We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldfields Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snelston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oldfields Farm
Save
You added Oldfields Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sides Lane, Snelston, Ashbourne DE6 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Middleton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“July 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Gorsey Hayes - a beautiful homely cottage in wonderful surroundings where we were made very welcome by Vaughan and Dianne. The cottage was perfect for our family group aged 10 to 82! The downstairs bedroom and bathroom ideal for the older members and the extensive grounds /play equipment/table tennis room and gym for everyone else! The little touches from Dianne and Vaughan were lovely too ( flowers and a birthday card for mum as well as the delicious scones and jam with cream !)
I would definitely recommend this property to anyone and would love to return one day too!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We are pleased to hear that your whole family enjoyed their stay in Gorsey Hayes and that you were able to make such good use of our facilities. We strive to make our accommodation attractive for all ages and its good to hear that our guests appreciate our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I cannot praise highly enough our stay in Handel's Muse. Everything in the property was exceptional, from the character of the place to the cleanliness, the whole experience was a delight. A small gym is available for guest use, and the pretty patio garden outside the bedroom window was so peaceful and relaxing.The surrounding countryside was beautiful, and meals at the local pub in the village reasonably priced and well cooked, with friendly staff.
My partner at the end of our holiday fell ill and ended up in Derby hospital, and Diane and Vaughan, the owners, were more than kind letting us have extra time in the cottage at no extra charge, and even collected me from Derby hospital.
Certainly we would visit again, and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
It is one not to miss!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of your stay with us. We're glad you found your stay so peaceful and you were able to relax in the patio garden with everything in bloom and enjoying some decent summer weather. We're pleased you were able to explore the lovely surroundings and it was very unfortunate your partner was taken ill at the end of your stay. We were only to pleased to be able to help you in your time of need and we wish him a full and speedy recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What an amazing little gem of a getaway break at Handels Muse......
Beautiful warm welcome from Diane...
In side is breathtaking with all the original beams/features and amazing romantic little extras.....
Furnished to an extremely high standard Handels Muse goes further than your expectations......
Days out spent at Carsington water, Doverdale, Irlam and Buxton with romantic evenings spent ' back home'....In your own peaceful secret garden for 2.....
We will definitely be back....can't wait.......

Thank you.
Paul & Tracy. ♡

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay at Handel's Muse. We're glad you found the standard of accommodation exceeded your expectations and that you had such a nice time exploring the great surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

A large group of us hired Gorsey Hayes and Handels Muse for a pre-Easter break. We had chosen Gorsey Hayes as one of our party is partially disabled and Gorsey Hayes has a downstairs double room with en-suite shower room. All the facilities were excellent - the kitchen was the best equipped self-catering kitchen I have ever stayed in. The decoration, carpets and linen etc., are all sumptuous. We made good use of the hot tub and outdoor games, but regretfully did not have time to use the gym or table tennis. The gardens are very pleasant and it is a lovely area to visit. The owners were very helpful, friendly and accommodating without being intrusive. We would certainly wish to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive review about your stay with us. We were pleased we were able to accommodate your large party, and in particular your partially disabled gentleman. We were glad you were able to make such good use of the hot-tub and that you appreciated all the facilities we have on offer. We aim to continue to improve the grounds so hopefully you will find the place even more enjoyable should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We came across Handels Muse by chance, and was very impressed in what we found. We were looking for a tranquil retreat away and this place is perfect. Tucked away in the derbyshire countryside but not too far away from the local village. The owners Vaughan and Diane were very friendly and the cottage was equipped with everything we needed for an enjoyable weekend, With added extras of scones, cream and jam and tea, milk etc, went down a treat after a long drive. Also the hot tub was lovely, one of best we have used.
All in all a lovely weekend and will be recommending to everyone we know.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay in Handel's Muse. We are very pleased you enjoyed your long weekend in the lovely surroundings we are lucky to have at Oldfields Farm. We are glad you were able to make use of the hot-tub and really appreciate you recommending us to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Thank you Vaughan and Diane, for an absolutely unforgettable weekend! I booked a stay at Oldfields Farm as a surprise for my partner's 30th, whose family lived close by in Derby. Having explained my plans for the weekend with Vaughan, he was extremely flexible in helping us find the right solution and space for our needs.

At every step of the way the customer service was fantastic: when I asked if they could recommend a good restaurant closeby, they booked it for us (and the food was fantastic) - Vaughan even kindly offered to drive us there and back so we could have a birthday drink with our meal! They were extremely kind to allow us to have some family round on the Saturday evening for dinner as a surprise, and they helped with the surprise along the way, even putting a wee bottle of champagne and birthday card for our arrival along with the usual (and delicious) homemade scones. There was coffee, tea, sugar - and all the basics you might have forgotten on a short stay - and when I realised I'd left my scarf there they posted it back to me the next day.

The cottage itself and its surroundings were absolutely beautiful and finished to a very high standard - the pictures are great but still don't manage to do it justice! The surrounding countryside was gorgeous and yet the farm is still easy to get to and close to Ashbourne.

The best bit for me was that all of this great customer service and location was balanced with a high level of discreetness from Vaughan and Diane - whilst always willing to help, they left us to enjoy the apartment in peace throughout the weekend and it really felt like a hidden luxurious getaway for 2.

Fantastic! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your very positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make your celebration memorable. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Five of us spent a week over Christmas in Gorsey Hayes. A beautiful location and a gem of a cottage. Vaughan and Diane were very hospitable and thoughtful, with mince pies, cream, wine and other goodies on our arrival, and the cottage felt lovely and festive with a tree and lots of little christmassey touches. As others have said, the pictures don't really do it justice, the finishings throughout the cottage are excellent and the kitchen is really well equipped. There are lovely walks right from the door and the hills and valleys at the start of the Peaks are just a few minutes drive away. We had a wonderful time and hope to return. I've stayed in lots of cottages throughout the Peak District and this is definitely up there with the best of them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan C, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for the positive review of your time with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay over the festive period and the Christmas touches we provided. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldfields Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields Farm

Address: Sides Lane, Snelston, Ashbourne DE6 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Snelston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Snelston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet River Dove valley, south of the pretty town of Ashbourne is Oldfields Farm Guesthouse incorporating 2 barns for self-catering use. Our lovingly restored accommodation features a mixture of contemporary and antique, offering guests a fabulous opportunity to relax in idyllic, oak beamed surroundings. Luxurious comfort, quality fittings and decoration throughout make Oldfields an ideal destination to relax and enjoy the countryside. A great base for sightseers, cyclists and ramblers alike. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldfields Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.