We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hostel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA National Forest

YHA National Forest
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added YHA National Forest to your Saves list
YHA National Forest
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   48 Bath Lane | Moira, Swadlincote DE12 6BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Modern hostel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed overnight on a journey, and didn't get to enjoy the walks in the area, which looked great. Our room was tiny and a bit claustrophobic, because the double bed had a bunk over the top. The mattress was also a bit hard, and there was no shelf in the little ensuite shower room, so nowhere to put toiletries. We had remembered to take our own towels, but other hostels we've stayed at provide towels in the private rooms. It was great to arrive late and get a drink at the bar, and in the morning to help ourselves to a solid breakfast from a buffet groaning with food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your great review.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first experience of a modern YHA and we hated it the self catering kitchen was dirty and too small for the size of the youth hostel we had to ask for cups because there was none in the kitchen there was only 2 tea towels in the kitchen they werent changed at all while we were there we were there for 2 nights. We were woken at 8am by very loud music and men shouting instructions which we found out was a fitness bootcamp we were not informed that this was going to be taking place and when we complained about it we were just dismissed all in all we will never be using this youth hostel and we feel the ethos of YHA is completely lost on this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
HI Guys,

I am so sorry you had a bad experience when you stayed with us last September. Unfortunately we were very short staffed and you were staying with the Brothers Bootcamp group. This is not an excuse for the service you experienced but I hope it helps you to understand this is not how we normally operate.

We have learned a lot of hard lessons since then and we have feed back your complaints to the boot camp group and want you to know we took your comments very seriously.

We now cater for the Bootcamp group which means they are out of the self catering kitchen and we make our self catering kitchen a priority when it comes to cleaning and making sure enough cups ect are in the kitchen at all times.

I know you probably wont visit us again but we are a different hostel and we have a great team. If you did decide to come and see us again I could offer you a free over night stay for a family of 4.

Sorry once again,

Andy Partridge,
Hostel Manager
YHA National Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Basic but clean, friendly and modern, we stayed in a private ensuite room for just £30 to attend a friend's party nearby.

Bit annoying not having any toiletries/towels but the bed was fine and the hostel had everything else we needed for our short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Sarah

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay in a youth hostel for over 30 years, and the first ever with our kids. Youth hostelling has changed in the intervening years for the better: family rooms, accessing facilities all day and serving beer on an evening. The cost is slightly high but given the location and facilities, the value for money is excellent. We intend to visit more as a family in the future.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We stayed here last week for one night. We felt thoroughly welcome by the staff and the whole place is spotlessly clean.

My only complaint with this place was the prices. We paid £41 for a en-suite room for two which didn't include breakfast. This was £4.50 each extra.

We could have stayed at a B & B down the road for the same price and I thought the whole purpose of staying at a hostel was to take advantage of cheaper accommodation?

If you're not a member of YHA, each person has to pay a membership fee of £3 per night too.

Internet was £1 for 20 minutes - not exactly the best rates and this was extremely slow.

We did love the breakfast - the staff are great and made this experience despite the few areas that could be improved.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed in an en suite family room:2 adults, 2 adolescents and one baby. The service we family, attentive and genuine. The rooms basic, but as it's recently built still has the freshness about it. The communal kitchen was adequate, the fridge clean and organized, with 2 kitchen units. The buffet breakfast ok, though tea and coffee a disappointment, though latte over the bar pleasant. The evening dinners pleasing: it's not haute cuisine, but a welcome sight after a day out, and a nice veggie option. Evening dinner was particuarly excellent value, given the kids ate free. Kids can run riot outside, and there's an indoor games room with wii. Could do with more toys for younger children. The place attracted a variety of guests; a hen night (not too rowdy!), forgeign visitors, older couples and families, which was super. One gripe is that the bedroom doors bang due to the heaviness and the fire door closer, and if your a light sleeper, or your baby is, Youre not going to get a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed here for three nights to break up a trip to the South of the Uk, as it makes a good base for Twycross Zoo, somewhere we wanted to take our kids.
It's a good location for a stopover as it's close to the motorway, and near lots of theme park type attractions. The local area is not the most beautiful part of the uk, but there is quite a lot to do nearby with young children, including the Conkers theme park which is just next door.
The place is very new, and spotlessly clean. Beds were very comfortable and all rooms en suite, with limitless hot water for showers.
There is large lounge and dining area, plus well equipped self catering kitchen. The hostel has a cafe and bar open until 11pm, and serve bistro type meals in the evening.
Our experience of the food there was very mixed. The breakfast was excellent, and good value. As were the packed lunches they provide. The first night we were there we were served a buffet evening meal as they had a large party in, and this was also very good quality. However, when served bistro service the following evening we had to complain about the food as it was so bad. It seemed as if (very friendly) staff had been charged with reheating and deep frying, and as a result the quality was really poor. We didn't eat there the following evening but had we planned to would have checked to see if it was the chef's night off or not!
Facilities for travelling with young children are adequate, with a wii, and some toys and games provided. However, the games room could have been much better equipped and provision of some more outdoor toys for children would have been very welcome and would have encouraged kids to mix more - one of the benefits of youth hostelling.
I would definitely stay here again if in the area as it's much better than a hotel or b&b when travelling with young children. A few minor improvements, and it would be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat F, Front Office Manager at YHA National Forest, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Sarah
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA National Forest

Address: 48 Bath Lane | Moira, Swadlincote DE12 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Swadlincote
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Swadlincote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA National Forest 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA National Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.