We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lockup

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Lockup to your Saves list
The Old Lockup
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Celebrated our anniversary weekend in comfort and style in the Magistrate's room. Quirky and characterful place and nothing was too much trouble for the owner, Tim who cooks wonderful breakfasts and allowed us to pick our own menu for dinner on the Saturday night, which was delicious. Lots to see and do in the area and we will definitely go again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    38
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
133
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent the weekend here as a couple just having some time out. Found the room nice and comfortable, bed was excellent and the room (ours was on the back) very quiet and good curtains to block out the light at night - we slept very well.

Its a nice B and B, the place is interesting and we felt very welcome by Tim the owner. It was the right balance i'd say of being in a homely atmosphere without feeling you were in someones home intruding. Tim offered us tea on arrival, theres a nice lounge and breakfast was excellent.

There are two good places to eat in the Village as well as another pub that did food but wasn't as good. There is a great little pub on the same road, but it doesn't do food. Oh and theres a fish and chip shop.

We went on the railway then a walk around the stone centre site and a good walk back down into the village. It was ideal for a nice relaxing weekend away with not too much to do!

Well located to travel further into the Peak District by car on our way home.

Thanks Tim

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a great place to stay - the room was lovely and very clean. The little touches in the room were very nice - fresh biscuits and fruit. The breakfast was hearty and will set you up for the day and we had evening meal our first night - all locally sourced and cooked fresh and was fabulous - the home made bread was great. Tim is a great host. Really nice place to stay especailly for walkers. Would recommend to anyone to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Allowed us to celebrate our anniversary weekend in an intimate, unusual setting with service that was attentive but not fussy. A very personal service, more than willing to be flexible with timings and advice for activites locally. Thrilled to be able to opt to 'eat in' on the night we arrived and b fed so well, a nice touch for a B&B. Thanks for the small boxed truffles on our arrival :-) Enjoyed exploring wirksworth town, in addition to the stunning local countryside.

Room Tip: Very pleased with 'The Solicitors Room'.which is in the mainhouse. You need to have cash to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugbrooke, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Brekkie was locally sourced and very tasty.
Our Room was very clean and tidy - the bed was very comfortable.
The property was originally the old town gaol and as such has a quirky look and feel which would suit anyone who is keen to avoid a homogenised environment whilst on their break. The Owner, Tim, is a great guy who’s happy to help with suggestions on where to go for a drink/food in the town and places to visit.
My Wife and I will definitely book with The Old Lock-Up again as Wirksworth is a handy base for the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed in the hayloft room. Very friendly. Tim was approachable and happy to help. Lovely stay and very yummy breakfast. Oozing character as this was previously the village lock up. Nice to be able to book a time for breakfast with plenty of choice. Fruit and chocolate biscuits in the room. Very comfortable bed

Room Tip: Pictures of all the rooms on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked this stay a year in advance to chill out for a couple of days after our wedding the day before. We wanted somewhere different & quaint and the old lock up is certainly that. The building is steeped in history and attempts to hold onto this which is very endearing. Tim the proprietor goes to great lengths to make you welcome and does not scrimp on anything. Fresh flowers in the room with some expensive biscuits. Lovely clean lush quilts and towels and the breakfast freshly cooked at your chosen time with obviously the best ingredients to hand. Tim is new to the business and works his socks off to make your stay a pleasant one but it's obvious he wants to do more as he encourages feedback for improvements but he is nearly there in our view anyway. The town is also a lovely quaint place for an overall relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lockup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.