We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Lockup to your Saves list
The Old Lockup
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A truly memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

From the moment we first made contact until our departure the level of service provided by Tim was nothing short of outstanding. The attention to detail was superb and all from a man who single handedly does everything! The chocolates on the pillow were the icing on the cake. Anyone wishing a relaxing break with great food and service look no further.
Tony and Jayne, Staffs

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    38
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
133
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went with my 6yr old son, hoping to see the ghost...! Well that was part of it, we were going to Gullivers World the following day which is 10 min drive. Tim was pleasant and couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in the coach house which is a pleasant annexe over looking the graveyard...which my son thought would be the best place to see ghosts...We didnt capture any ghosts, but the room was lovely and clean and the little quirks like box of chocolates and cookies was nice. The ensuite was a bit tight but I am over 6' so suitable for average sizes! Lovely breakfast and a totally enjoyable night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'll confess that given a choice between a big corporate hotel and a boutique hotel or B&B, I'm unequivocally with the former. I like the anonymity of the 1000-room type place, and nothing fills me with horror more than comments like "Doris and Jim make you feel completely at home, and they're happy to share the family photographs while they cook a home-made pie."

However, Wirksworth doesn't have a Marriott or Hilton - so I booked the Old Lockup without high expectations and with the worry that the Tim mentioned in the reviews might be one of those intrusive hosts.

In fact, he - and the whole place - are a complete delight. The room I had was beautifully clean and well-appointed - with a jar of chocolate chip cookies and a bowl of fresh fruit. I'd have happily stayed there for some days as opposed to the fleeting overnight visit because The Old Lockup has real character and charm.

Breakfast showed the place at its best: really one of the nicest I've had anywhere, with a particular commendation for the home-made bread that produces delicious toast. Tim handles it all on his own with great skill, and is there when needed - but equally content to let you find your own way if that suits you best.

So I couldn't recommend this more highly as a place to stay in Wirksworth and as a Derbyshire base. Tim deserves every success with his enterprise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booked here after a recommendation for one night on our way to the Peak District. Both building and proprietor were welcoming after a long drive from london with Tim giving us great tips on the local area including a much appreciated overview of the nearby pubs.

We stayed in the solicitor's room which was comfortable and quiet enabling us to sleep off the drive and the local brew. Come morning we ventured downstairs for a fabulous breakfast which did include the already referred to poached egg which set us up nicely for a day's trekking.

Many thanks Tim and see you soon.

Andy & Nikki

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked this two-night break on the morning of departure and were happy with this last minute choice. As everyone says Tim is a very nice fellow who makes you welcome as soon as you arrive with a cuppa and slice of cake and after that he makes himself available as much or as little as you prefer. We were the only residents so it certainly felt like a personal service! The breakfasts were really nice and Tim makes a wicked poached egg. Location could not be better for driving around the district. We ate at the local French restaurant on the first night which was good value, but on the second night went to the Black Swan in Belper which was fabulous; gourmet cooking at pub food prices.
This B&B deserves to be a money-spinner for the effort put into it and I hope for Tim that the weather improves soon.

Room Tip: We had the Magistrates room and thought it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My mum and I stayed at the Old Lock Up for one night and were very grateful that Tim managed to fit us in last minute. After our drive from London we were glad to be greeted with tea and homemade cake and then shown our lovely room. We had dinner at a local French restaurant and had a very comfortable night stay. Breakfast was lovely definitely set us up for the day- authentic wallpaper :). Tim gave us great advice on places to explore, and some key info about Sundays being a biker meet up day.... Definitely was. We were sorry to leave the old lock up. Will definitely come again. Thanks for a great time in Matlock, and for the text after we had left!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Old Lock Up for a long weekend and didn't want to leave. From Tim's warm welcome with a much needed cuppa on arrival to the comfy bed and fantastic breakfast we couldn't recommend this delightful guest-house highly enough, it was the perfect base to explore the area. The accommodation was clean and well kept but retained it's individual character and charm. If you're looking for something a little different from the usual then this is the place for you. Tim is a wonderful, thoughtful host who couldn't do enough to help make our stay as comfortable as possible. It was so good we booked a return trip as we checked out!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lockup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.