We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Shoulder of Mutton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Shoulder of Mutton
Save
You added Old Shoulder of Mutton to your Saves list
West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having read the majority of previous reviews I can only echo the positive comments made. The Old Shoulder of Mutton (and Steven & Julie) are well worthy of the accolades received.

It's a fantastic base from which to explore the area - and when the owners spend two hours helping you dig your car out of a snow drift you know you are onto a winner!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for writing your review of the Old Shoulder of Mutton, and a special thank you for making the extra effort to get here in the snow - we're glad it was worth it. There was certainly a lot of digging to do with 250mm of snow on the road - and even more on your car! We hope you get chance to return to see the area in all it's summer glory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
169
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been lucky enough to go to a number of top quality B&Bs but Steven and Julie have managed to trump them all! Our en suite bathroom was worthy of a five star hotel and all the rooms are furnished with style and taste. The delicious breakfasts were a perfect start to the day and the whole experience made us want to come back to this friendly and special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your most complimentary review. We do try to give a memorable stay to our guests and it is great to hear when we have succeeded in this. We do hope you get the opportunity to return to the Old Shoulder of Mutton - you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I just spent an anniversary weekend at the Old Shoulder of Mutton and loved it.The house is immaculate, tasteful and crammed full of history. Everything has been finished to the highest quality. The room was beautiful and had everything you could ask for from a B&B. Steven and Julie are very friendly and welcoming hosts who made us feel right at home from the moment we stepped over the doorstep. They provided us with driving routes that we would never have found by ourselves and these allowed us to explore the beautiful countryside on what was a pretty wet weekend. The breakfast was wonderful, everything fresh and cooked to perfection. One of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in - it sets the standard for others to follow!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The driving routes have been very popular and do take you to places that even GPS hasn't heard of! I'm glad that you tried my new route - the Peak District Grand Prix circuit - it's a recent discovery from 1955. We hope that you get the chance to come back to the Old Shoulder of Mutton. I'll try to get a few more routes done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, two nights in a beautifully appointed room. The breakfasts were a wonderful selection of hearty and healthy options to suit all tastes. Steve and Julie are wonderful hosts and the information booklet they have put together was invaluable. The price reflects the quality of the product. Well done, and we will be spreading the word........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The information booklet has been useful to guests who are usually here for only a short time. The booklet does the sifting of the best from the rest to ensure you have the best places to eat and time to consider what to do and where to go whilst you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Old Shoulder of Mutton for a weekend at the start of March and can only testify to all of the previous comments. When it comes to providing B&B for the discerning guest, Julie and Steven are getting it absolutely right. For a start they've got a wonderful property. Our room was fantastic - huge bed, good shower, spotlessly clean, lovely toiletries, super bathrobes. The tea and cake on arrival makes it feel as though you are visiting friends rather than somewhere anonymous. The breakfast is fantastic. We wanted to go walking and Steven provided us with the detail for a day walk which was fantastic and with a pub almost exactly half way around (with good beer and ridiculously cheap food). Winster is a very old and very unspoiled village. We had dinner at The Old Bowling Green, a couple of minutes from the B&B, and it was great. It's super-friendly and traditional rather than gastro but given where it is that seemed entirely appropriate. We are looking for an excuse to visit the Old Shoulder of Mutton again and sooner rather than later. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We just love this job! Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Steve and Julie are fantastic hosts and their accommodation is clean, luxurious and to top it off, the breakfast is delicious. This B&B is highly recommended and rightfully so! Winster is a picturesque village with everything you would need for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It really does help to receive up to date reviews - especially when you've had a great time. So glad you enjoyed your visit - you are most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Special reunion occasion in the Peak District and the choice of the Old Shoulder of Mutton in Winster I don't think could be bettered, starting with the welcome from Julie and Steve on a cold dark and snowy early evening into their warm, inviting and beautiful home. We were then shown to a spacious en suite bedroom with every possible extra including fluffy white dressing gowns and there was even a hot water bottle available but even on such a cold wintry January night that wasn't needed at all.
Breakfast the next morning was as good as we had ever eaten - don't miss out on the locally sourced ingredients especially the black pudding.
Can't wait for the summer to go back to the Peak District with only one place to stay - The Old Shoulder of Mutton Winster!
Neal and Dena - Bretby

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven W, Owner at Old Shoulder of Mutton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was good to have you all here. You were clearly having a great time together in the guest lounge - a good place to start the evening - followed by dinner at the nearby Old Bowling Green. We hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shoulder of Mutton

Address: West Bank | Winster, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Shoulder of Mutton has been refurbished to provide contemporary bed and breakfast accommodation. Located in the Peak District National Park in the picturesque village of Winster, Derbyshire, it is ideally located for trips to Chatsworth Park, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Buxton and fabulous walks in the National Park. There are two pubs in walking distance that provide excellent food. Closed as a pub in 1916, it provides luxury accommodation in this 17th-century inn. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Shoulder of Mutton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.