which was very well appointed, clean and comfortable, with a small ensuite shower room. Breakfast was beautifully cooked by Tim, the host, who was friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our stay at the Old Lock-Up was very pleasant. Tim is a welcoming host and The Coachman's Room was clean and cosy. There was a box of (homemade?) truffles on our bed when we arrived which were simply sublime – the best I’ve ever eaten! Tim also makes an excellent cooked breakfast – good quality ingredients and not at all greasy. After tasting that we wished we’d eaten dinner there the night before. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would gladly return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights at this Guest House staying in the "Hayloft" room. Everything was well presented and to a high standard. The furniture was a little dated and the en-suite was rather small but having said that, the overall stay was a very pleasant one. The breakfasts were excellent and our host couldn't do enough to help. It was very reasonably priced. I would recommend this if you wanted to spend a few days exploring the Dales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a superbly relaxed stay in this little hotel. The very comfortable bed and attention to detail were appreciated after a few days camping. The food was truly brilliant - You must have at least one evening meal there - I loved the zingy seafood cocktail and perfectly pan-fried sea bass and the pavlova roulade was criminally delicious.
The quirky character of the building adds extra charm; bars on the door, great thick walls and a higgledy-piggledy layout make it feel like a little adventure just being there.
We had fun trying out the double-bath jacuzzi, which relaxed us even more and in the evening our host, Tim, was happy for us delve into his extensive record collection which took us back to our youth and made the whole experience extra special.
The town of Wirksworth was a revelation - crammed with cute antique shops, friendly bars and gorgeous buildings. We didn't explore all of it but apparently you can lose yourself there happily for the best part of a day.
I really can't recommend this place highly enough. And you really MUST have an evening meal there. Yum!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lockup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.