We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosliston Forestry Centre

Rosliston Forestry Centre
Burton Road | Rosliston, Swadlincote DE12 8JX, England
01283 563483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 attractions in Swadlincote
Type: Forests, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Great place for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a great day out at Rosliston with friends. They have a great walking track, excellent playground and a nice area for picnics. The cafe is not so good so take a packed lunch. Mediocre coffee, average cakes at a hefty price. Otherwise a lovely day out!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great inexpensive day out with good play facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have yearly parking pass which cost me around £20. I go a few times per month with my little boy. He rides his balance bike, he plays on the great quality playground and has fun!
The hub cafe is fabulous and does substantial portions for both children and adults. In winter they have a lovely log fire.......but you'll be hard pressed to get a space as it's usually full of cyclists!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab family day out. Playground, walks, birds of prey, good cafe, events :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Live nearby and visit often. Kids love it .. Varying length walks, fab play area, birds of prey, sensory garden, crazy golf and lots of events from archery to bug hunts, to Santa fun runs at xmas. Wheelchair friendly and only place I know within miles where I can change my disabled daughter that's not on a pull down baby change! - really geared up for disabled visitors. The cafe has nice outdoor area with view for miles and in the winter the wood burner turns the cafe into a cosy haven for delicious food and drink. There are log cabins for shortbreak hire but not tried these .. Yet! Whenever tire of the place :-))

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Great place for a day out!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a lovely place for a family day out!. We had a couple hours there with family and our two year old Granddaughter "she loved it"! playing in the sandpit , soft play area, and just being able to runaround !.Plenty of picnic tables with out being on top of each other, we had a lovely spot for our picnic!. There is a very nice cafe if you do not want to take a picnic with you . We did not get to go on any of the walks but we will return and explore all there is to offer! "It is really worth visit"!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife bought me a "Falconry Experience" for Christmas and I thought I hads better use it before it expired in August. Did not have a clue where we were coming to so had low expectations of a quick display and back home for lunch. I was so wrong. We had over three hours with the birds - meeting five up close and personal including the Golden Eagle. (must go to the Gym - this bird weighs 12 lbs on the end of your arm.) Excellent team gave us so much background information and real opportunity to ask questions. They were brilliant with all ages. Added bonus of discovering the centre, had some breakfast (reasonable prices) and went for a walk around one of the trails after a picnic - glad we took walking boots for muddy bits. Did not go home until late afternoon. Car Park was £2.50 for day, Bacon Sarnie and a drink under a fiver. Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosliston Forestry Centre also viewed

Brailsford, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Matlock Bath, Derbyshire
 

Been to Rosliston Forestry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosliston Forestry Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rosliston Forestry Centre to your Saves list