We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mermanbarn

Mermanbarn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tideswell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mermanbarn
Save
You added Mermanbarn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Tideswell B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic and wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. The room and facilities were great. Very comfortable and spotless. It's a great location in the village but not too far from anything. The breakfast was great just a shame I couldn't eat more of it! Overall a fabulous time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
93
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the "perfect" B & B excellent in every way. Linda and Andrew are perfect hosts. The room was spotless clean fluffy white towels, tea tray with coffee, tea, superb biscuits and chocolates EVERY day. Wonderful location, the breakfasts were so fresh and cooked to perfection. Our favourite places to eat in the evening were
Ashford Arms in Ashford in the Water and the Bulls Head in Foolaw best to book a table. We stayed for one week walking in the area great walks the Monsal Trail is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I must be honest and say that I booked Merman Barn for myself and my wife mainly on the strength of the comments on here. We were not disappointed. The barn is beautiful. Linda, the owner, was extremely welcoming into her home and very attentive throughout our stay. The location is perfect. A short walk into the village and ideally located for as much walking as you want. Very quiet at night and surrounded by lovely properties. Plenty of off road secluded parking. The rooms are very well decorated and with some nice luxury touches that you would get in high end hotels. The breakfast was amazing and there is a great choice. If you want to stay in Tideswell, then look no further, book this. You won't be disappointed. One small tip-pay the extra £10 per night and book the super king size room. Well worth the extra.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the super king size room. You will never see a bigger bed and the extra room made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently completed the new 'White to Dark' Peak District trail and needed somewhere to stay after the first leg of the walk which finishes in Tideswell. After consulting Tripadvisor, and reading all the glowing reviews for 'Mermanbarn' (as well as seeing the beautiful photos of the barn on the owners' website) our choice was made easy and we decided to book-in for the one night. After our stay we only wished it could have been for longer!
We can only reiterate what all the other reviewers have said - the B & B is superb. It's clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated, in a nice quiet location but only a short walk away from the village centre for a nice tasty pub meal to finish the day ( Linda recommended the 'Horse and Jockey' and she was right ).
Linda and Andrew were really welcoming and friendly without being overbearing. The separate guest-lounge is great, it's just like being at home, it's so comfy and relaxing.
Like everything else in 'Mermanbarn' the breakfast was excellent - tasty, plentiful, beautifully cooked and presented.
As well as all the previous things mentioned, what sets this B & B apart from the rest is the attention to detail - from little things like mints in the room to go with your coffee, to a torch for your walk into the village and bottles of water and milk in the mini-fridge. Not to mention a pot of real coffee and shortbread biscuits when you first arrive. By the way, we noticed one reviewer mentioned the fridge was noisy of a night, we just turned it off at the wall socket before we went to bed, then turned it back on again in the morning - simple really!
In summary, if we were ever to open a B & B, this is exactly how we would like it to be. Linda and Andrew deserve every success for the future - I just hope we can get in the next time we try and book!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

When you find a superb place to stay, advertising the fact can work against you as next time we want to stay the B & B will be full. Merman Barn B & B is in a fantastic location, easy access to the village & its amenities, quiet at night, good off road parking, exceptionally comfortable & immaculate throughout. The bedroom was roomy with a walk in wardrobe, a larger than average shower, comfortable bed, & good views across the fields. Breakfast was excellent, fruit and/or yoghurt, cereals, full English or many variations including smoked salmon & scrambled eggs all beautifully prepared, toast to finish with home made jams & marmalade. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay and hope to return in the future. Linda made us most welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, there is an extra large room with a super king bed, a large double room & a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this cosy B&B. Linda is lovely and cooked us one of the best breakfasts we've ever had! Just wish we had more time to stay longer! Would love to come back in the winter as the lounge would be amazing at that time of year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

An exceptionally clean well presented Bed and Breakfast with lots of nice luxury touches. The property is in a great area with lovely walks, so much to see and so little time. The super kingside bed was fantastic and the breakfast was wonderful. The hosts were lovely and very attentive. We will definitely go back there

Room Tip: The super king size is wort the little extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mermanbarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermanbarn

Address: Alma Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Tideswell
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tideswell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mermanbarn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A high quality B&B in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mermanbarn Tideswell, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermanbarn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.