We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GET THERE EARLY AND PICK YOUR SPOT ROUND THE POOL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hathersage Swimming Pool

Hathersage Swimming Pool
Oddfellows Road | Hathersage, Derbyshire, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DU, England
+44 1433 650843
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hathersage outdoor heated swimming pool is set in a lawned enclosure with a covered veranda to one side. During the summer months, It offers the opportunity to swim in the open air, amidst the glorious Peak District scenery, in water which is heated to 28°C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“GET THERE EARLY AND PICK YOUR SPOT ROUND THE POOL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We went to the pool yesterday for the first time. It is currently school holidays and we took two children. The cost for the four of us was £16. We arrived quite early for the 10.30am session, which lasts two hours. (we paid for a three hour parking ticket, across the road from the pool, which cost £3.30.). There was already approximately 50-60 people already queuing in front of us. They started admitting people at 10.30 and the queue went down quickly.

There are two sets of changing rooms alongside one edge of the pool. These were both used by both sexes. The grass areas had already been occupied by swimmers and we were fortunate to get chairs and a table. The weather was good at the time and the water temperature was said to be 28C/82F. The pool was very crowded and I felt that this was excessively so. I suppose that it's inevitable that this will be the case in the summer holidays, on fine days.

There is access to cafe facilities but most people seemed to have brought their own drinks, as we did. Overall, the children loved the pool. The major downside was that it was too crowded. It also needs more seating areas and chairs. I didn't see any access for wheelchair users but there may have been some. This needs checking first if it affects your party.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
clay cross
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not very good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Some of our friends have been and told us it was wonderful.
So we read the website and could see there was a criteria to get into this pool.
We called ahead and took the advice of the very helpful member of staff. We got there 30 mins early, paid £4 parking and got in the queue.

After around 20mins a bus full of children joined the back of the queue, the lady with them said no no no and took them straight to the front of the queue. Everyone at our point in the queue were flabbergasted
After 45mins of standing there a young lad came out to tell us they were full.
I did call the pool staff to ask what we did wrong and they appollogoised for not letting us know the party was prebooked.
After speaking to the manager I couldn't help but feel they couldn't really care less as this pool is really for season ticket holders. I have read online about the struggles of keeping it funded but I suggest they try a little harder with non locals.
We will go again tho just not for a while.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fun day out for everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited during the school holidays with 3x friends, 4x toddlers & 1x under one years. Having read reviews, we arrived early (9.45am) for the 10.30-12.30 swim. We queued but it didn't seem long & gave us chance to pop suncream on & get takeaway drinks from the Cafe. With all of our children being under 4, they were free & it cost just £6 per adult. There's side gate access for prams & pushchairs so taking them in isn't a problem.

Once inside, there's a grassy area with benches & chairs next to the pool so we popped towels down & made a picnic area. We changed the little ones outside (it was warm) but didn't have to wait long for cubicles to change ourselves.
Though heated & a warm day, the pool was still pretty cold but good fun & we all enjoyed our swim. There were plenty of toilets but they could've done with a more frequent mop. There were numerous Lifeguards & all staff were friendly & helpful.

We got out of the pool for lunch at 11.30ish, with the little ones eating packed lunches & the adults buying food & drinks from the Cafe. There's a wide range of snacks & sandwiches etc & prices are good.

It would've been good if we could've had another half hour to swim but with the session only being 2 hours & the little ones all wanting an early lunch, we ran out of time. We found the local playgrounds (2x for different ages) & had a good play before finishing our visit with an ice-cream back at the Cafe.

A good day out with lots to keep the little ones busy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very clean pool, excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I've been to Hathersage pool many times now and since it's been refurbished it's a very comfortable and clean place to be. The heated outdoor pool is kept at just the right temperature, having the grass around is very pleasant and there are refreshments available. The changing rooms are well maintained and the showers good and hot. You have time things right to avoid the numerous "season tickets only" sessions which are somewhat inexplicable and something of a pain, but a bit of planning takes care of it. Free parking is not plentiful so you'll probably have to use the P&D over the road, so budget for being extorted by Derbyshire Dales District Council. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely Splashing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Fabulous Father's Day treat trip to Hathersage pool. Brilliant little lido in the peaks, clean and well looked after. Fantastic and worth every penny, loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hathersage Swimming Pool also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hathersage Swimming Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hathersage Swimming Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.