We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in light of glowing reviews from previous guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Risley Guest House

Risley Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Risley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Risley Guest House
Save
You added Risley Guest House to your Saves list
113 Derby Road, Risley DE72 3SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Risley B&B and Inns
Redditch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing in light of glowing reviews from previous guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had problems finding the house because the SatNav took us to the wrong Derby Rd - the owners said they knew this happened but don't bother to tell you not to use SatNav. The owners mother greeted us by saying we had been expected earlier and the host had had to go out. We had actually emailed the time of arrival in line with when we did arrive. The owner did come to greet us on her return but was business like and fairly disinterested - not the warm welcome others mention. The rooms are small but give good storage. Only one side of bed had a bedside table and lamp. Hospitality tray quite stingy. Carpet heavily stained in one place. Bathroom somewhat grubby round the edges. Walls very thin so we were woken by people next door returning from a festival in the early hours. Their bathroom visits and showers might just as well have been in our bathroom the noises were so clear. They were not talking loudly so clearly making an effort not to disturb. Parking is very tight - a concern when you need to leave early for the airport and considerable road noise. We did not have breakfast and consider the price high on top of a not inexpensive room. Altogether very disappointing and not a place we will use again.

Room Tip: Find out which one was the room in need of improvement as identified by a previous reviewer and avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
19
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we attended a wedding at nearby Risley Hall. The venue was fully booked so I found Risley Guest house. It was £40 more expensive than the hotel and did not include breakfast. I decided with the good reviews and high end luxury it boasted it would be a worthwhile decision.

What a shame. On the surface the rooms look lovely, however the tiles in the shower were almost falling off, black rims of mould around the shower tray and a very poor quality trickle electric shower. The curtains had mould along the bottom and there was huge dust and general unkempt feeling all over. The beds were comfortable however the noise from the road kept us awake most of the night. When we returned to the room after a lovely wedding the smell of drains was appalling!


Upon emailing the owner to explain we were given a reply that they knew this room needed attention and only used it when they were fully booked!!!! However for this privilege they still charge the full amount and did not warn us that the room was sub standard.


Clearrly don't care once they have your money.

Absolute perfect example of how not to treat a customer paying lets face it a high rate for a very poor room, Be warned breakfast is also an extra £10 per person! All in all a great deal of money for a terrible nights sleep!

Find somewhere else that doesn't pretend to luxury!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Cosy, clean rooms set in the grounds of the friendly owner's home. Each room has its own front door so there is a real sense of privacy and you aren't on top of other guests. The property is by a road but there was hardly any traffic and we had a great night's sleep. Really comfy beds and pillows.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Wonderful modern accommodation, spotlessly clean with all mod cons. Nicely decorated and nice private feel because of the way the chalet suites/rooms are set out. REally good and thoughtful extras in terms of tea/coffee/hot chocolate and toiletries, right down to cotton wool for make up removal. Fabulous attention to detail. Loved the fluffy blankets - spotless like everything else. Brilliant views over the countryside and good access to the nearby pub/restaurant.
We were greeted by the owners who were really friendly and made us feel as if nothing was too much trouble. THey were thoughtful and even asked what time we thought we might return so that our room could be warmed if the temperature dropped. Breakfast was fantastic and we would recommend the Risley guest house without hestitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Travelling around a lot on business this is just the type of place I'm loking for. Friendly & privately owned gives the type of facilities you just can't get in a chain hotel with lots of personal touches. The TV woks fine with a propper working remote (how many don't) great bed linnen with O-so-soft pillows, great free WiFi with good connection, clean modern on-suit shower toilet area, local magazines in the room, good Tea-coffee-hot chocolate facilities. For the price I don't think you'll beat it. There's also a terrific classy pub 2 minutes away with a very interesting menu and live music e.g. Big band and Jaz type stuff.
I only give good reviews when I think it's worth it and this place is a dimond, my only worry is by giving this good review I'll find it difficult to get back in here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Risley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Risley Guest House

Address: 113 Derby Road, Risley DE72 3SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Risley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Risley
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Risley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.