We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruchi Indian Restaurant

Ruchi Indian Restaurant
83 High Street West, Glossop, England
01457855868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 61 Restaurants in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Food very good. Service good. Would recommend it. We were a group of 10 and we all enjoyed our food. All in all 8 out of 10. And good value too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Attended as a birthday treat, spacious restaurant and a good choice on the menu. Good service and pleasant staff. Air conditioned, when it's hot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First visit and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

First visit and was really suprised. Some different dishes and certainly not the oil / ghee filled curries you get in so many places. Really enjoyed the food and staff were attentive and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday disaster. :-(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We decided to treat my father-in-law to a meal at this restaurant for his birthday. We have been on a few occasions in the past and always had a nice time so decided that it should be a great place for a birthday treat. Sadly, we left the restaurant feeling quite disappointed.
I think the biggest disappointment was that we felt very rushed throughout the whole of our meal. We had taken my family there as a special treat and our 3 course meal (for 6 people) was done and dusted within 1 hour and 15 minutes. We felt as though the staff just wanted to get us fed and back out through the door as fast as possible. On a number of occasions, the staff came to clear away our plates whilst we were still eating and we felt very rushed throughout the entire meal.
I had also bought a cake for my father-in-law and upon arrival at the restaurant I gave it to one of the waiters, who told me he would bring it out for us at the end of the meal. This sadly didn't happen. At the end of our meal, we were asked if we would like desserts and coffee. We ordered coffees and 2 ice cream desserts for my sons. At this point we thought they would bring our cake out. It didn't happen. They served us coffee and desserts but no birthday cake. We then waited another 15 minutes and still no cake. Eventually I went and asked one of the waiters about the cake and he said he had been waiting for a sign from us that we were ready. I felt very disappointed and decided to just go home and eat the cake there.
On the plus side, the food was excellent. Everyone of us thoroughly enjoyed the food. Unfortunately however, we didn't feel we could enjoy it to it's full potential due to the vibes being created by the staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small portions, over priced food, average service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

As one of the only Indian restaurants in Glossop that you can sit down to eat we used to go here for an occasion or treat. We also used to get the occasional takeaway from here as well.

When it first opened we knew the original owners (they came from Naseeb) and it was great. Changes in management and chefs has meant that this place has slowly eroded from what used to be a great place.

The food is still nice - they have some great combinations - but the portions have got considerably smaller (especially the takeaways) and the prices have gradually increased.

When we last ate there half of the order was hot and part luke warm at best. They even forgot to make one portion of mushroom rice ans a naan bread. When we mentioned this to the front of house staff there was an indifference to the situation and a resignation to having to get it sorted.

Its a shame really but we won't be going back for some considerable time if we do at all. By the number of empty seats you see in there nowadays it looks like we are not the only ones thinking like this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruchi Indian Restaurant also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Been to Ruchi Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruchi Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.