We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelstedge Inn

Kelstedge Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelstedge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelstedge Inn
Save
You added Kelstedge Inn to your Saves list
Matlock Road, Kelstedge S45 0DX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kelstedge B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

called in yesterday for a drink and decided to stop for lunch, wow what a great decision we made the food was excellent real quaility food, great atmosphere really cosy, we was made to feel most welcome, we will defenatly be visiting again highly recomended :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have visited this pub a number of times, usually with a Friday hight booking andgenerally had a good experience, however on our last visit (booked) we found ourselves literally in the middle of a wedding reception, it was deafening,converstion was impossible, my meal was nearly cold when it arrived and when mentioned to the waitress was given a "sorry 'bout that" reply
Advice to the owner,remember your regulars, don't try and pack everyone in.
Food has become a bit pricey - Ten quid for Fish and Chips ???

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are often in the Matlock area at weekends and called for the 1st time at this pub. Advert outside 2 for £10 menu. Was unsure whether to try this or go for the main menu. Big mistake we went for the 2 for £10. Mine was steak pie 2 inch square that consisted of 3 or 4 small pieces of meat with jacket potato and a few peas which all looked lost on this giant plate. Wife had the chicken which came with a few chips and few peas again on a giant plate. She said the food was nice. My pie was poor the pastry was very lardy so left that bit. Needless to say I had another meal when we arrived home later. Staff were quite pleasant and friendly and the beer was okay. Shame about the food. Maybe my grandkids aged 4 and 5 would have been ok with these meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Happened upon this pub whilst on first night of holiday, great meals with four yes four veggie options. I did seem to receive less actual food than the three meat eaters but overall I was happy. Happy and busy young waitress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We recently visited this wonderful pub and enjoyed a great home cooked meal of roast beef with all the trimmings. Great portion sizes and it was very tasty and cooked beautifully. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Have just had our weddind day there. Excellent day and fantastic food. Many thanks to Liam and the staff at the Kelstedge. Nothing was too much trouble, from the 40 that sat down for the dinner in the day to the 100 people that came for the evening reception. Everybody commented on how nice the food and what a lovely occasion it was. Cant thank Liam enough for what a special day he made it. Will always be remembered and recommend this to anyone wanting a meal for 2 or any large groups that want to celebrate an occassion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We called for lunch. I had the lamb chops & my partner had pork with sausage stuffing. Good wholesome food, which had been home cooked with fresh vegetables, There was more than we could eat, but noted that there is a 2 for £10.00 menu which I would definitely try on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelstedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelstedge Inn

Address: Matlock Road, Kelstedge S45 0DX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Kelstedge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kelstedge
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kelstedge Hotel Kelstedge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelstedge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.