We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper pub with a really friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse and Jockey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Horse and Jockey to your Saves list
Horse and Jockey
Queens Street | Buxton, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Tideswell B&B and Inns
shipley derbyshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A proper pub with a really friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to stay here after enjoying food and drink last New Year.The rooms are good and well appointed.Comfortable bed and very clean.
The pub food is very good .Excellent value and very tasty.We returned for Sunday Lunch which was well worth the journey.This is not gourmet food but good honest pub fayre.So many places serve bought in dishes and this is so refreshing .Like it used to be.
The real attraction of this hostelry is the super beer and the lively clientele.Open fires and plenty of locals enjoying an evening together.
A good team of staff make your stay even more enjoyable.
Tideswell is such a good centre to enjoy the Peak.Chatsworth close and lovely walks along the old railway lines .
We will be back .

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

A small and friendly pub serving a varietyof ales, food and staff working hard to please everyone. couldnt complain, apart from if anything, it was too hot! the rooms were great for what we paid with a lovely full english for breakfast. this place is ideally situated in Tideswell and great for a few nice walks in the country.

Room Tip: make sure you control the heating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

There is much that is good about this pub. Firstly it is dog friendly, a fact that we appreciated, although non dog lovers might not. The staff appeared to be friendly although I found the lady who seemed to be the landlady rather brusque although very kind to the dog. I felt that I spent a lot of time standing around hoping that someone would notice that I needed attention. Felt almost apologetic when I had to ask for help. I was also shocked to find the opening gambit on arrival was to ask me to pay. Social niceties had disappeared. I can imagine that there is always a fear that some people will abscond without paying but there are ways of leading up to it! Communication was poor. I don't know if wifi was available because frankly, it felt like too much hard work to ask.
The room was clean and pretty albeit small. We struggled to deal with our suitcases because there was nowhere to put them. The bathroom was clean although the plumbing fittings needed a little attention. We may have been allocated that room because we had our small dog with us. Very generous supply of tea and coffee. Extremely good breakfast. In all, I would say that this is not a bad venue for families with dogs. The restaurant side, however, I'll cover in a separate review.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tideswellderbyshire1, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
sorry you had to wait a long time for your meal that night we was really busy as me the landlady was cooking i'm sorry they were some confusion with my bar staff I will have a word with her so it never happens again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I stayed with my 2 children after a wedding 2 weeks ago. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating with my request to book in early and book out late. The room wasn't luxury but it was comfortable and had everything we needed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was fantastic, very tasty and filling. The village is charming and a good base for walking in the great Derbyshire country side. We didn't use the pub but judging by the staff I would say it would be a warm and welcoming place for a meal and drink. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed here two weeks ago. Our room was shocking No.4, couldn't stand up in it without banging your head. Carpets filthy, no hanging space, no heating, couldn't shut the sky light. Bathmats placed on the carpet presumably to hide the filth, nearly slipped down the stairs because of these. Food terrible, had fish that looked as though it had been reheated. Couldn't get a knife through the bacon at breakfast. Tried to speak to the owner/ manager, surprisingly unavailable, also seems to be unavailable to answer our letter of complaint. We couldn't stay a night longer and cut short our stay. Avoid this place!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tideswellderbyshire1, Manager at Horse and Jockey, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the horse and jockey all your friends stayed 2 nights and they all in enjoyed it I wish you would've have said something instead of writing nasty things on trip advisor which are not true and slanderous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our two dogs (pug and young whippet pup) to Tideswell in a last minute relaxig break away and we weren't disappointed.

It was the first time we had taken our dogs away with us and we were a bit apprehensive. However, we were made to feel right at home with them, and we're even invited to bring hem down to the restaurant to sit by us while we ate breakfast.

Breakfast was included in our booking and it was absolutely beautiful. We both had a Full English and it really set us up for the day. Unfortunately we missed breakfast the last day as one of our dogs had injured his knee so we had to get off sharpish to catch the vet on Saturday morning - we were genuinely gutted to miss out!

The staff are very friendly as are all of the locals. We had a lovely day out in Buxton (which was only about 20mins away in the car) and returned to the Horse & Jockey for wind down drinks, both dogs were welcomed by the staff and even allowed us to bring down our pup's comfy blanket to put on the floor for him. The barmaid made a fuss of both dogs and even brought them treats which we thought was a really thoughtful touch.

We had the deluxe double room for two nights and it really was immaculate. Very cosy yet big enough to spend some time in their with our dogs to wind down and watch TV on a night time.

There was a really handy exit down to a terrace and stairs down the side of the building which was ideal for us walking our dogs early morning and late at night without disturbing the rest of the pub.

The village itself for those who haven't been is truly idyllic yet well served with various dog friendly pubs, chip shops, fruit and veg shop, post office and co-op.

All in all an extremely enjoyable stay, will definitely be recommending it to friends and hopefully staying there again soon.

Huge thanks to all staff and friendly locals who made our stay so pleasurable.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

the staff were very welcoming, the selection of beer was deemed acceptable by the husband, the sausages served for breakfast were disappointing but the whole experience was spoilt by the plastic sheet on the bed which made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. Every time either of us turned over we heard the crinkle of the plastic so we had a very fitful sleep.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey

Address: Queens Street | Buxton, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Horse and Jockey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Jockey Hotel Tideswell
Horse And Jockey Tideswell, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse and Jockey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.