We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Lockup

Save Saved
You added The Old Lockup to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Lockup
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Wirksworth B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Old Lock Up. Everything was as it said on the website and nothing was too much trouble for the hotelelier. Excellent stay. Would definately recommend this hotel. We would definately stay again :-)

Rachel and Matt
Manchester

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
108
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Exelent from start to finish! Very warm welcome! Food was wonderful, the spa bath is a must to try.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you want a B&B with a difference, this is a great place to stay. Ideal location for a weekend break in the Peak District. The place has lots of character and each room has a story to tell. Everyone at the Old Lock Up was very friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast is excellent too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I recently had a stay at the "old lock up" what a fantastic experience we stayed in the Magistrates room which was vey comfortable and like the whole house was full of character.tea coffee biscuits and fruit were all waiting for us in our room, the room was very clean and quiet. Nothing was too much touble and we were made very welcome. On arrival we were met with tea and cake and a welcoming chat, "nice touch" Melvyn & Jane Sheffield

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We wanted somewhere different to stay for my husband's birthday, so after looking at a site for unusual B & B's, we found the Old Lock Up and what a find that turned out to be! We were greeted very warmly by Tony who is an excellent host and a lovely, very interesting man. We met Vivienne later and as a couple you couldn't wish for better. Their sole focus is to ensure that their guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay.
We stayed for 2 nights and were in the Solicitors room, which was really charming and full of character, the bathroom has a vaulted ceiling as it was an old cell, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
There are generous tea/coffee etc facilities in the room as well as the most yummy biscuits too. As it was my husband's birthday, they had put a box of Thorntons chocolates and a big bowl of fruit in the room too which was a lovely gesture.
The breakfasts were delicious and an excellent choice, you complete your requirements on a sheet the night before and there are generous portions and continuous offers of more toast, coffee etc.
Tony & Vivienne recommended a couple of places to eat for each of our nights there, which was only about 4 mins walk away, so that was great as it enabled us to enjoy a nice meal and a drink too, without worrying about having to drive.
As we both like walking, we walked from Wirksworth to Carsington water, all around the reservoir and back again which was approx 12 miles and we were lucky to have good weather for March too.
On our return to the Old Lock Up we were offered use of the spa bath which is an amazing, theraputic bath, full of bubbles and we were given a glass of wine each to add to the experience, this was a fantastic way to soak our aching legs and have some fun adding to the whole experience.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would readily recommend this unusual, lovely place to everyone.
Thank you Tony & Vivienne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Everything was perfect at the Old Lock-Up, from the friendly reception to the excellent food. We couldn't have asked for better hosts and such a lovely, historical, interesting building. Additionally, the location is right in the middle of the gorgeous Peaks District, so there is great access to many beautiful outdoor activities. Perfect!

Room Tip: you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

5 star in every sense of the word the rooms ,are all very clean .the breakfast just fantastic. we just could not fault a thing wrong . many thanks for the stay.

Room Tip: all rooms first class .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Lockup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Lockup

Address: 46 North End, Wirksworth DE4 4FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Wirksworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wirksworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Lockup 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842 as the magistrate's house and later used as a police station The Old Lockup is now a quirky but luxurious guest house boasting four double bedrooms, all en-suite, and fantastic breakfasts. Set in the Derbyshire Dales on the edge of the Peak District National Park and just four miles from Carsington Water there really is something for everyone. Chatsworth House, the Tissington and High Peak trails and more walking than you can shake a stick at are all on the doorstep. Looking for an unusual place to spend that romantic break? Well maybe you just found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Lockup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Lockup Wirksworth, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Lockup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.