We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brae Cottage

Brae Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Cottage
Save
You added Brae Cottage to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   East Bank, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Winster B&B and Inns
North Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is a gem of a B&B. It has two lovely rooms, one quite spacious, and one a bit smaller, but both really cosy, with fluffy duvets, mineral water, a good plate of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, etc (and even a bottle-opener). There's parking right outside the rooms, and a great camra pub opposite, which sells delicious meals and good beer.

The rooms are very quiet, and because there's no wifi, 3G and only very limited mobile phone coverage, you can really get away from it all for the weekend. There are also lots of really good walks which start at Winster (we'd especially recommmend walking over the fields to Stanton-in-Peak and Haddon Hall, or the other way over towards Bonsall).

However, the real star of the show is Jane herself. She's welcoming without being in-your-face, and she does the most amazing, delicious and generous breakfasts. We guarantee that you'll end up buying some of her marmalade to take home with you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We only booked this an hour before arriving after looking for accommodation in the area. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for Jane especially the breakfasts which were a delight! The room was beautiful and secluded as it was not part of the main house. We would definitely stay here again and recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

From the second we stepped foot on the property, I was swept away with every detail. The room was charming, the grounds were beautiful, and the breakfast was incredible! Jane completely goes above and beyond to ensure her guests are well taken care of.... we especially loved the fresh baked bread! I would absolutely stay here again - can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had a Brilliant stay at Brae cottage.There are only 2 rooms which are situated in a annexe next to the cottage in a lovely garden.The rooms are great with all minor details thought of! Breakfast was fresh with various different choices and also fresh fruit and yoghurt.Jane and Graham were perfect hosts and supplied local maps and details of walks etc.

Winster itself is beautiful and you have several walks right on your doorstep.There are two pubs, the bowling green and the miners standard.Both were good, the miners standard had the more varied menu and was cheaper than the bowling green where most main courses were £10 or more.

Enjoy it if you go!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We came across brae cottage after visiting the beautiful village of winster a few years ago! The village itself is steeped in history as was a old lead mining town and is still in keeping with how it used to be years ago! Brae cottage has two self contained bedrooms that are used for bed and breakfast that is seperate from from the cottage! we have stayed many times at brae cottage and have used both rooms which have both been appointed to a very high standard, including little extras that you wouldnt normally get at any other b&b! The candle lit breakfast is served in the cottage dining room and trust me its the best breakfast you will ever eat which is cooked on the aga, jane even makes her own bread and marmalade and the table is set out beautiful with a bowl of fresh fruit including strawberries peaches grapes etc! There is a village pub that serves evening meals a minute walk from the cottage! Winster is only a short drive away from bakewell, matlock and matlock bath! jane will make you feel vey welcome in her home and goes out of her way to make sure your well looked after, cant wait to visit again and many of our family and friends have stayed and love the place as much as we do!

  • Liked — Everything, cleaniless, food, stunning location, very friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brae Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Cottage

Address: East Bank, Winster, Peak District National Park DE4 2DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Winster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winster
Hotel Class:4 star — Brae Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Brae Cottage Hotel Winster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brae Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.