We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable - good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scotsmans Pack

The Scotsmans Pack
School Lane, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BZ, England
01433 650 253
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Hathersage
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Dessert
Godalming, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a very nice meal here, but I know the boys found the beer very pricey. Pretty sure my husband said it was £9+ for a pint of lager and a Guinness.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    54
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scotsman provides friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for a weekend's walking with our lovely friends from Essex. The staff were very polite and friendly. Food was good and wholesome with a varied menu. Rooms were small but modern and comfortable. Its a really nice pub with good beers and wine. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the chilean merlot described as very approachable - the wine of course! Nice litte outside area with wooden benches by the stream. Its well frequented by locals at the weekend - a pleasant crowd - and the rooms are sound proofed by the thick walls so no problem with noise. Hathersage is a lovely village in the Hope valley. We hiked up to Stanedge and Higger Tor and did Mam Tor on Sunday before heading back home.
We would happily return for a future visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Steak and Ale pie is to die for - you will not be disappointed if you drop in here for lunch or dinner. Good menu choice, everything is home made and served with a smile. Good value, good service - best traditional food in the Hope Valley.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have eaten here a few times now either as a couple or for a family meal. I was impressed with the innovative vegetarian choices, maybe they were not all homemade but if bought in they had taken the time and effort to choose good quality food (I refer to the Haggis) . We have always had a warm welcome and enjoyed the friendly atmostphere. If I do have any negative comment, which is only minor, it is that when busy the tables to the left of the bar are a little squashed together.
Overall I would recommend highly as a place to enjoy a good meal in nice surroundings

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great pub & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Lovely service, food & atmosphere. Child friendly with clean highchairs & good choice of meals. Great steak & ale pie. We are planning on returning very soon.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotsmans Pack also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Scotsmans Pack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scotsmans Pack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.