We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Millstone or Mill stone-age” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millstone Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Millstone Country Inn to your Saves list
Millstone Country Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hathersage B&B and Inns
ROTHERHAM, ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Millstone or Mill stone-age”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

stayed here for the weekend with the Mrs..
We are no stranger to the Peak District and the hotels / B&B's on offer in this wonderful part of the world..
The millstone could be the number 1 venue in Derbyshire, but to be such a place it needs some cash splashing on it..

As you wind your way down into hathersage after 'surprise view' of Hope Valley.. You then come to The Millstone pub and B&B..
It is in a prime location for visiting Derbyshire by car or foot.. Some really nice walks start right on the door step of this venue..

The thing that let's this B&B Down the most is the tired decor and the lack of cleanliness..
We stayed in the 'Longshaw' room which is an adequately sized double room with a small leaded window with views over hope valley..
The room and the bathroom are a very good size, but it just felt soooo wrong in here..
Two beds pushed together to make a double and a weird thing above the bed that did not match the bed size and had filthy net curtain on it... Me and my mrs came to the conclusion that it was supposed to resemble a four poster bed.. (Horrible & dated get rid if it)

There was a lot of dust around as well.. I'm not like one of the freaks on 4 in a bed, but you didn't have to go looking for dust in here..
The television was caked in it and the lampshades next to the bed..
There is also an old extractor fan I the room over the bed and when the wind got up it coughed dust back into the room at us.
That needs to go as well.. Why it's there I do not know, it's ugly and annoying by keeping us up all night rattling..
The tea and coffee tray in The room also needed a good clean and did not inspire me to have a brew while we were there..
On a plus side the bedding sheets and towels were of good quality, we're immaculately clean and fresh..
The bathroom was nice and clean and it was a nice touch to get little toiletries..
The breakfast room is the main restaurant in the pub and it is a little strange with a stage like feature set out like a living room with settees and coffee tables.. Weird..!
On the first morning I had the full 'Derbyshire' breakfast.. I've had a few Derbyshire breakfasts before but none like this.. Yuk..!
Not for me thanks..
It was a large pile of deep fried everything.. I'm sure some people would love it but not this soldier..
The sausages were really cheap and tasted like the ones you get in a chip shop.. It. And with a deep fried pancake thing that was likely rubber.. The only thing that had escaped the dryer were the mushrooms that were quite raw and undercooked..
The bacon was alright and the scrambled eggs were nice.. We had to get changed again after breakfast because we stunk of fat..
:-(
Safe to say that on day 2 we only had cereal and toast.. I could not stomach another portion of fat... Sorry I mean that..

The staff here are really friendly but I'm sorry it does not make up for everything else I'm afraid..

We won't be staying here again.. In this day and age especially when everyone is battling for your money, you have gotta be on top of your game and anything less than the best just isn't good enough..

If this place has a complete make over it will be ' the place to stay' in Derbyshire..

In summary:-
Pro's:
1: excellent location
2: friendly staff
3: clean bedding and towels
4:

Con's:
1: dusty room
2: dated and mismatched decor
3: poor quality breakfast
4:

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basilbrush1960, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review on trip adviser, i am a little bemused by some of your comments, i would of loved the chance to discuss any problems you had with your room with me in person, you stayed two night and would have had ample opportunity to talk to myself or staff about it,
Picking up on some of your comments you made, that room is a twin room normally with the ability to zip and link the beds together to make a super king as this was the last room we had when you booked your Groupon deal we offered you the double option rather than twin beds, the comment with regard to a lack of cleanliness, my house keeper is very good at her job and is very professional in the way she carries out her duties, Dust is a factor we have to deal with , your room window opens on to the busy road through the valley and being a warm few days the windows are open, so i have asked my house keeper to be more aware of the problem in this room, With regard to breakfast it is one of the meals we get most comments about if you read our guest book you would see your experience is definitely not the standard we give, All our ingredients are sourced locally from award winning suppliers.
We are a family run, country inn offering a friendly and traditional atmosphere, boutique we are not!!!
I can assure you your experience of the Millstone is not the norm
Once again thank you for bringing these issues to my attention
Four in a bed could quite easily be your vocation in life
regards
jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    54
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed two nights here and would happily come back again. The room was welcoming and breakfast was excellent. The Inn is about a 15-20 min walk into Hathersage and a short drive from lots of Peak District attractions.
Great service - all the staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basilbrush1960, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
thank you for your review
jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Fantastic stay in a fantastic area. Service was very good and food excellent. Room was very nice, clean with an excellent power shower - really needed after the Mam tor 12 mile walk!!
Would definately recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked this hotel just as somewhere to sleep, as we were at a wedding a couple of miles away. We called ahead to say we'd be late checking in and the bar manager waited for us. The room was perfectly comfortable and with more than adequate facilities. We both enjoyed a comfortable and quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were very friendly. We needed to get our car (from the wedding venue a few miles away) but were advised taxis were difficult to get, so the owner very kindly drove my husband to collect the car.
My only 'criticism' is that the décor is quite dated - it's a bit 'chintzy'. However, our 1 night stay has convinced us we need to visit and explore the Peak District far more and treat ourselves to some weekends away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

had a groupon deal stayed 2 nights should have stayed longer hotel is dog friendly and can go anywhere in hotel the food was fantastic was licky to stay on a Thursday night when they have the Italian "all you can eat buffet" wow what a delight it was packed with the locals also with people being turned away and the breakfast in the mornings are fantastic if it was 4 in a bed it would get 10 being dog friendly its not the cleanest place but very homely and great for doggy people will go again deal or no deal.

Room Tip: great for dog walkers and hikers alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We booked a bargain 2 night break at this former coaching in, and we are so pleased with our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our dog was made welcome and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. It is very conveniently situated in the Peak District close to wonderful scenery, and the view from our room overlooked the valley. The furniture in the bedroom was a little dated but comfortable, but the ensuite was spacious and clean. Nice complimentary toiletries, and bottled water as well as a good choice of tea/coffee sachets and packs of biscuits. On the first evening we ate in the pub, there was a good choice, large helpings at a reasonable price. Good beers on tap as well. We can thoroughly recommend staying here and we will be back !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a chilled out weekend, location excellent, spectacular views, comfortable rooms, convenient parking, what's else do you need. Friendly/helpful staff, superbly cooked food, lovely breakfast, real ales & cider all added up for a perfect stay. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millstone Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone Country Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millstone Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn set in the heart of the peak district ideal base to explore the Hope Valley offering a friendly family run inn with 9 rooms great beers and good home cooked food in a comfy relaxed setting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Millstone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Country Hotel Hathersage
Millstone Country Inn Hathersage, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millstone Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.