We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Traditional Carvery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery
Save
You added The John Thompson Inn & Brewery to your Saves list
Ingleby, Melbourne DE737HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not A Traditional Carvery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited the John Thompson for lunch as we wanted a Sunday lunch and they said they do a carvery here. There isn't a choice of meat, there is only beef but, that said, the beef was excellent. The veg is plated up for you as we'll so it's not like most carvery venues we've visited before. It's not a carvery as we were expecting as we might as well have just ordered a Sunday dinner from the bar and had someone bring it over.
As we were a party of 6, one thing that I didn't like about the service was how the waiting staff would come and clear the plates of the people who had finished whilst other members of the party were still eating!! It's just rude!! This happened during lunch AND dessert!!
Again though, good choice of desserts on offer and the crumble was very good!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Take an American or Japanese tourist here on a sunny day and they'll believe they've seen the 'real' England.

A proper pub, great food and beautiful surroundings... beer is excellent - it would be having travelled about 50 yards to get to the pub.

While here check out the Anchor Church walk - Google it...

This is top notch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Not a fan of carveries but this isn't your normal run of the mill carvery. We met friends here for lunch and the food was great and inexpensive, plenty of choice for real ale drinkers as well. Staff were friendly and efficient. Will return hopefully in nice weather so we can sit outside and take in the lovely views that are on offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

With sunshine back on the agenda a local walk was in order Sunday morning. Park up in the corner of the inn and exited the car park on our 3hr circular walk talking in a Viking cremation cemetary with 60 burial mounds and a Christian church carved into the sandstone cliff. Arrive back at the JT to a very warm welcome. Fabulous Sunday carvery of beef and all the trimmings cooked to perfection. Followed by home cooked apple crumble and custard. Stuffed and satisfied we headed on home to enjoy the rest of the sunny afternoon. Great for families and couple of all ages.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Lunchtimes only for food but cannot be beaten for a roast beef dinner. Meat is succulent and tender and the horseradish is mind blowing. Vegetables are fresh and well cooked. Home brewed beers are wonderful. Pleasant surroundings with warming log fires. Great value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed in the gorgeous well presented log-cabins last night !
Upon arrival we was thrilled to see the views that surround the place.

Inside the log cabin had everything you will need for your stay , they seem to have them kitted out with every little essential that could possibly needed for a nights stay ,

The decor was really well done with nothing too "ikea" and the place on a whole was very clean

For the money we paid for the night it's safe to say you get your money's worth

Thanks you very much for our night away !!

We will be sure to return in the summer :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming here for the best part of three years and can't fault it ! This establishment has got every part of a successful business right ! It is a traditional pub with beams, fire place with inglenook, plenty of dining tables and Sunday Lunch is the best ever ! BUT, (can't believe I've put a 'but' ) only if you like a Beef Carvery, the best in the land, ( has to be ) The service is great, the food great, the price great, the ambience great. Having said they only serve Beef, they also offer ham salad, jacket potatoes etc. Desert's, all home made and delicious, always a queue waiting to dine ! I almost want to delete this review, as I want to keep this all to myself. If you decide to enjoy this experience, ENJOY !!!!!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The John Thompson Inn & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Thompson Inn & Brewery

Address: Ingleby, Melbourne DE737HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The John Thompson Inn And Brewery
The John Thompson Inn & Brewery Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The John Thompson Inn & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.