We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ploughman's ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cintra's Tea Rooms

Cintra's Tea Rooms
Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park, England
01433 651825
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Hathersage
Cuisines: English, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Cintra's is a licensed cafe situated in the popular Peak District of Hathersage. Seating for up to 44 inside but with the added surprise of the large, beautiful secluded tea garden at the rear of the cafe. Cintra's offers a varied menu to suit all tastes, with the emphasis being on our homemade traditional dishes, homemade cakes and desserts.
Maresfield, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Ploughman's ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'm a bit partial to Ploughman's lunches but some can be disappointing. This one was top notch however. Generous portions of Cheddar and Stilton, apple, grapes, orange, branston pickle, nice salad, great bread - all the usual suspects. But to top it off it comes with a lovely slice of fruit cake. Yum.

The Missus enjoyed a toasted sandwich and cappucino followed by a delicious scone. She had no complaints about the whipped cream or jam. It all went down a treat.

Friendly service and good to enjoy the food in the garden at this time of year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Below par cream tea and a little bit shabby, really. Disorganised but friendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Looking forward to a cream tea all week but never quite getting to one, we had an hour to kill in Hathersage waiting for the fab lido. We wandered into Cintra's and was frankly disapointed. Sat outback in garden area, which was looking a little jaded for the height of summer. Ordered cream teas all round. Scones were overdone (some close to burnt) and a bit dry, jam was a low cost raspberry syrup (no bits or body) and crime of crimes, cream was whipped, not clotted. Staff were polite, but a bit disorganised.
All in all, not up to scratch (especially compared to chatsworth cream tea 2 days later; seperate review).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Owner at Cintra's Tea Rooms, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review Cintra's Tea Rooms. I am sorry the you were disappointed with your visit. I am surprised about your comments regarding the garden. We have spent many years developing a natural, peaceful area for our customers to enjoy. In fact many people return regularly to enjoy the setting. Our Cream Teas are very popular, with fresh scones baked on the premises.We use a high quality seedless jam and take the time to serve it in the small pots. English Cream Teas are generally served with fresh whipped cream, rather than Devon or Cornish Cream Teas where they use their local clotted cream. It's our policy to sourse local produce so we support our farmers by using fresh local Derbyshire cream.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Buckby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Only wanted a take-away coffee, but was served quickly and efficiently. Fab coffee just when I needed it. Will go back when I visit again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have brought (booked) school groups here for several years, and Julie and her team provide outstanding customer service. The whole team are always polite, welcoming and friendly. She even anticipates my own utter disorganisation! It is always a pleasure to visit this charming and well run establishment. The food is very good and I would heartily recommend Cintra's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Derbyshire delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

lovely day so we stopped for tea in the pretty garden at Cintra's where staff welcomed us & our little dog. We sampled a generous portion of home made steak pie & a well filled pannini & staff advised that as everything is cooked freshly it would takes a few minutes. If you're in Hatharsage then it is well worth dropping in as there is so much to see in the local area.

G & D

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cintra's Tea Rooms also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Cintra's Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cintra's Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.