We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Santo's Higham Farm Hotel to your Saves list
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Rd., Higham DE55 6EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautifull Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed over at Santo's a couple of weeks ago as my niece was getting married there. We
found all of the staff to be very freindly and welcoming. The hotel itself is really lovely, and we thought it was full of character, very charming and is in a great setting. ( Check out the views
from the car park ) Our room was spacious and very very comfortable , the bathroom was fab!
We had a really nice day ! We congratulate the chef who cooked the most delicious wedding
breakfast, it was absolutely superb. The evening buffet was excellent as was breakfast the next
morning. If we are in the area we would definately return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Amazing comments! Everything you mention is exactly what we strive to achieve. It is so nice to know that the hard work of the management and staff is recognised and appreciated. I do hope you choose to visit us again in the near future. Keep a look out on our website for the best prices, particularly on a Friday evening. We run a regular steak night and you can wine, dine and stay for as little as £45pp!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
28
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Great room size and excellent features. Food outstanding for the money, wide selection of wine albeit limited selection by the glass. Fantastic service for evening meal and again at breakfast. Wifi present but exceptionally slow, not great for current times/expectation. Overall very friendly staff and good value for money. PS, check out the view from the car park!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Informative review, thank you. We have a total of 7 house wines available by the glass which I feel is sufficient for the size of our establishment. Our WIFI has been a stumbling block for a while but thankfully we've found a great solution and can now receive 20Mbps (guaranteed) via satellite, giving customers FREE high speed internet access throughout the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My partner and I went here on the 1st Feb 2014 for our anniversary meal and we could not fault the place. Our meal was absolutely fantastic and the steak was to die for and very reasonably priced. The restaurant manager Jack was lovely and couldn't do enough for us, he made us feel very special and even showed us around the new bedrooms after we had finished our meal.
I haven't had such a wonderful night out in a very long time, we will definitely be coming here again for a meal and we are even considering booking our wedding here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Such lovely comments, thank you!
Jack is totally embracing his new role as restaurant manager and its great to know that its being noticed and appreciated. If you enjoy a good steak then I would definitely recommend that you try our regular Steak Night (every Friday). The same great quality but prices from as little as £10 per person, which includes a glass of wine. I hope to see you dining with us again in the near future and I'm sure Santo will do you a great deal on a wedding ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We been there couple times now waiter is nice and care us very profasional the big boos people knows what thay doing excelent serving very cool place should put some music in day time :) and fire should go always lovely place

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. The big boss does indeed know what he is doing and takes a very active role in day to day operations. We are so lucky to have such an amazing team of committed staff. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Being about our wedding in May 2013 this review is a touch on the late side.

However.

My wife and I cannot recommend this venue enough - and to this extent we would like to thank Santo and his team for all they did for us. This is a 5 star review - so you can take it for granted that we are very positive about our wedding and the role this establishment played in making it the day what it was. In light of these 5 stars I thought it would be more useful to high light any negative experiences we had, so as to provide contrast.

The only down point of the whole day was actually provided by our own guests. Being border line alcoholics they felt that even though they had chosen to board else where they still had a right to the ‘members’ bar after midnight. Naturally because of Santo’s licence no alcohol is allowed to be served beyond midnight to anyone other than guests with a room. I’m afraid that some of our guests took offence at this and being the worse for wear were rather rude to Santo’s team. I would like to say that Santo’s team were professional and polite to a T. My only point in mentioning this is to advice making it crystal clear to any guests when inviting them that at midnight if they are not staying on the premises they need to leave.

Further, along these lines the area only has a number of limited taxis. This means that if a large group of people leave without preparing and booking taxis then the turn-around for the last of these guests can be over half an hour – as they have to wait for the taxis to return.

Beyond this Santo’s is a unique and beautiful venue that so many of our guests commented on. Santo knows what he is doing – try to relax and take the day in, leaving it in his hands. The retracting roof is just outright perfect. You can tell during the wedding breakfast that the quality of the food is very important to Santo and his Chef. The view is beautiful – we would recommend taking a drive directly after the ceremony to take in all that has just happened down to the reservoir you can see from the balcony. Perfect photos and perfect time to privately grab a moment regroup and re-join your party.

Thank you Santo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for submitting such a nice and informative review. We are an extremely popular wedding venue and our staff are highly trained and experienced in dealing professionally with the odd alcohol induced outburst. You make a very valid point about the taxi's, as being in a rural location most local firms don't work the late hours. We rely heavily on Amber Taxi's but advance booking is advisable.
Santo takes enormous pride in every aspect of every wedding, from planning, finalising, setting the room to running the event. Reviews like this are a credit to his commitment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My partner and I decided to try here after a recommendation.
We ordered fillet steak and lobster and were not disappointed at all.
From greeting to leaving we felt it was a truely pleasant experience.
The staff couldn't have been more attentive, the steak was cooked to perfection and the lobster was perfect.
A lovely evening thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I can't tell you how rewarding it is to receive such a nice review. I would definitely recommend you give our regular Friday Steak Night a try. Take a look at the menu on our website and I hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked are Christmas meal back in August, to be told by staff they had a new chef and the food would be better than last years Xmas meal......Which we thought was ok back in 2012.Oh boy They were so wrong, the vegetables were so hard that when you tried to cut into them they were flying across the table, the meat on the turkey dinner was unrecognisable, the staff huffed and puffed when we asked for bottles of wine for the tables. Also people's plates were being cleared before they'd even finished there meal. All in all a very disappointing night. I felt very guilty for all my work colleagues as I was the person who organised the the Christmas outing. Sorry Mr Santos we were so so disappointed we won't be attending in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHighamFarm, Manager at Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. We did encounter some teething problems when it came to the cooking methods of the vegetables over Christmas but this was very quickly addressed and rectified. With regards to the turkey, we purchased full birds, which were prepared and cooked in house immediately prior to each function. I am a little puzzled as to why you found this unrecognisable. We subsequently received a record number of compliments and thank you letters, with the majority of customers already booking to return in 2014. It is thanks to customer feedback that we continue to improve and I hope you return to see the difference you and others have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Address: Main Rd., Higham DE55 6EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Santo's Higham Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santo's Higham Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santo's Higham Farm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.