We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little John Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Little John Hotel
Station Road, Hathersage S32 1DD, England
01433 650225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 15 restaurants in Hathersage
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good beer and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I only popped in for a drink as was very surprised with the friendly welcome and wide range of beers. A nice place to relax and have a pint, with some friendly bar staff who like a chat

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    9
    10
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Not really a cosy place to visit. Quite basic with cafe-type eating area. Disappointed (after the name!) in that area, was expecting something better.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

we were to late to eat here so had a drink but the inside of the pub is clean and tidy and nicely decorated , the outside was a little of a let down as u had to sit in the carpark but would nt put me off going again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't comment on rooms - but service in bar was shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A group of 10 of us pre-booked an evening meal here. It was a busy Sat evening, but there should be no excuses for the bad service and food we recieved. The meals came out just a few at a time, so by the time the last people had their meals the first people had finished theirs. We had to wait 55 minutes until everyone had their meals. Two people had ordered mixed grills, which were unedible - one being very over cook, while the other was raw. The rest of the food was acceptable.
When asked to speak to the manager, we were told that she had gone - we have to question whether that was actually true. We were given a refund for one meal, but they would not refund the other one.
Also, a number of the seats were broken, which we had to swap around with other ones.
Really really poor service and not willing to listen to our feedback and take any action on it. Will not be going back!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Inedible Food, Poor Service, Scared Manager/Chef”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Probably the worst restaurant experience I have ever had. I visited with a party of friends on a Saturday evening. We had pre-booked a table. On arrival no one showed us to our table, so we ended up finding it, the menus and sussing out the ordering system ourselves. We placed our order at 8:20pm and were advised there would be a 20-40minute wait. No worries, it was busy. However when the first couple of dishes arrived after about 30 minutes we expected the remaining 8 dishes to also arrive....oh no: they took another 20-30 minutes. The food was horrendous! The mixed grills - one ordered medium, one ordered rare came out char-grilled and the other (ironically in the second batch of food delivered to the table) was RAW. The remaining dishes were huge in portion size but lacked taste, depth, substance and flavour. On commenting to the waitress regarding the RAW meat we were offered our money back for that one dish. We asked to speak to the chef or the manager. Initially we were told there was no manager! then we were told that the chef was too busy to speak with us. Later we were told that that manager/chef wouldn't speak to us and that we would need to complain in writing. We left with our money from our refunded meal and a sense that because Hathersage has a high volume of tourists, the chef/owner/manager believed that it didn't matter that we were dis-satisfied. Personally this is my third trip to Hathersage this year. Others in our group had been five or six times this year. Little John Hotel, your restaurant reputation will be far-reaching but not for good reasons. You won't have our custom again. The £150 that we spent on Saturday could have been turned into much much more but your short-sightedness will cost you dearly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little John Hotel also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Little John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little John Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.