We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a friendly lot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecclesbourne Valley Railway

Ecclesbourne Valley Railway
Station Road | Coldwell Street, Wirksworth DE4 4FB, England
+44 1629 823076
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With its headquarters in the fine old Peak District market town of Wirksworth, the Ecclesboume Valley line, at nine miles, is Derbyshire's longest heritage railway. The line runs through some of the most pleasant scenery in the White Peak, from its joint station with the main line at Duffield to its northern terminus at Ravenstor, close to the High Peak Trail and the National Stone Centre. The line provides services mainly operated by heritage diesel railcars, with four trains a day on summer weekends and on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays in the high summer. The timetable is designed to connect with East Midlands Trains' services to and from Derby and Nottingham. Visitors may wish to take advantage of a 'zigzag choo choo' all Day Rover Ticket issued by the railway and Trent Barton providing an excellent opportunity for discount travel through the beautiful derbyshire countryside by bus and rail. Steam hauled services are also operated at peak periods, please call us to check what is running. If you would prefer to see the line from the Driver's cab or realise a childhood dream by taking the controls of one of our heritage steam or diesel locomotives then you can book that day to remember direct on our website. We offer a range of experiences to suit any occasion and budget.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a friendly lot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Took our four year old grandson on this heritage line and thoroughly enjoyed it all...except the weather!
Picked up the train at Duffield..plenty of car parking through the gate at end of road..and took our picnic with us to eat in Wirksworth. Make sure you make use of the toilet before travelling as there's not one on the train.
Very picturesque trip through Derbyshire is short enough for young ones not to get bored.
We had intended to spend a couple of hours in Wirksworth but,after a very cold picnic at the station, decided to make the best of it and return on the same train.
All in all we enjoyed the experience and intend to return when it's warmer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 'Dave B',

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our railway and the kind comments it contained. We are glad your grandson enjoyed himself and we look forward to welcoming you back when the weather is warmer.

Best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    45
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hucknall, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Xmas present”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We had this trip bought us as Xmas present took our 4 year old grandson with us he thought the steam train was fab you can see this is work in progress and the volunteers do a great job think it could be improved with perhaps picnic / play area not really too child friendly and would have been disappointed to have to pay full price

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 'Sheila H',

Thank you for submitting a review of our railway. We are glad you grandson had such a fabulous time. Our railway is a volunteer led organisation and its always pleasing to have their contributions acknowledged by reviewers. The line to Duffield has only been opened four years and we are implementing a range of projects which include new booking hall facilities at Wirksworth and Duffield Stations. Both our picnic areas prove very popular with the young and the not so young.

Once again we are glad you had such a good time and do hope you can visit again.

Tom Tait
Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absoultly superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

A great trip through 8.5 miles of Derbyshire countryside. The site is very neat and tidy not at all like some of the other "railway scrapyards". The people who are running the site are all very enthusiastic and helpful without giving the impression of being railway anarocks. The site will benefit from some better buildings when cash can be raised in the future.

All in all a pleasant trip through great countryside with nice people.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 'Alan R',

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our railway. We are now in the process of moving our booking hall and shop to new premises and our Association is helping to raise funds for a new booking office and waiting room at Duffield.

Our volunteers are very keen to be as helpful and welcoming as possible and its very encouraging when reviewers identify this quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Day trip on the train. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Lovely train ride with our children. We arrived at Wirksworth station and boarded the train. We thought that we would be spending a full day jumping on and off the train at different stations.
We decided to go to Duffield first and then work our way back to where we had parked our car. We arrived at Duffield and had a look what we could do. There is nothing to do at Duffield. We had to try and fill two hours before the train came back. Luckily the weather was fine.
We were told that the other stations didn't have anything there either.
If you want a ride on a train then this is great. If you want to use it to explore Derbyshire than its not for you. We were told there was a circus where children could learn circus tricks. We were very disappointed with this as it was just a few tubs containing toys.
I think this is an expensive day out for what it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 'Deliasimth1',

Thank you for your review of our railway. I will endeavour to deal with each point you raise.

The Ecclesbourne Valley is one of Derbyshire's unspoilt delights and we are glad you enjoyed your trip along it. The railway is a rural branch line and our website and brochure clearly identifies what facilities are available at each station. Our volunteers too are able to give visitors advice in this area.

Duffield is a thriving village with many shops, bars, restaurants and cafés to enjoy. The centre is less than 100 yards away from the station. Nearby pubs and restaurants that are worth a visit include the The Pattenmakers Arms, The Kings Head and The Bridge Inn.

Shottle is a request stop indicating it is not a busy area. Shottle Station is near to the village of Turnditch which hosts a number of public houses including The Tiger and The Cross Keys. Also within easy walking distance is The Railway Inn public house and restaurant who offer an excellent carvery.

Idridgehay is only a small village. There is a village shop and a shop selling farm necessities. Stop off and have a look around if you fancy breaking up your journey. For ramblers, Idridgehay is the perfect place to leave the train if you would like to walk to Wirksworth (around 3.5 miles). Many passengers use the scheduled station stops to take enjoy the picture postcard views before rejoining the same train. The on train staff are happy to offer advice on intended itineraries and how these may be scheduled around train timetable.

The family circus 'toys' available to children were Juggling, Spinning Plates, Clowning, Unicycling,
Diabolos, Stilt Walking,Hula hooping,Slacklining, Gymnastic ribbon, Kendama, Cigar boxes, Levistick, Jumping stilts. The toys that could be used safely with minimum supervision were kept in tubs but the rest were only available to children under the direct supervision of one of the circus team. This was also true of the fire dancing which took place in a roped off area and again only available to children if supervised by an adult.

All activities which included admission to the family circus area, model railway, easter egg hunt and engine shed tours were included in the price any of any travel ticket.

Tom Tait
Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Stopped off at Wirksworth by chance on way back from lincoln and discovered this lovely railway.. had a wonderful trip to duffield and back .All the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable the train and stations were clean and well kept ..

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Tait, Manager at Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 'Bryan A',

Thank you for submitting a review of your visit to our railway. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable time. I will personally pass on your comments relating to the tidiness of the stations to the respective Station Masters.

We sincerely hope you can re-visit us in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Tom Tait
Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ecclesbourne Valley Railway also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Ecclesbourne Valley Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecclesbourne Valley Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.