We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's basically camping in the freezing cold with a mattress.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Hathersage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Hathersage to your Saves list
YHA Hathersage
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Castleton Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's basically camping in the freezing cold with a mattress.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We reserved two nights at the Hathersage hostel, and left London at 7am and arrived at the YHA Hathersage at 1pm in the pouring rain to find the hostel closed. It was completely empty, with no one to answer the door. We called customer service and they said it wouldn't open until 5pm, but offered no other help.

On the reservation email I received it made no mention of the fact that the hostel only opens on weekends now, so no one would be available until check-in at 5pm. It DOES NOT say that the hostel is CLOSED all week until 5pm Friday. Needless to say we were very upset that neither the website nor the email confirmation that we received mentioned the fact that we would be locked out of the building until 5pm Friday. We were stuck in the freezing cold rain for 4 hours with no place to go. It would be expected to include that very important fact clearly in the confirmation email sent.

When we finally were let in, the building was freezing because the heat had been turned off all week. After it started to heat up a little bit that night, the heat was then turned off again in the middle of the night. The entire weekend the building was freezing...in the middle of winter.

We are deeply disappointed in our YHA Hathersage hostel experience and we aren't sure we can trust the YHA standard enough to risk staying there again, especially given the callous response to our concerns.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed. 3 nights in aug 2012, not expensive but found out same price as YH at Castleton, which visited and much better. Stayed in 4 bedroom private downstairs room with private bathroom, no bed lights, no free wifi, no shelves and only 1 chair, room very clen. Kitchen small 2 fridges with no shelves, did have small dinning room and outside benches. Staff very friendly and helpful, village nice only one real nice pub needed to walk distance and if ate there expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while on a walking holiday. The staff were very accommodating. We didn't have an evening meal but we did have breakfast, of which there was a good hearty choice. The rooms are basic and the facilities are shared, but this is fine when the price is taken into consideration. A pleasant stay

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What can I say about this hostel? It is the bare minimum but clean, and they provide bedding. The staff are very helpful. The guy printed off a nice literary walk tour map thing that led to Stanage Edge for us. The location was definitely superb! One other great thing was that it was quiet, there were not many people staying there.The one drawback is that check in is only from 5-10 so we had to wait awhile to get our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

The village of Hathersage is a perfect base for trips into the heart of Peak District National Park: the Hope and Upper Derwent Valleys. YHA Hathersage, being conveniently located at western exit of the village, offers low cost accommodation in nice and cosy rooms. Traveling with young child we asked for family room with four beds (no 3-bed option), and this came out with two bunks, which is rather usual in hostels. This room also had its own sink, unfortunately no table - and that would be extra advantage. Hostel occupies two buildings with only few parking spaces at the back. Evening meals are available at the request at the reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Hathersage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Hathersage

Address: Castleton Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Hathersage 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bustling Derbyshire village popular with everyone from fans of outdoor activity breaks to literature and history buffs. Walk the Charlotte Brontë Literature trail, taking in North Lees Manor featured in Jane Eyre and visit the oversized grave of Robin Hood’s sidekick, Little John. YHA Hathersage is only 700 metres from the station on the Manchester to Sheffield train line, making it ideal Peak District accommodation for discovering everything the area has to offer. A great destination for walking, hiking and climbing holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Hathersage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Hathersage England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Hathersage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.