We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in Hathersage, good value for money, not the cheapest in the village,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hathersage
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best place in Hathersage, good value for money, not the cheapest in the village,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

lovely big rooms. food not really up to the high standard of the hotel, not piping hot, lovely lounge. near the railway station if you want to leave the car at home. Good central position in the village. warm hotel with a real fire in the lounge.

Room Tip: a room on the back, no railway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    75
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
114
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bramhall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The rooms at the George are wonderful - spacious and modern. The service throughout the stay was first class too and I can't fault any of the staff. The lounge is very cosy with some nice comfy seating and a small library to browse. The one issue I had was the food. The evening menu is quite expensive and not to my taste (large plates, small portions and presented to such a degree that you don't want to spoil it). I'd much rather have a more basic, hearty choice. That being said, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

An enjoyable stay but some aspects disappointing. Staff extremely friendly and helpful especially reception. Room and bathroom on ground floor good size and clean. However, noise from other rooms is intrusive and towels poor standard. Breakfast good except the sausage in cooked breakfast disappointing. However what really annoyed us was a 5 per cent service levy on the bill. Totally unacceptable - it means the price quoted is not what you pay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I spent 10 nights here and found the rooms and service to be excellent. My only observation was the menu which will not appeal to everyone. Superior rooms have the edge but rooms are large and clean and well appointed. The location is superb and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A very pleasant weekend. The food was good although the 5 mains available during our stay might not be to everyone's taste (2 x fish, 1 x rabbit, 1 x venison and 1 x vegetarian option at the time of writing). We stayed in room 3, with a four poster bed, located at the front of the hotel and above the bar. The room was in general quiet although we were disturbed several times on both nights/mornings by traffic (the hotel is located opposite a T junction) and deliveries to the hotel.

In other hotels with similar breaks the champagne and chocolates are provided as part of the package on both nights, not just arrival although we didn't feel we needed it and the hotel web site states on arrival only. The breakfast was excellent and available up to 11am giving you a bit of time for a lie-in or time to work up an appetite. We toyed with the idea of breakfast in our room but there wasn't anywhere to sensibly eat it (ie no table & chairs - not being a breakfast in bed fan). The staff were friendly & attentive in just the right amounts and well deserving of the 5% compulsory tip. We would stay again and recommend to others.

Fresh milk and a shower cap would be a welcome addition to the rooms, as would be some furniture to enjoy breakfast in the room. The shower was excellent and would benefit from a glass shield rather than plastic shower curtain.

Room Tip: We overheard reception advising a telephone customer that it wasn't possible to request a partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuaille Sur Boutonne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for one night last weekend. A very nice hotel, staff were very friendly & helpful especially Vicky on reception. We had read that the rooms on the ground floor at the front of the hotel were noisy, we stayed in room 21 & nothing of the sort it fact a very large room compared to our friends room at the back.A very good breakfast with a very good choice of quality produce. The only problem we encountered which was not the hotels fault but could done some thing about it was that the room above us there were some VERY noisy children using their room as a gym (I blame the parents for not having any contol, if they read this they will know who you are, rooms 13/14)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

stayed for 2 nights in superior room 16,really lovely room,bed was really comfortable,
lovely bedding. Staff were pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for both receptionists
that were on duty during our stay.
Will definately be going back.
We have stayed in 4 star hotels that werent as good as this,cant believe it only has
3 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hathersage, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.