We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, yet again!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coach House Hotel

Coach House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coach House Hotel to your Saves list
Coach House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb, yet again!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just a gem of a place!!! Beverley is the consummate hostess. We had an additional request which was coped with without any problem at all. Nothing was too much trouble to our hosts. The breakfast would put to shame many famous establishments I have stayed in. I have booked for next year!! Thanks Bev.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. I always like welcoming back past guests and seeing them year after year. So pleased that we didn't disappoint you. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have now stayed at the Coach house several times, as my family live in Melbourne, but do not have spare rooms. I cannot praise this lovely guest house enough, Beverley has put so much thought into everything, so that the rooms contain lots of extras. I like being able to take fresh milk to my room for tea and this is left in a fridge in the breakfast room. The rooms are very clean and have modern bathroom fittings. The breakfasts are super and the welcome one receives is lovely. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. It must be hard work running a guest house to this standard, but much appreciated...well done Beverley and Adrian.......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendations. We try to offer the little extras that the larger hotels can't offer or charge for. It helps to make your stay away from home that bit more comfortable. Thank you again and see you again soon. Kind Regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this bed and breakfast with friends in May. The rooms were clean and well equipped. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and happy to suggest places to visit in the area. Breakfast was a help-yourself affair with a choice of cereals, yogurt, fruit etc and a freshly cooked Full English Breakfast to order, with freshly made toast, tea or coffee. Unfortunately I left my toothbrush re-charger in the room. I e-mailed the Coach House when I realised and asked if they could possibly put it in the post if I forwarded them a cheque to cover the postage. Before the cheque even had a chance to arrive, I had received the re-charger. Excellent service! I would certainly stay here again if in the area and would strongly recommend it to friends. Very good value for money and Melbourne is an interesting village. Although the Coach House is on the village street, there was no problem with noise.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are accessed via a steep staircase. Less able visitors might wish to request to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and recommendations. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Isn't it so annoying when you forget something, no problem to post it back. Glad you found Melbourne as interesting as we do ourselves. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very warm welcome on arrival ,we had two rooms,a ground floor twin and the super king.Both rooms were comfortable ,quite large ,with adequate storage space and shower rooms.The refreshment tray was perfect! The stairs are rather steep,so if you have a problem with stairs maybe a ground floor option is best.
The off road parking is quite small although we did not have any problems,there is on road parking opposite.
The breakfast was well cooked and served with nice choices.
Beverly cannot do enough for you and we had a really lovely four day break here

Room Tip: Rooms at back probably quieter although all rooms do get noise from planes. Steep stairs to first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recommendations. I am pleased that you enjoyed your little holiday with us. Many thanks Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booked last minute to attend a wedding reception. This is a small B&B guest house. It does exactly what it should. Good sized room with super king sized bed. Basic but clean. Breakfast was naturally full English properly cooked with quality ingredients. The owner is polite and attentive without being intrusive. Excellent value at £70 for the night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are often host to guests going to weddings in Melbourne, with 5 churches in the village it's easy to see why. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked online no problems...stayed here one night on business as I am setting up a fostering agency in the area... clean room... decent choice of food in village.... friendly welcome... decent bed... small toilet/shower room but perfectly functional... decent bed... slept really sound... great breakfast... even better coffee... very friendly guests who put the world to rights over breakfast ... great value... and far more personal than the chains of others... Bev is very friendly and accommodating... for the money its a bargain...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. I'm pleased that everything was just right for you. Nice to hear that even by customers like a bit of a chat on a morning!! Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

As a party of 4 couples we nearly took over the Coach House. Being friends for a long time we can be boisterous too and Beverley coped well with us and smiled throughout - not sure what fellow residents of the 5th room thought. Every year our little group travel to the host region of our annual national classic car club rally weekend. When the main base location hotel became booked up we had to search further afield and were not disappointed in any way. We had all the benefits of a personal B&B but in a property that could accommodate all of us and with safe off road parking for our prides and joys. To cap it all there was also a ground floor room for the oldest couple in our party. Breakfast was cooked to order and excellent; poached eggs to perfection. There was a good selection of cereal, yoghurt and fruit juice along with all sorts of spreads for toast - everything from marmite to Nutella and peanut butter. The beds were big and comfortable, white linen sheets, rooms spotlessly clean and the price very reasonable with pubs and restaurants within reasonable walking distance. As I put in the title - everything we needed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley G, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm pleased that your party enjoyed your stay with us at The Coach House. With having the guests lounge to sit and relax with your friends it is ideal for small groups of friends. Melbourne has also got a lot to offer with many different restaurants and pubs with in easy walking distance. So pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Address: 69 Derby Road, Melbourne DE73 8FE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coach House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular 4 star Guest House offering great value comfortable ensuite rooms and fabulous English breakfasts, cereals, fresh fruit & home made jams. Situated in historic Melbourne, just a short walk from excellent pubs, restaurants, shops and a supermarket. Located in The National Forest, we are close to 3 outstanding National Trust houses, Nottingham, Chatsworth, Twycross Zoo, EMA and Royal Crown Derby. Free wireless broadband and parking. Personally managed ensuring your stay is pleasant and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.