We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bramble Cottage

Bramble Cottage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bramble Cottage to your Saves list
Bramble Cottage
21-23 High Road, Higham DE55 6EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Higham B&B and Inns
York, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very accommodating and friendly owner. Great breakfasts and fab rooms. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
74
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at Bramble Cottage. The owner was more than helpful on our arrival. You are given fresh milk in a flask rather than the UHT type in little pots. Plenty of an assortment to drink in the rooms including a water filter. We were in the King Room with private bathroom. Bathrobes were provided as we had to walk across a little landing. We slept like logs, very comfortable bed. Lovely exposed beams in the room, although on a road, it was a quiet room. Very clean too. There was a lovely touch of a mini bottle of sloe gin and two little glasses, really nice touch. Breakfast was really lovely, good quality produce and the Stornaway black pudding was delicious!!! Would recommend this to anyone, really nice place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Bramble cottage for three nights and were delighted with our choice. The warmth of welcome, comfort of acommodation and standard of breakfast was excellent. Our time here was made more enjoyable by the helpfulness and care that Patricia, the owner, showed to make sure we were looked after. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing and comfortable break away.

Yan

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a rather belated review of a stay that I enjoyed at Bramble Cottage with my partner in early December.

We were visiting Chatsworth on Sunday 4th December and wanted a good quality B&B for the previous night, However, as we very quickly discovered, most places in the Peak District area, wanted you to stay for two nights which a. we didn't want to do b. couldn't afford to at that time. Bramble Cottage, however, was very happy to accept our booking for the single night and so, reassured by all the positive Trip Advisor reviews, we looked forward to an enjoyable stay.

We were not disappointed.

The minute we arrived - in the dark on a cold, wet wintry night - Paddy was outside greeting us warmly and offering to help us in with our luggage. Indoors, she explained where breakfast would be served and showed us to the Lady Bower Room, which is the standard room with a separate bathroom just along the corridor.

The room was a good size, stylishly furnished and very well appointed with little extras such as the sloe gin mentioned in other reviews and chocolates. Above all, it was warm!

We had planned to venture out for something to eat that evening but as we'd had a good lunch and weren't particularly hungry, the weather was awful and Bramble Cottage was so nice, we stayed in our room and watched TV while drinking tea and eating biscuits and chocolates - very cosy and relaxing!

Although the room was at the front of the cottage facing onto a fairly busy road, we were not kept awake - decent windows and good thick curtains probably helping to sound-proof the room.

The next morning, we donned the bathrobes provided and took a few steps across the landing to our bathroom - again, very nicely appointed with a good, hot shower.

The beautiful breakfast room was full of character and Paddy served up a great breakfast, taking care to explain everything and offering a very good choice. Nothing seemed too much trouble and the food was delicious. All six guests shared the same large breakfast table and we enjoyed talking to the other guests as much as we enjoyed the breakfast.

Paddy is a born hostess with a great sense of style and a very strong customer focus. In Bramble Cottage she has created a high quality B&B that puts guests' needs first. If I had to choose between a more centrally located B&B for the Peak District (e.g. Castleton where many places want you to stay for 2 nights) or Bramble Cottage just outside Chesterfield, it would be Bramble Cottage every time for quality, service and value.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the fact that the Lady Bower room does not have an ensuite bathroom. The bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Of the 3 rooms, I think the one we had was the 'standard' but it was superb. Two massive single beds creating a very large kingsize; large shower, bath robes, ironing board/iron, tea/coffee making facilities and a lovely flagon of sloe gin. Breakfast was of an extremely high standard with some home made preserves on offer. We would definitely stay here again but would try somewher else to eat than the pub next door where the food was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: I would say any of the rooms are worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Very comfortable room with all the facilities that we needed. It was comfortable enough to spend time in when not being a tourist! We used the room with the separate bathroom (The others were en-suite but booked before we made enquiries) and found that to be excellent. A thoughtful touch was that we were given a keep to this room.

Thoroughly recommended for the food, the facilities and the welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Bramble cottage is a beautifully renovated cottage, tastefully furnished, with numerous thoughtful extra touches (eg water filter in room with tea and coffee facilities) which made it exceptionally comfortable.

We slept like logs in the king size bed, after making use of the extra roomy shower. Great breakfast including homemade preserves. The owner was charming, and made us feel very welcome. We will certainly stay there again when we visit family in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are KIngsize beds and all are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bramble Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramble Cottage

Address: 21-23 High Road, Higham DE55 6EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Higham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent Elizabethan Cottage, maintained to highest standard and very near lots of interesting/historic places. 3 rooms, all very spacious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bramble Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bramble Cottage Higham, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bramble Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.