We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent products” 5 of 5 stars
Review of David Mellor Visitor Centre

David Mellor Visitor Centre
The Round Building, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
01433650220
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The David Mellor Cutlery Factory, Design Museum, Country Shop and Cafe - all on the same site. Just outside Hathersage in one of the most beautiful areas of Derbyshire, they provide a uniquely stimulating and enjoyable day out in the Peak District National Park.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent products”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a charming place not only do you have the roundhouse making the cutlery there is a shop selling fantastic kitchen ware also there is a deli/cafe and a little exhibition.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Well worth stopping in if you're passing and definately if you're already sightseeing in the area. The display of David Mellors' inventions and designs is like a mini museum and the cafe is nice too, although a bit pricy. Much like the shop - nice to look at the cutlery and kitchen equipment for sale, but it's all quality stuff and the prices reflect that. Don't forget to take a quick tour of the small factory.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing shop and Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a hidden gem. We had tea and goodie in the Cafe. They have a small but fresh and exquiset treat menu. We had 4 different item and loved all of them. The room is a beautiful mixture of traditional building and the simple classic designs of Mr. Mellor. We loved many of the items in the shop and came home with many treasures!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food at the cafe, but don't expect service with a smile!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My review just refers to the cafe and never have I seen such miserable staff! We had no welcome to speak of and disinterested service, to put it mildly! The food was good but pricey and the surroundings are simple and rather unique. The staff in the shop were much more cheery and friendly.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamphire, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Interesting visitor attraction, great shop and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We visited David Mellor's Visitor Centre as we thought it was their factory outlet! Unfortunately it wasn't, but our disappointment was very much lightened because this is such an interesting place to visit. The Round Building, as it is called (for obvious reasons) is where Mellor's gorgeous cutlery is handmade by local artisans. There are guided tours on some days, but you can pop in to see these talented workman hand making the various items. Also at the site is a shop, just as good as the one in London's posh Sloan Square. It's hard not to be tempted by all the gorgeous kitchen and dining paraphernalia, although prices start at around £1 for little wooden spoons, and go up considerably when you get to the wonderful designer silverware. There is also a small museum and cafe - did you know David Mellor designed Britain's traffic lights? Neither did we, but he was clearly an iconic designer in his day. These and other things he designed (like post boxes) are on display, as well as beautiful cutlery and candlesticks. No. 10's cutlery is to die for! The cafe offers truly delicious light fare. We enjoyed fresh-from-the-oven Goat's Cheese & Tomato tartlets, Pea, Mint & Feta tartlets, both served with hot new potatoes and fresh green salad. Others in our party enjoyed a smoked mackeral and beetroot salad, again really fresh and really tasty. It was the nicest and cheapest meal we enjoyed on our trip to Derbyshire. If you like good design or kitchen instruments, I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Mellor Visitor Centre also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
 

Been to David Mellor Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage David Mellor Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.