We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay- No complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Packington Hill, Kegworth DE74 2DF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay- No complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have just returned home from a mini break at the Yew Lodge hotel.. It was perfect. Receptionist was polite and efficient on arrival. The room was lovely. We had our 7 year old son with us too.. He had the sofa bed which was almost a double. The rooms are clean, With TV and free WIFI (They give you a code on arrival for as many devices you need) Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms , iron and ironing board. Bathroom was spacious and clean.
We used the health club/spa facilities (Reeds) whilst there... all good too. A small pool , jacuzzi, steam room, sauna. Poolside showers and foot spas. Towels provided. Theres even a coffee shop in the health club .
On the evening you need to book a table in the restaurant if required.. We didn`t we decided to dine in the bar... The food , whilst quite pricey was really very good. We all 3 thoroughly enjoyed our meals. There is a very peaceful lounge to retire to if you wish.
Breakfast is in the main restaurant and I have to say was absoloutely fabulous. Plenty to choose from.. Cereals, Yoghurts, Croissants, Fresh juices, Tea/ coffee. English breakfast. (Sausages (variety) bacon, tomatoes, beans, fried bread, Stuffing?? :-) Scrambled and fried eggs, mushrooms.. it was delicious!! Newspapers provided. The restaurant becomes very busy all of a sudden at 9.15am. open 7-10 on a sat.. earlier on weekdays.
All in all a very pleasant relaxed stay at a lovely well run and well kept hotel.. We will return one day.

Room Tip: Room 309 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Jayneeem

Thank you very much for your excellent review.


I am glad you found us a lovely place to stay and that you and your family enjoyed all aspects of your visit.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    300
    115
    36
    12
See reviews for
144
374
14
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just had a 2-night break at this hotel on a TravelZoo deal which included evening meal on first night and breakfast both mornings. The staff were great, really friendly and polite and the hotel was warm and welcoming. Our room was nicely equipped and the in-room refreshment facilities were much appreciated!
The day of our arrival was my birthday, my fiancee had mentioned this to the booking staff and when we got to our room there was a nice birthday card from the hotel and the chef took time to write 'Happy birthday' in chocolate on the plate for our afternoon tea and again in the evening on my desert plate - a really nice touch which was much appreciated.
The hotel has leisure facilities including a pool but we were too lazy to take advantage! They also do a deal for an overnight stay with car parking for users of the nearby East Midlands airport - something we will consider in future. The food was great, we particularly enjoyed the buffet breakfasts - all in all a most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear 141CathB

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the birthday celebrations during your stay and the staff ‘went the extra mile’ to help celebrate this with a card and words on your dessert.

I am glad you enjoyed the buffet breakfasts, but next time I do hope you try the leisure facilities during your stay, very relaxing atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

just returned from a relaxing weekend at this hotel, with female relatives. pleasant efficient reception and good room , as you'd expect from 4* , but dinner on saturday night which was included as part of our package , was really excellent and is worthy of a special mention ! the fairly slow service was perfectly acceptable given that we were in no rush and we wanted to savour each course . loughborough is a 15 min bus ride away if you fancy a bit of shopping ,which we did. we'd booked our weekend at short notice so werent able to sample the spa treatments as no availability, but we would definitely go back and get booked in early next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear mb1_12

Thank you very much for your great review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food excellent and worth a special mention.

Sorry to read that no treatments were available on this visit but next time I do hope you manage to take advantage of the many treatments we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we weren't disappointed with this return visit.
Was greeted by friendly staff on reception and checked in straight away with no issues, free upgrade was appreciated!!!
Rooms lovely, warm and cosy. Free wifi a bonus.
On went the robes and slippers (that are supplied for your stay) and a relaxing afternoon at the spa. Yes it was busy (it was a Saturday afternoon) but still enjoyable. Only negative was there were only about 8 chairs and 2 loungers which wasn't enough for all the people there.
Onto the treatments, if I'm honest this is one of the main reasons we came back to the hotel. They are amazing and such great value compared with other salons/spas I have been to. I can recommend the mini facial and exfoliating body scrub and body massage.
Came out of there feeling fab!!
Saturday evening- went to the bar for pre dinner drinks, it is slightly expensive (9.60 for 2 drinks) but you do get a tray f nibbles which is a lovely touch.
Evening meal which was included in our package is simply amazing, the food is fantastic and there is plenty of it. Yes as other reviews suggest it does take time for your food to come but 1. It was Saturday evening 2. It's freshly cooked and 3. It's a lovely atmosphere why rush?? Worthy of an extra mention is the celebration of chocolate dessert which is yummy!!!
Great nights sleep then down to a Buffet breakfast of which there is loads of choice.
Am looking forward to our next trip back and would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear jmo999

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

I am pleased to read that your second visit with us was a good as your first and you enjoyed your treatments with our Beauty team.

You and many others do enjoy our chocolate dessert, which is one of the reasons we have kept it on for many years, changing the variation only.

It will be there for your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for your next relaxing break.

Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Recently stayed here for a weekend away. First impressions were ok, receptionists were polite and friendly. Room was good size- even with a seperate sofa so quite spacious. Bathroom was good size as well and I liked the fact that there was a seperate shower and bath. TV however didn't work. Wifi was free which was a bonus but it kept running out so it was annoying that we had to keep getting another password which I thought was silly considering this is a 'premier' 4* hotel.
The next day we went to the spa, again friendly staff and spa is a reasonable size although I have been to bigger spas at hotels (as well as tiny ones). Spa was nice and clean and all the things you would expect: sauna, steam room, hot tub etc. Sauna and steam room were a little on the hot side. They had some 'foot spas' there which were very odd- just a sink with a plug and a tap to fill the bowl up with. It seemed a bit of a waste- it would have been nicer if they had jets etc. You'd get a nicer foot spa by using one of those home foot spas!
The location of the hotel is good though. Close to both Nottingham and Loughborough and also within driving distance of the Peak District.
We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on that but there are some nice restaurants in Loughborough which is only a 15 min drive away.
Despite some of the minor negative points I would still recommend this hotel as the staff are friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. Decor of the hotel is ok as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, although I do hope you contacted reception about the TV; they would have sent someone to rectify this immediately for you.

I am also pleased to read the staff looked after you well and you took advantage of our spa and pool facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards


Chris Trow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My Coleague and i stayed for 3 days on a business trip febuary 2013. The restaurant food is very limited, and especialy so if the menu is cut in half as ours was on the 3 nights we stayed their. We went out to eat in the town (the otter) which was much better and cost a less lot as well.
Disappointed with all the facilities, as here I am in my next hotel in Coventry, and its much better.
wont go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Owenwheeler7

I am sorry to read you were disappointed in our menu selection. I am not entity sure as to why your menu was cut down, we offer 2 different menus covering over 20 different main course options.

If you wish to discuss this further along with the facilities issue, which I would like to hear your feedback on, please do not hesitate to contact me direct at the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Yew Lodge for their 'Valentine Party' deal. This is the second year in a row that we have attended this event. The staff were friendly and helpful, food was good, live band was great and the room was clean and comfortable. All is all a great experience. We also held our wedding here two years ago which was fantastic. Always a treat to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMYewLodge, Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at one of our events.

I am pleased to read you found our Valentine Party a success again this year, we had several comments that other guests will be attending again next year as they too found the band, food and atmosphere good.

We look forward to your return again in the near future.

Regards

Chris Trow
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel

Address: 33 Packington Hill, Kegworth DE74 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Yew Lodge Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Kegworth
Kegworth Best Western
Best Western Yew Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.