We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in July and went back in August!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millstone Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Millstone Country Inn to your Saves list
Millstone Country Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hathersage B&B and Inns
south england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We stayed in July and went back in August!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is an absolutely great place to stay, staff are helpful and friendly, very clean and most of the rooms overlook the Hope Valley. The breakfasts were cooked to order and HUGE!, we couldn't eat again until evening. The meals throughput the day and evening were superb, (compliments to the chef) innovative and delicious. There is an outside seating area and on the first floor you can go out and sit on a large terrace, Would recommend this place to all couples, families, young people and the elderly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    54
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

A little bit outside Hathersage (towards Sheffield) this is a very handy stop for walking in the Peaks e.g. Stanage Edge etc. A good welcome and I was lucky enough to get a room with a view. The view from the front is superb looking down across the valley. Weather was mild enough to sit outside with a beer and make friends with the goats and pigs they have there. Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast the next day. A place with character and a great rest point if you're walking. Very good local beers (it is in the Good Beer Guide).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I alerted the Millstone to my need for gluten-free meals as I am coeliac and they were very helpful from chef to waiters. Especially enjoyed a gluten free version of the meze which has been delicious.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Lovely B&B. Very cheap deal of £100 for three nights mid week B&B. The room was small but clean and perfectly adequate. Traffic noise is an issue if on the front of the building but compensated by the view of baby micro piglets playing like kittens in the car park opposite. The hill from Hathersage is a nice inCline - not too steep and not too far. Location of the Inn in perfect with many fabulous places within a short distance.

Staff very friendly and helpful Food extremely well cooked and plentiful. Slight disappointment that the two veggie dishes (asparagus linguine & mushroom and herb risotto) seemed to have exactly the same base sauce. However the carvery - meat free - is well worth the price with vegetarian gravy offered. Although the food is very, very good I think a little more vegetarian choice would be helpful. For fish eaters the red snapper with the Thai noodles was delicious and very authentic - and this is from someone who has visited Thailand several times!

We had dinner on the resident's terrace overlooking Eyam Moor on a warm summers evening which was amazing.

The attitude towards dogs is the best I have ever come across in a B&B. Although it did cost an extra £5 a night he was welcomed very warmly which made our stay even better!

Room Tip: Front of building is next to a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Small rooms but spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff and the restaurant is outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This place is in a prime position and obviously popular.
The car park is on the opposite side of the busy road and at times can be difficult to get across. Worth a look at the goats and micro pigs whilst you are waiting though!
Once in we were directed to our table in a brusque manner and no welcome or advice as to what we needed to do to gain food given although the member of staff appeared to be in charge possibly.
Part of our party were delayed but they did not ask when we did nothing to get food or drink. This was as we were waiting for them but it could have been as much because we didn't know what to do.
When we were finally ready to eat it took several requests to find out what the process was and then having achieved our ticket we were told that we were queueing the wrong way by the gentleman carving the meat. There were no others or any directions as to how to queue correctly ! We had to wait for this gentle man to arrive and it was only then when we asked if he could be found.
There was enough choice but the beef was tough and non of us really ate very much of the meat and would have been better going for the meat free option at £2 less

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed here with friends twice. Nothing much to add to the previous review. The room was comfortable and when we last stayed, in the depths of winter, the central heating was very efficient. It's a bit of a hike up the hill from Hathersage village, but the food is better here than at the others down in the village, so we were happy to stay here for dinner after a days walking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millstone Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone Country Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millstone Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn set in the heart of the peak district ideal base to explore the Hope Valley offering a friendly family run inn with 9 rooms great beers and good home cooked food in a comfy relaxed setting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Millstone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Country Hotel Hathersage
Millstone Country Inn Hathersage, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millstone Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.