We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place for a break, wheelchair-friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colemans Deli

Colemans Deli
The Square | Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Hathersage
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Deli, cafe
Sheffield Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“lovely place for a break, wheelchair-friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we piled in there as the taxi has just dropped us outside in the pouring rain but were glad we went in. there are a few tables inside, the coffee was very good, the service friendly and polite (it is probably part of the job description, which i suspect includes the word 'barista' but is very pleasant to find anyway)
we only had teas (china pots and jugs, good chunky cups) and coffees and croissants - a little expensive but good, but they had an attractive menu of fancy sandwiches (goats cheese and rocket rather than cheese and tomato!)and I think I heard paninis mentioned. there is a gentle sloping ramp at the side for wheelchairs (or prams) and a disabled/womens/babychanging combined toilet. some thoughtless bikers had blocked the ramp on the way out, but a courteous passerby swiftly moved the bikes out of the away for us. all pale wood and chalkboard menus and young polite staff. good for a coffee-break or a light lunch

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyplace253, Manager at Colemans Deli, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear lindsaymcat,
thank you so much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    14
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband were visiting Hathersage on Friday and Saturday, we were trying to find a place to eat on Friday night (and not fancying pub grub) we noticed this lovely little deli were doing homemade pizza, it was our lucky day as the pizzas were amazing!! we had a chorizo and jalapeño pizza which was rolled, made and cooked infront of us in an wood fired oven. All the staff were fantastic and although there was a slight wait (which was expected due to them being so busy!) the staff were uncontrol at all times! Absolutely fantastic, hope they do pizza again in the future!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyplace253, Manager at Colemans Deli, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Paula E,
Thank you so much for leaving a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience. The pizza night was a huge success and we intend to do more throughout the summer. I apologise for the wait you had, maybe due to the good weather but we had a better turnout than we could have hoped for which was great.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Oh dear indeed! May as well have stood in the little carpark and shouted my order for all the attention we were given in here. Waiting on staff blatantly making no effort to acknowledge our presence. Virtualy no space to sit because the place is dominated by the serving counters ( i use the term "serving" with my tongue firmly in my cheek). I can only imagine the serving counters are there for the staff to lean on while they chat with eachother. Shocking service - never again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happyplace253, Owner at Colemans Deli, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Jay H,
First of all I would like to apologise for the delayed response to your review.
I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your recent visit. We are as you are aware a very small business with limited seating and are sometimes extremely busy. We often struggle to seat all our visitors and although we have looked into the possibilities of creating more space, it is just not possible.
With regard to the service you received, I am extremely sorry that you were so dissatisfied and I can assure you that this matter has been addressed and we constantly strive to improve our customer service. You were absolutely right to be irritated if you were ignored. As I mentioned earlier, the deli gets extremely busy and therefore service is sometimes slower than others but we do our best to serve customers as quickly as possible.
I really hope that you will give us another chance as we have excellent reviews about our food and drinks so hopefully this was an unfortunate incident.
Kind regards
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great little place with fantastic cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Excellent little deli with lovely clean seating inside and outside. Beautiful and original selection of cakes, and savoury foods. Coffee is great too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Derbyshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch after a long walk and were more than satisfied. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food is amazing... the diet went out of the window!
We sat outside with our dog, water for dogs was provided, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colemans Deli also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Colemans Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colemans Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.