We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oldfields Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snelston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oldfields Farm
Save
You added Oldfields Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sides Lane, Snelston, Ashbourne DE6 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Standlake, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Oldfields farm is in the most beautiful part of the country, a place that is very dear to us. We stayed in Handles Muse with our two children and it was perfect. The accommodation is exceptionally clean, well equipped and comfortable. The farm has been restored lovingly, and you just can,t beat the countryside. We hope to be back next year.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the b&b room in the farmhouse & it was absolutely lovely. A lot of thought has clearly gone into the room & en suite. It's spotless & has been beautifully decorated. Jan is such a friendly & thoughtful host - clearly in her element running the b&b which can be seen by how good she is at doing so. Glyn gave us a lift to a nearby pub for dinner which was such a kind gesture & Lydia was a very polite & helpful waitress! We stayed for 2 nights & went for a long bike ride 1 day & were very grateful for the relaxing jacuzzi bath at the end of the day! Best b&b I've stayed in with wonderful hosts & beautiful surroundings. Cant wait to return & try Handels Muse :) Many thanks to Jan, Glyn & Lydia from Carolyn & Jon x

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Handel's Muse on Oldfields Farm over Christmas, and we couldn't have asked for a better break. Jan and Glyn had paid attention to the smallest detail (we had our 1 year old with us and Jan had child-proofed everything as well as have a little teddy waiting for her when we arrived!).

I can honestly say that we've never stayed anywhere where the owner has been so welcoming and helpful. From the freshly made scones (which were delicious) and the bottle of mulled wine to the Christmas card that was slipped under our door on Christmas day - our stay was special and we were made to feel special.

We'd love to go back. It's a great place to unwind, and nearby Ashbourne is a lovely town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed over on a work trip in the B&B. The please is absolutely wonderful greeted by Jan when I arrived I felt instantly welcome. The room itself is really nice and decorated very well and is extremely comfortable. The Bathroom is well setup and even has a Jacuzzi bath!

I defiantly will be coming back for a weekend away and strongly recommend this to anyone else who wants some time away in the country :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feathered_nester1, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
I simply wanted to say a big 'thank you' for your kind words. Feedback is really important to us - especially from a business traveller. Although we've had loads of guests staying for business reasons - you were our first, ever, to leave a response. With reviews such as this, it has resulted in us being ranked 3rd 'Best in Derbyshire' within Trip Advisor, now! Many thanks once again and we sincerely hope to see you later in the year..... (a romantic break in Handel's Muse, perhaps?) Kindest regards
Jan, Glyn & Lydia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is a review of the self-catering Handel's Muse Cottage (sleeps 2, up to 4 on a sofa bed). Oldfields proved to be the perfect introduction to the Peak District and Derbyshire. Our hosts, Jan and Glyn, were the perfect balance of effusive warmth and non-intrusiveness. We were warmly welcomed and they were extremely informative on the local area, history, and could always be counted on for recommendations for walks around the region.

For the more ecologically-inclined, Oldfields' environmental policies will be a delight, while for those less so-inclined, it will be an eye-opener and an education in itself. The farm itself is a picture of sustainable countryside living and I learnt so much from our hosts.

The cottage itself was clean, beautifully decorated for the Christmas season, with little touches of luxury even (welcome scones, bathrobes)! All that we needed for a self-catering walking holiday was in place - a lovely base to stay in on a rainy day, and a warm and comfortable place to return to for a meal after a hard day's walk.

What sets Oldfields apart though is the personal touch, evident from what the family has put into the farm, into refurbishing the cottages and B&Bs, and in how they welcome and relate to their guests and are always ready to offer help or that extra treat when unexpected.

The property is just a short drive away from Ashbourne where shops/pubs/amenities/supermarkets can all be found. Yet, the farm remains steadfastly in the quiet countryside, and it is utterly peaceful at night. The morning views across the pastures can be quite breathtaking. I will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feathered_nester1, Owner at Oldfields Farm, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
So glad that you managed to get back home safely and many thanks for your very kind words! I'm guessing it could have been the apple crumble from the orchard which may have swayed your thought process - we love sharing Oldfields' produce whenever we can. It's wonderful when it's appreciated.
A sincere thank-you, once again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Lucy and I have stayed in the self catering cottage (Gorsey Hayes) before, which we both enjoyed so much we came back. This time, however we tried the bed and breakfast room which did not dissapoint. The room was large and had a fabulous en-suite which was spotlessly clean and had a large power shower as well as corner bath with Jaccuzi. Linen was clean and fresh and the mattress was to die for! Jan & Glyn are fantastic hosts, who were able to book us a table at a local pub. We had an itinerary already when we arrived (which included clay pidgeon shooting with Bill, an instructor recommended to us by Jan & Glyn) however some other guests were looking for suggestions for a walk which Jan described with a passion which is rarely seen.

The breakfast was a lovely spread of locally sourced or home made fruits, breads, compotes, jams, marmalades, etc.

We are already planning our next visit in the new year and would reccomend to anyone looking to a gorgeous alternate to the Alton Towers hotels (which is situated within 20min).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I can a sure you that you will not find a more beautiful place to stay than Old Firelds Farm. My friends and I went away for the weekend to discover the peak district, and the accomadtion was outstanding along with the friendly hosts Jan, Glyn and of course Lydia. The cottage was extremely clean and was fully equiped with everything that you could possibly need including tea and scones on arrival which were a lovely touch. Jan provided us with walk and activity suggestions that we found extremly useful and enjoyable.

Our stay was very enjoyable and we shall deffinatly be returning again. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oldfields Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields Farm

Address: Sides Lane, Snelston, Ashbourne DE6 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Snelston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Snelston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet River Dove valley, south of the pretty town of Ashbourne is Oldfields Farm Guesthouse incorporating 2 barns for self-catering use. Our lovingly restored accommodation features a mixture of contemporary and antique, offering guests a fabulous opportunity to relax in idyllic, oak beamed surroundings. Luxurious comfort, quality fittings and decoration throughout make Oldfields an ideal destination to relax and enjoy the countryside. A great base for sightseers, cyclists and ramblers alike. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oldfields Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.