We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Packington Hill, Kegworth DE74 2DF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
pevensey,east sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

First room we checked into was noisy from kitchen extractors. We were able to change to one nearly under East Midlands airport flightpath , so was noisy through night and morning. This room had a malfunctioning toilet.
Restaurant leaves a lot to be desired.Staff were miserable and poorly trained (if they were at all) At dinner .My wife did not eat her mushroom pie as it tasted unpleasant .Meals ridiculously overpriced £16.95 for fish and chips. We had dinner on our second night at "Woodhouse" a restaurant in Woodhouse Eaves where the food was imaginative and FAR superior ( GFG recommended).
Breakfast was taken on stained tablecloths , buffet plates were cold (my pet hate ) . Staff were disorganised, thus it was not memorable.
I would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    280
    98
    33
    12
See reviews for
128
345
13
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We have just got back from a one night stay at this hotel and it certainly is'nt a place I want to return to.......
On arrival we did not have the undivided attention of the reception staff as she took several telephone calls whilst checking us in, not a very good impression at all. The same has to be said on check out as well.
Our room was on the third floor which was easily accessible via stairs and lift, it was a good size and clean however the hotel is on the flight path for east midlands airport so is noisy especially early in the morning. There is no air con and we had to sleep with the window open this was a problem in the evening with the kitchen extractor fans and the noise of aircraft.
We were attending a work function and we were in one of the suites, there was lots of space for dining and disco etc however the food was of poor quality and most certainly not worth the money. The main course was served and came out with potatoes that were obviously left hanging around, this was followed some time after with the vegetables which were cold and not cooked properly. I was not able to finish all three courses. There was ample staff for serving but they could have done better with a smile on their face. The same can be said for bar staff.
Breakfast was a relaxed affair however it probably has to be the worst breakfast I have had in a hotel for a long time. There was good choice of cereals and fresh fruit, I opted for a cooked breakfast which unfortunatly was not hot, was greasy and had watery scrambled eggs.
With just a few improvements to staff and food this can be a lovely hotel but I left this morning feeling very let down.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Essex
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The price was good, and the anticipation of good food with two rosettes was mouthwatering. Reception was very good; the public rooms pleasant and our room was nice but a non-existant view and it is in the flightpath. Noisy at night with windows open and no airconditioning. Nevermind, we had an evening meal to look forward to.
The menu choice was not very wide unless getting involved in expensive supplements, and the stated price was in any case too high!
The starter was excellent, but the main course - two steaks- were not great and overcooked - not rare and medium rare but more medium and medium well. Not bad, just a bit average and not as good as hoped for. We were aware of others being less happy and sending dishes back. There were few of the frills one hopes for and because of the expectation it ended up a little disappointing. No half bottles of wine available [but nice house wine by the glass]; service less than polished. Really nothing special, and have had better quite often at non- rosette hotels.
Breakfast needed a management overhaul. Tablecloths were dirty, [replaced after a request] dishes seldom cleared and although a reasonable choice with some nice items, cold plates in a hotplate dispenser smacks of someone not thinking or checking that it was actually turned on. They were a little quick to stop replacing items, and if late down, the choice diminished.
Overall the food was ok but they do themselves a disservice by promoting it but not meeting the hype.
They were very helpful in saying we could have the afternoon tea on day two rather than on arrival, but it consisted of tea and a couple of cakes and biscuits - no finger sandwiches and scones. Not particularly worth coming back for.
Overall a pleasant place and would go again, but with diminished expectations of good food and a decent view.
It is seemingly getting common to have the tripadvisor logo appearing in hotel and restaurant windows. For some reason this makes me uneasy.

Room Tip: We asked to look at another room when ours overlooked an internal wall, but the alternate was overal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent one night here on route to elsewhere and used it as a chance to meet up with friends. We were pleasantly surprsied at how nice the place was. The spa was great, apart from the anbient background noises and lights in the sauna.
Breakfast was excellent and bar very accomodating.
This was a busy hotel with a wedding on on the night we were there but this helped the atmosphere of the place.
One small issue...try avoid the rear rooms, unless you have a thing for waving to passengers on the aeroplanes landing at Robin Hood airport. Probably handy though if you are on route out fo there though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here while attending a course in Nottingham. As soon as I arrived I was given a bag of goodies ... not good for the diet, but a nice gesture. I was also given an upgrade as a rewards member and I have to say I was very impressed with the room.
I decided to eat in the restaurant and was waiting in the bar for a while (I think they forgot about me) but I can forgive them as the food was really nice.
Breaksfast was also very nice.
I would recommend this place to anyone.
Very pleasant stay ... thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We had a lovely weekend spa break at this hotel and everything except the resturant which was a pre set meal included in the price was fantastic .Excellent service and facilities would go again (but stay away from the restaurant ) breakfast was good buffet style a nice selection.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Me & my sisters have just had an overnight spa day at yew lodge & it was the best ever. Good facilities first class staff & the food was excellent . If i had to make 1 comment it would be the breakfast there was a good selection but would have been nice to have had yogurt on the fruit thats just a woman thing tho so only a very small point. all round tho excellent value & will definately be going again as we had a good laugh.

Room Tip: the sofa bed not too comfortable if you have to use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel

Address: 33 Packington Hill, Kegworth DE74 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Kegworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kegworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Yew Lodge Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Kegworth
Kegworth Best Western
Best Western Yew Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Yew Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.